We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beat our high expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chateau Clery

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chateau Clery to your Saves list
Hotel Chateau Clery
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue du Chateau, 62360 Hesdin-l'Abbe, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hesdin-l'Abbe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dubai
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Beat our high expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Given the glowing reviews on Tripadvisor, we decided to overnight at the Clery on our latest wine-buying trip to Northern France. The hotel was great. Our smallish room in the main hotel was clean and comfortable. The hotel's gardens are lovely. Staff were friendly and the restaurant excellent. For dinner we stuck with the cheapest Le Berthier menu and all the courses were good with the seabass with a cheese and spinach crust memorable. Service was perfect. If I was to quibble, it would have been good to have had more than two options for each course and the wine list was relatively pricy. But these are minot issues. Oh and breakfast was good too.
We had booked the 160 euros dinner b&b package and this was excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    157
    25
    4
    2
See reviews for
40
299
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

A wonderful hotel with highly skilled and very friendly staff. We had a very pleasant 3 night stay and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others. The food was exceptional even though a little on the costly side but worth every euro. My wife and I would very definately visit again and will probably use it as a staging post for trips across Europe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We flew into Brussels and stayed 3 nights and used this hotel to radiate out in our rental car to sights in Belgium (Bruges, Brussels) and as far south as Normandy (Honfleur, Calais, Boulogne sur Mer), in France. It's a gorgeous hotel! Truly an actual 18th century former chateau. We had a great room in the main house overlooking the back gardens. However, i wonder if the brand new rooms called "fermettes" in the back might be a bit more comfortable in a modern sense. Also, the hotel restaurant was fabulous, don't hesitate to eat there! I had the best veal dish of my life there. HINT: If you're not into big breakfasts after having had a huge meal the night before, there is a "tabac" (a cafe with small bar) a block away on the main street of the village, where he makes fresh expresso and coffee for a couple of euros. There you can relax among ordinary Frenchmen and women and save your appetite for your delightful fish lunch at Le Chatillon in Boulogne-sur-Mer. Yum

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I booked this hotel as a last minute getaway break with my wife and 17 mth old little boy. I'd asked in advance for a travel cot and also due to my broken ankle, a room on or near the ground floor. On arrival in the hotel looked wonderful after a day of brilliant sunshine and blue skies. The receptionist was welcoming and friendly (and even tolerated my poor French for a little while) before showing me to our room. I was immediately impressed as they had put us in a ground floor 'cottage' suite in converted stable block just to the side of the main hotel - showing they'd allowed for my injury which was great. It also suited us really well as we had much more space than a regular room plus a beautiful garden view and unlike many hotels we found the travel cot ready and assembled - great service. My only criticism was being unable to park very easily as spaces were a bit limited but I managed to unload reasonably close by.

We had our evening meal in the rather grand and quiet restaurant (parent nightmare) yet the staff were very accomodating, found us a high chair and seemed very comfortable with a small child as a diner. I think the other mostly English and elderly guests may have felt otherwise..! One word of warning - the restaurant is very expensive. Our meal with drinks was around 100 Euros and in retrospect we may have been better planning a meal elsewhere - but we were tired and hungry. Food was good quality, service excellent but you need deep pockets to eat there every night. Similarly, breakfast is a good quality buffet service but at 15 euros per person is quite pricey.

Overall we had a lovely, relaxing stay. The staff were excellent, friendly and we never felt like the 'annoying parents with a small child'. Would definitely visit again, though I would say whilst children are not a problem, it's ideally suited to couples.

Room Tip: The cottages are self-contained and ground floor which is great for small children, privacy and if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We choose this as a stop-over near to Calais and enjoyed our two night stay. It was quiet and elegant with helpful staff. We had breakfast both mornings- plenty of choice and nicely served and we enjoyed our evening meals. Not cheap, but worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We used a Travelzoo voucher for an overnight stop here. The staff were very kind and welcoming. The 18th century chateau has been beautifully restored and has great character. It is surrounded by lovely gardens. Dinner was very good, as was breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for one on a lower floor or in the farmhouses if you have heavy cases, as it's quite a climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Nice hotel well decorated clean and bright, service was helpful and friendly. Dinner was well served although it was a bit overpriced for what was produced. Nice grounds quiet and pleasant area to sit in. Only 30 minutes from the tunnel so very convenient.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chateau Clery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau Clery

Address: Avenue du Chateau, 62360 Hesdin-l'Abbe, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Hesdin-l'Abbe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hesdin-l'Abbe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chateau Clery 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Chateau Clery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Clery

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chateau Clery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.