We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best choice ever!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Ducale Suites

Save Saved
You added Palazzo Ducale Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palazzo Ducale Suites
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Duca degli Abruzzi, 8, 90046 Monreale, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 18 Monreale B&B and Inns
Canoinhas, SC
1 review
“The best choice ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Palazzo Ducale was one of the best places I've ever stayed! If you want to get some great service don't think twice.
My boyfriend and I got in Monreale after midnight and the manager, Danielle got there to receive us and help us park our car (if you're renting a car, choose a small one).
We had problems with our luggage and Danielle called the airport and helped us a lot! On new year's eve he made reservation for us in the excelent restaurant Bricco e Bacco.
You'll have a great breakfast with a special cappucino and croissants.
This is definately a good choice, great room, great breakfast, great staff, everything!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    28
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
108
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We wanted to see the magnificent Norman Monreale Cathedral (a must if you are visiting Sicily) before flying back from Palermo and found the Palazzo Ducale suites to be a perfect base for the night, just a few hundred yards from the cathedral. Rooms were clean and comfortable with a good sized sitting room which would have been useful if we had stayed more than one night. Daniel was a great host and his parking skills are awesome and necessary as the entrance their private parking is very tight. If you have anything larger than a Fiat 500 get him to park it. Finding the hotel by car is not too bad as the yellow hotel signs are considerably better than the normal useless Sicilian road signs, but keep a look out for the last sign as the alley is very small.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

That's the kind of place you say wow when you get in. You get a large room with an ensuite at a very good price. Your just step away from the cathedral of Monreale. Excellent breakfast (included in the price), with a lot to choose from. The rave reviews before me are all justified.

Room Tip: If you arrive by car, its a good idea to take their offer to park it in their garage (10 euros)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresskill, New Jersey
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We chose to stay in Monreale to avoid parking and driving in Palermo, as well as to see the Monreale Duomo. We were so glad we did. The drive from the airport was easy. The hotel is excellent and exceeded our expectations. They really are suites - lr, br, bath, very large, spotless, minimally and tastefully decorated, and very safe. Lots of storage space. They have everything you need . Danielle is an excellent host who understands the word hospitality. A large breakfast(pastries, meats and cheeses, fruit, yogurt, cereal, all kinds of coffees) is served indoors or on the terrace. There is a bus right into Palermo that ran till 11pm, cost 1 euro.We were glad to return to Monreale each evening, have a leisurely dinner in one of the nice restaurants, and walk the town. We were lucky to be in town for a fascinating exhibit at the town art gallery which is worth a look, and as was mentioned, the Duomo is impressive(built in the style of the Cappella Palatina in Palermo) and the Cloisters lovely. Great bakery at the corner.

Room Tip: Didn't see other rooms but ours on the top floor was terrific. They have a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
le Tarn
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel deserves all the praise it has had from other travellers. Situated a stone's throw from the famous Duomo of Monreale.
Daniel is exceptionally helpful and pleasant. We had a superior room (102) which had a superbly comfortable bedroom with double bed and enormous wardrobe space. Also a sitting area with a comfortable convertible sofa. Two flat screen TVs! (Only Italian programmes though) Locked parking available at 10 euros a day. Immaculate bathroom.
Opened about 18 months ago and fitted out to a very high standard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Our GPS took us to the hotel and we weren't sure we could drive down there street it was one so parked our car nearby. Daniel (owner) came out and moved our car into the parking cellar-and as everyone mentions-it's a sight to see! Our room literally was an apartment with 2 bedrooms, a huge closet, bathroom, living room and "bar area" (that obviously was a kitchen at some point), along with 2 terraces! It's all brand new inside and just lovely! The breakfast (included) was quite nice, with a variety of pastries, fruits, meats, cheeses and yogurts. We would highly recommend this place as everything was wonderful from the location to the rooms, to the great and warm service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My friends and I stayed in this gem in the center of the historic section of Monreale. Fabulous location, exceptionally clean rooms furnished very tastefully and wonderful modern bathrooms. Owner, Daniele, charming, along with his friendly staff eager to help. Daniele provided us with lots of information, parked our car, always smiling and eager to make our stay enjoyable...and it was! Not just comfortable, it was extremely pleasant. Nice breakfast, and terrace. Extremely quiet considering you are in the central district of Monreale. I would recommend Palazzo Ducale to my friends and family and would love to return myself.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palazzo Ducale Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ducale Suites

Address: Duca degli Abruzzi, 8, 90046 Monreale, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Monreale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Monreale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Ducale Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic centre of Monreale, in a small block of flats 200 metres far from the Cathedral, there is "Palazzo Ducale Suites." The strategic position of our hotel allows you to live the historical centre and the atmosphere of the town, and to savour our traditional dishes in the nearby typical restaurants. Thanks to the closeness to Palermo (4 km far) our guests will be able to discover its art treasures while benefiting by a stay far from the town chaos. Staying at Palazzo Ducale Suites includes a large breakfast with the typical dishes of our land. Each room is well furnished, equipped with the following: bed and sofa bed, private bathroom with shower, bidet and washbasin, complete set of bedding and towels, hairdryer, television, Sky, WiFi, Internet point, supplying electric energy, cold and hot water, heating, air conditioning, independent entrance, daily cleaning. Moreover we provide a large indoor parking area. The level of the equipment and services is comparable to what you can find in a four stars hotel or boardinghouse, but the terms are definitely cheaper. Palazzo Ducale Suites is easy to reach from the motorways, the railway station and "Falcone Borsellino" Airport (PMO). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, T4B, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Palazzo Ducale Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ducale Suites Monreale, Sicily - Province Of Palermo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Ducale Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.