We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice point of departure for hiking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul to your Saves list
The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul
Main Street, Tomintoul AB37 9EX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A nice point of departure for hiking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

The Smugglers Hostel is neat, clean and comfortable. Suitable for short and longer stays.
The breakfast was good (bread, eggs, coffee, tea, various spreads, fruits, cereals) and the cooking facilities are as well. Bedding is provided. In the kitchen you find a variety of books and leaflets about the region and nature. For rainy days some board games are provided. We missed nothing.
When travelling to Tomitoul coming by car is highly recommended, as there is a bus connection only on Tuesdays. The village has some small shops, restaurants, a bar and the famous whisky castle. The region is beautiful and has a lot to offer, especially forests where you can observe a variety of animals, as deer, hare, of pheasants.

Room Tip: You can choose between rooms with shared bathroom and those with en suite bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersHostel, Manager at The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a detailed review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our breakfasts and facilities. We always try to make the hostel comfortable and welcoming for our guests, so are glad you made use of our books and games! The Smugglers Hostel is well placed for local wildlife as you found out and we are lucky to be in such a beautiful region of Scotland. Take care! The Smugglers Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
4
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We were a group of 11 there for three nights, the hostel though undergoing some refurbishment was very clean and tidy and they could not have been more friendly, helpful and flexible over our late at night arrival.
As a location it suited our mix of touring and hill walking perfectly and provided a comfortable common room/kitchen area to return too in an evening.
The village also has a number of reasonably priced pub restaurants for those who don't want the hassle of preparing a meal on returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersHostel, Manager at The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you David for your review. It was great to meet you all and we are so pleased that you enjoyed our hospitality and the breakfasts. Tomintoul is a great little place as you found out and we would love to see you back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keele, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The Smugglers is a really nice Hostel in a lovely, quiet village with some good walks straight from the door. I visited with my walking partner and found the accommodation to be clean and comfortable and the staff to be friendly and very helpful. The common room and kitchen area are light, warm and very well equipped and breakfast was good. Real coffee was a huge plus, hot drinks were available at any time and there was fruit if you wanted it. Don't go to Avimor with it's glitz, shops and bustle: come to lovely Tormintoul. The village has a shop, two pubs and a restaurant so there are no shortages of options for eating and you will be made to feel very welcome.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersHostel, Manager at The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hi Graham,

It was great that you both enjoyed our haven in the Cairngorms. Glad you got to enjoy our breakfasts and appreciated the real coffee! We pride ourselves on trying to provide what our guests like so we are very pleased that the hot drinks hit the spot!

Now you know where we are...hope to see you again!

Thanks,

Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

After a two day trek from Braemar I came to stay for a night at the Smugglers. The staff are super friendly and knowledgeable (I was given an excellent walking route to continue my journey to Glenmore). They definitely went the extra mile to help me out and the hostel itself is clean and tidy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersHostel, Manager at The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thanks for a fantastic review of The Smugglers Hostel! It was a pleasure to have you. We are always happy to advise our guests on great walking and biking routes and activities to do in the area so we are really glad you found this enhanced your Smugglers experience!

Hope to see you again on your next trip!

Take Care,

The Smugglers Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed at the hostel with the whole family for a single night. Accomodation was clean and nice, facilities adequate (particularly for hostel standards), and a comfortable common room. The staff gave us a warm welcome and was very helpful with securing accomodation in another hostel.
And: The kids liked it there - particularly the huge playground just south of the hostel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersHostel, Manager at The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hi there and thank you for reviewing The Smugglers Hostel. Great to hear that we catered for all your needs and that the Smugglers was given a thumbs up from your kids! We love to ensure that our guests, whatever age, have a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Hope to see you the next time you are in the Cairngorms!

Best Wishes,

The Smugglers Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stopped for four nights in June for some hill walking and biking. A great base for the northern & eastern Cairngorms to the south and lower hills to the north. The facilities are just what you need and the staff very friendly. Some new forest biking trails were soon to be opened when I was there. Quite reminiscent of Minigaff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersHostel, Manager at The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Hi Marilyn and thank you for writing a review of The Smugglers Hostel! Walking and cycling attract a lot of people to stay with us here in Tomintoul as it is fantastically located in the Cairngorms. We are very pleased to hear that the facilities were just what you were looking for!

The BikeGlenlivet trails are now open and are proving popular! We hear there is to be a new cycling festival on the 10th & 11th of May 2014 too so there is plenty of cycling fun to be had!

Hope to see you again soon!

Take Care,

The Smugglers Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed for a single night whilst doing a mountain bike tour of the Cairngorms. Great for us as it was right on the route.

The new owners had only been in a short while but were really helpful, had secure bike storage, and sounded like they had big plans for the place.

A few things that were missing but on their to-do list - outside tap for washing bikes, power sockets in the rooms for charging phones, improved shower facilities but these are really just "nice to haves".

Also would be good if they could offer breakfast, but I understand this is to do with having to get a food hygiene certificate first.

Anyway, would go back for a return visit and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersHostel, Manager at The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thanks so much for your review of The Smugglers Hostel. We're glad you found the Smugglers to be in such a great location for mountain biking! You'll have to visit again and blast the new BikeGlenlivet MTB trails - great fun!

Since your stay in May Ant, we have installed an outside tap and hose for washing down muddy bikes and now offer a hearty breakfast to all guests including cereals, muesli, fruit, breads, eggs, fresh orange juice, teas, coffee and hot chocolate!

We always listen to the suggestions we receive from our guests and those items you mentioned that were on our to-do-list will be ticked off this winter as the Hostel will undergo some exciting renovation work! We are installing a new eco-friendly biomass heating system and charging points in all the bedrooms and refurbishing the shower and toilet areas, allowing greater privacy and doubling the number of shower units available.

We would love to welcome you back next time your in Tomintoul!

Take Care,

The Smugglers Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul

Address: Main Street, Tomintoul AB37 9EX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Tomintoul
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Tomintoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the picturesque village of Tomintoul, The Smugglers Hostel, the highest in the Scottish Highlands, is surrounded by stunning scenery. We offer friendly, comfortable and affordable accommodation for 20 'Smugglers' in our four cosy dorms, including two en-suite private rooms suitable for couples and/or families. The hostel has fantastic facilities: - Tea & Coffee - Bed linen (included in price) - Towel hire on arrival for £1 - A fully equipped kitchen with fridge, oven, hob and microwave - Bike shed - Outside hose to wash down those muddy bikes and boots - Drying room - Free Wi-Fi - 24/7 secure access - Lockers. As the northern gateway to the Cairngorm National Park, Tomintoul is perfect for outdoor enthusiasts. Climb our very own Munro, Ben Avon, get on your bike (or ours!) And enjoy the renowned cycling roads and mountain bike trails, follow in the footsteps of the first whisky smugglers and sample a local dram, try your hand at fly-fishing or explore the glens by horseback - the outdoor opportunities are endless. As an independent hostel, The Smugglers is run by the local Community Development Trust, so by staying with us, you're investing in the local community and making a difference to a rural economy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Smugglers Hostel, Tomintoul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.