We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good view good surrounding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage Hotel Kundasang

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Cottage Hotel Kundasang to your Saves list
The Cottage Hotel Kundasang
Kg. Lembah Permai, Jalan Kundasang Kauluan, 89308, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ranau
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good view good surrounding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Good view good surrounding in Kundasang.
Hotel located near Mt KK and Kinabalu Park.
Walking distance to Kundasang morning market which is must visit.
Hotel nearby attraction will be Kundasang War Memorial, and Desa Cattle Dairy Farm which worth visit as well.
Taxi can be hired for MYR 60-80 for 6 hours service.
Hotel rooftop have good view as well.

**hotel steamboat dinner is nice!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
9
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Puchong, Selangor, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My friends and I took a package deal to Sabah and part of the deal was a 1 night stay at Kundasang. We stayed at the cottage. The rooms & bathroom was clean, cant expect much on the service. We had steamboat for dinner and it was good but nothing to shout about. There is nothing much to do there as most of the shops are closed by 7pm and unless you have transportation u cant get to anywhere. The next day we had clear view of the mountain and it was spectacular. The breakfast buffet was really bad, no choices just bread, porridge, beans and fried rice. Good thing is that they have free wifi.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Unfortunately my room was right behind the reception desk. It was loud all night ---especially the toddler who was being babysat by the night clerk

Wifi was spotty and breakfast just passable.

However spectacular morning view of kinabalu

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Very good location to view the mountain but must wake up early. The valley view from the hotel is awesome. Near the Desa Dairy farm and Kundasang Memorial park. Reasonable rate. Enjoy my day staying here.

Room Tip: Get the deluxe room get the half mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Room is okay, clean and well maintained. Staff is quite funny, always joking. Walking distance from Pekan Kundasang. But water pressure is low! and far from Kinabalu Park if you don't have any transportation. Reasonable price.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keningau, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The hotel is ok for a budget hotel.. the room that we got is quite small and not very comfortable, but clean..except for the last day we were there, there were lots of flies. They need to improve their breakfast as it is the same meal every morning (fried mee hoon, porridge, boil egg and bread only every day). The water pressure is very low hence very difficult for me to take my bath. The service in the restaurant is very frustrating. It took like forever for me to had my dinner as they made the wrong order. Overall the hotel is just ok if you don't plan to stay long at kundasang.

Room Tip: Read reviews from other tourist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We got the last room available on the Christmas Day without prior reservation, so even if the reviews were not great, we felt in luck.
The room was in the "basement", ie overlooking the hotel car park = OK for 1 night. It was clean although desperate for a refurbishement - particularly the bathroom.
All else was more or less average but the staff was pleasant and service quick. The location with a good view of Mt Kinabalu goes a long way towards making the paying of this overpriced and ageing hotel palatable.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cottage Hotel Kundasang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Hotel Kundasang

Address: Kg. Lembah Permai, Jalan Kundasang Kauluan, 89308, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Ranau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ranau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Cottage Hotel Kundasang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage Hotel Kundasang Ranau, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottage Hotel Kundasang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.