We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glentorets Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Glentorets Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Glentorets Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Conglass Lane, Tomintoul AB37 9HU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Tomintoul B&B and Inns
Aberdeen
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Definitely stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Six of us stayed here on a weekend cycling trip. Comfortable rooms, great food and wonderful hospitality. Val and Mark attended to our every need, even lending me a pair of trainers to walk to the pub because my shoes were wet. Brilliant living room with giant tv for guests who want to chillax too. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: One of the three rooms is en suite, the other two share a (spacious) bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glentorets, Owner at Glentorets Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you Jillian for your wonderful review it was a pleasure having you all to stay you were all good fun to have at Glentorets and it would be great to have you all stay again in the future. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your cycle ride and we would like to wish you the very best in Italy next month. The loan of the shoes was not a problem at least you could go to the pub feeling comfortable and dry and enjoy yourself. We are pleased that you all enjoyed your evening meal at Glentorets, Mark's Thai Curry is a definite winner it goes down well with our guests who have ordered it in the past. We will place a copy of the photograph of you all on our website in our guest gallery, if you have a chance please take a look in the next few days.
Val & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
24
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Val and Mark are great hosts in this comfortable B & B overlooking a nature reserve in the Glenlivet estate. We ate evening meals there and I had really good gluten free food. Mark's photography and wild life knowledge is excellent and we got tips on where to get great views of Osprey. A lovely four days and lots of fun with Vals bubbly personality- it felt like home from home. Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glentorets, Owner at Glentorets Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you Kath & Dave for your absolutely wonderful review, it is very kind of you to say those nice things about us and our B&B. We are so pleased that we helped make your special holiday as comfortable and enjoyable as possible and we are pleased it was a bonus for you both finding out about Mark and his interest in wildlife and photography. We do hope that you will return for Mark's winter workshops sometime in the future and it is lovely to keep in touch with you on facebook. Hope you enjoy the rest of the summer, take care both of you, Val & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed here recently when walking Speyside Way. Were made most welcome and were offered refreshments and home made baking which we stupidly declined (that's what walking 15 miles does to your brain!). Very comfortable beds and best pillows on the walk (does that sound stupid?), excellent breakfast. Within very easy walking distance to the square and the fabulous Clockhouse restaurant. Definitely recommend it and hope to return in the not too distant future with my husband who only enjoys walking if it's after a wee white ball.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glentorets, Owner at Glentorets Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you Eileen for your wonderful review it was lovely meeting you all and we are so pleased that you enjoyed the rest of your Speyside Walk hope you took lots of photographs and the rain managed to miss you. We would love for you and your husband to come and stay with us and we hope next time you will take us up on the offer of tea and cake. Val & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I changed and adapted my intended stay at Glentorets several times due to unforeseen events and misjudgements on how long it would take me to cycle to Tomintoul.
None of this phased Val and Mark - not even eventually arriving 6 hours earlier than I estimated!
Glentorets was very clean, comfortable and well equipped and I was spoilt by having the large ensuite room all to myself.
The breakfast was excellent and set me up well for the next long days cycling that lay ahead.
The B&B is well placed for the village of Tomintoul's amenities.
I have no hesitation in recommending Glentorets

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glentorets, Owner at Glentorets Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you Paul for your very kind review, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us and it was not a problem at all you having to change your plans due to unforseen circumstances. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your cycle ride in the Scottish Highlands and also that you had good weather along the way. We hope you will return one day to stay with us again. Val & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We arrived to a warm welcome. We were also offered a much needed lift. The room was clean and comfortable. There was a very good sized bathroom, also very clean but not ensuite and shared with 2 other rooms. The breakfast was excellent and our hosts wonderfully friendly. I would highly recommend this B&B for anyone going to Tomintoul.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glentorets, Owner at Glentorets Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you Rachel for your lovely review, it was nice meeting you both and we hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Scotland, the lift to Glenlivet for you to experience part of the Speyside Way was not a problem.

We noticed that you made your booking through Expedia and on their search engine it is not clear regarding the facilities we have at Glentorets Bed and Breakfast, if you visit our own website www.glentorets.co.uk it clearly states that only 2 rooms have shared bathroom facilities the Spey which you were in and the Avon room, we have another room the Conglass which is a family room with ensuite facilities.

We hope you had a safe journey back home and if you come and stay with us in the future please book directly through our website as we do often have special offers available.
Val & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We had a night at Glentorets at the very start of the ski season - it's only a 15 minute drive to the Lecht. The room was large and warm, and the owners Val and Mark bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable. If you're not familiar with the area, you need to eat sooner rather than later - and evening options are pretty limited. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glentorets, Owner at Glentorets Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you Jacqui and Susan for your lovely review, we do always try our best to give guests a comfortable and enjoyable stay at Glentorets, we do hope that you will both return to us either for a walking holiday or skiing again next season it was lovely to meet you both.

Regarding the places to eat in Tomintoul, at the time you came there were limited places to eat, the local restaurant closes from October until end of March and there was at the time only one hotel in the village to dine at, there are now two hotels as another one reopened earlier this year.

We do offer evening meals at Glentorets but these must be ordered with 24 hours advanced notice as we only provide fresh home cooked meals, there are some sample menus on our website but these can be amended to meet guests requirements, we do these meals all year round for future reference.

Thank you again for staying at Glentorets and we hope that you have a lovely summer.
Val & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for one night for a business trip and the experience couldn't have been better. Mark and Val are such kind and friendly hosts. They love what they do and this shines through in the service they deliver. Great location, lovely clean quiet room (I particularly appreciated the bath robe, biscuits and the bank of plugs), very clean and spacious shared bathroom, beautiful views, and great food - both supper and breakfast came in very generous sized portions and were delicious. Definitely the best vegetarian options I was able to find in Tomintoul! I should also note that this is the third booking I'd made: the first one I'd accidentally booked the wrong date, and the second one fell through when the snow stopped me getting there. On both occasions Val and Mark were completely understanding and very reasonable, which I appreciated. Third time lucky - I had a lovely time and only regret that I couldn't stay longer!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glentorets, Owner at Glentorets Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review it was lovely to meet you and we are pleased you found it relaxing and enjoyable. Mark and I do thoroughly enjoy our new business venture it is very different to the jobs we left behind just over a year ago and we definitely enjoy meeting guests who come to stay with us and share our home. We hope that you wlll return to stay with us on a non business trip so you can explore the beautiful area we so much enjoy living in and of course be very well looked after and made welcome again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glentorets Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glentorets Bed & Breakfast

Address: Conglass Lane, Tomintoul AB37 9HU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Tomintoul
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tomintoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glentorets Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Glentorets Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glentorets Bed & Breakfast Tomintoul, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glentorets Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.