We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Majestic View of Mt. Kinabalu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sabah Tea Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sabah Tea Garden to your Saves list
Sabah Tea Garden
2.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Km17, Jalan Ranau/Sandakan | Kg. Nalapak, 89309, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Ranau
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Majestic View of Mt. Kinabalu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Our small trekking group spent 2 fantastic nights in the Longhouse and were very impressed with the meals & quality of service during our stay. Having Mt. Kinabalu as a backdrop whilst dining just added to the ambience of this working tea plantation and we would be happy to return again. We shared the Longhouse with another much larger trekking group who were pretty noisy when returning late at night but its wasn't of a major concern.
We enjoyed the Cultural evening with the kids performing the Bamboo dance to traditional Gongs.
The reception was most helpful in loaning me an electrical plug adapter so I could charge my mobile phone and the small shop had a good variety of its tea products which made excellent gifts.

Room Tip: Choose the Longhouse for an unique experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    31
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
15
14
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brest, Belarus
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed for 1 night in long house. That was very interesting for us to live in long house. The room was good with 3 beds and mosquito nets and a sink. There were towels, shampoo and 2 bottles of water in the room. We expected worse conditions. Only one more couple lived in long house so there were no problems with shower and toilet, no queues. The restaurant is about 500 m but for us it was nice to walk a little bit after good dinner. We enjoyed everything the view, the tea factory, the food, the service. That was amazing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

The cottages very comfy, as a solo traveller and a short person, I found these cottages just made for me. everything you want, very clean, beds comfy pillows good, small lounge good for me, telly jug BUT no coffee....what was I thinking plenty of tea.
Restaurant a long way from cottages, no lighting, take a torch and good walking shoes, food as usual good plenty of it, small shop to purchase goodies, a very nice stay. I was so lucky I actually had a great view with no clouds of Mt Kinabalu, and got a coupla good shots.
The children put on a wonderful show and got the audiance involved as well so lovely.I would stay again.

Room Tip: In the evenings make sure you have the lights turned off inside, otherwise the night bugs will sneak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Positives:

1.Absolutely LOVED the long house experince. Don't expect luxury but you get to experince a nice murut long house with 3 beds or 2 beds per room with mossie nets and a small sink. Simple, but nice with a small wall fan for ventilation.

2.Beautiful view of mount kinabalu on clear days..absolutely wonderful.

Negatives:

1. Very, VERY pissed off with the restaurant and how they conduct business. We were charged x amount for accomodations and meals (breakfast/dinner). Dinner was 45 minutes leave in being served which was not nice given we were exhausted after a long day of activities and were told dinner was 6.30pm. Of course, it wasn't ready till 7.15pm.

2. Very pissed off with breakfast NOT even being ready at 7:00am the next morning when we had specifically told them we needed to have breakfast by 7:00am in order to have an early start for our group. We were in the restaurant by 6:45am and nothing had been cooked or prepared come 6:50am.

We ended up being late in our departure and it was not good.

3. Back to the costs per person for meals and accomodations which they sell in a package: you get 1 serving per table per dish, regardless if it is INADEQUATE for everyone at the table, who have been CHARGED PER PERSON for dinner and breakfast. We asked for the dish (a plate of noodles) to be topped up as it clearly was not sufficient and we were charged RM20.00 which doesn't make sense given they are charging RM90 per person x 20 people which works out to RM1800 at the minimum.

We felt very cheated by what they were doing and we most certainly won't be staying here again.

The management don't seem to be taking things very seriously at the tea house when it comes to requests by guests for early breakfast to be served and are not afraid to make it known what time they start work and what is convenient FOR THEM.

I hate saying this, but a) the manager of the resort should be sacked b) the restaurant manager should also be sacked c) we won't be staying at this resort again in the future for our HASH run activities.

And on a side note, the owners of this resort could do everyone a big favour by at least tar sealing the road leading up to the restaurant and saving everyone's car's from getting hammered on the gravel road leading up for the 1-2 kilometers it takes to get up to the restaurant.

Otherwise, a resort with a lot of possibilities if only they had management who cared about their jobs.

A BIG MISS.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Was staying at Osa Johson Cottage-nice room, friendly staffs.. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BagusGood, General Manager at Sabah Tea Garden, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Thank you for visiting us. Your feedback helps us improve and plan towards becoming a must-stop destination for visitors in the Ranau-Kundasang-Kinabalu Park area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011 via mobile

Nice setting. On clear day one can get a nice view of mount Kinabalu. Longhouse was reasonable value. Nice walks around grounds.tea tour was ok - guess u have to do it if you go there. Food so - so. Would recommend overall.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed here are trekking the amazing Mt Kinabalu.

This was a perfect night stop off before we carried onto our next destination. We didn't want to come down from the summit and go back to KK which is frankly not that exciting!

We did stupidly think this place is closer to the national park entrance than it is (may be we were just really achy though!). A cab wasn't difficult to get though.

When we arrived, the place was very calm and serene and beautiful views across the hills. No one else was staying while we were here which added to the whole experience. We decided to stay in the longhouse which isn't really that cheap considering but its was a good experience anyway.

Staff are very nice and helpful and when they told us the longhouse was a 15mins walk away they offered to drive us up instead - they took pity on our aching bodies and groans! Its was a much appreciated gesture!

We were here because of 2 things really - being told of the amazing views of Mt Kinabalu and our love of tea. Both lived up to expectations. The view is great and we even woke early to see sunrise (imagining all those people who got to the summit too). The tea tour was good as well and very informative and we got to try the different tea and received some nice little goodies.

We really enjoyed it here and was a good pit stop instead of KK. I wouldn't go out of my way to visit this place but its good if you are visiting Mt Kinabalu, on your way to/from KK.

Room Tip: The longhouse is a great experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sabah Tea Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabah Tea Garden

Address: Km17, Jalan Ranau/Sandakan | Kg. Nalapak, 89309, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Ranau
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Ranau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sabah Tea Garden 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sabah Tea Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabah Tea Garden Hotel Ranau
Sabah Tea Garden Ranau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabah Tea Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.