We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chateau Clery

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Chateau Clery to your Saves list
Hotel Chateau Clery
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue du Chateau, 62360 Hesdin-l'Abbe, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hesdin-l'Abbe
essex
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our second visit to Hotel Clery and still as good as the first time we went there 18 months ago. It is definitely worth paying the extra to upgrade your room. We stayed in one of the fermettes situated to the side of the hotel, which was a large cottage type room, with hall way, 2 bedrooms, bathroom and a sitting area.

We had booked the hotel a few months in advance from one of the Najeti deals sent by email and this proved to be excellent value for money as it included overnight stay and breakfast. Our fermette was not situated within the hotel, so a warm coat or jacket would be needed to walk from your room to the restaurant (especially as it was snowing when we walked to breakfast).

The evening meal was superb and once again beautifully presented. The wine selection is very good with prices on a par with other chateau hotels.

The thing that we feel sets this place apart from other chateau hotels is the personal attentive service from the reception and waitress staff. Our evening waiter was completely charming and very helpful, and although I can speak fairly good French, he spoke fluent English. Nothing seems too much trouble and there is always service with a smile from all of the staff.

Overall we had a delightful stay and left with the feeling that we will return here again.

Room Tip: Pay for the deluxe room and you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    133
    24
    4
    2
See reviews for
37
252
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Knebworth Herts
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate his 75th birthday. We had stayed here once before to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary and we were not disappointed on this occasion! Last time we stayed in the Stable Block which was very comfortable. This time we were in the main hotel staying on the first floor in Room 102. This had views over the front and rear gardens of the Hotel and was a really lovely room, very spacious, clean and nicely furnished. The food is excellent. We ate here on both nights of our stay and the Chef is obviously very accomplished. Beautifully presented plates of food and not as expensive as one might expect of a Chateau Hotel, given the varied menu choices/prices.
The only downside was the breakfast. This was minimal with a few cereals, a heated tureen of scrambled eggs and bacon, a couple of cheeses, some ham and some breads. A wide choice of teas was provided but you had to choose your teabags and wait for the pot of boiled water to be brought - not the way we Brits are used to having tea! Overall, not worth the extra charge.+ However, this did not detract from our weekend break. The Staff were super, friendly and courteous without being intrusive. Altogether a lovely Hotel to which we would return.
The location is quiet but there is a lot to see and/or re-visit in the area. Le Touquet, Boulogne, Arras and other towns are within easy driving distance.

Room Tip: We loved the Stable Block when we visited many years ago but since then there has been an addition o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My sister and our partners seem to always go to France to celebrate my birthday. Our first stay in Hotel Clery and probably not our last. Food was excellent, well presented and cook perfectly. Limited choice, but then quality before quantity! Good selection of wines on the list. Rooms were well appointed and clean with luxury fittings. Only criticism would be the lack of a shower screen on the bath resulted in a wet floor, (& box of tissues). Never tried or saw the gym and sauna. Massages were expeb=nsive (not tried). I would recommend a stay in this quiet well run establishment and am very likely to return.

Room Tip: Only saw the rooms in The Cottage (converted stables?)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flimwell
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

16 of us decided to use the hotel as a venue to celebrate one of our group's birthday.

It was rather unlucky that we all descended onto the hotel at the same time, along with another family who were having problems with their key. So sadly, the corteige was overwhelmed, and had to leave the desk un -manned for over 20 minutes - which was not a good start, given we'd all driven long journeys and were keen to sign in.

However, it was a perfect opportunity for me to mischievously take up residence behind the desk, assume the role of the concierge, (along with a feeble attempt at a French accent), to meet and greet the last members of our group as they arrived in reception. It was actually hilarious to see their reactions when they realised it was moi! So actually, it turned into a great, happy start!

Quite simply, the rooms were beautiful and classic. Sumptuous accommodation and furniture, clean and tidy but with character.

The dining room also echoed the charming ambience of the rooms. We had a fantastic (and very creamy) meal which consisted mainly of fish, but creatively presented by helpful waiters and waitresses. The wine was fine and the standard of the whole meal was sensational.

Given that we were a slightly rowdy excited crowd of 16 English folk, the staff were lovely as were the other (French) guests who were also enjoying a birthday celebration.

Breakfast looked good, but quite honestly I was so replete from the meal from the evening before that I couldn't eat a thing. Just lovely aromatic French coffee for me.

All in all, memorable, French, welcoming and a place I would return to gladly.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the Chateau itself
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALERH, Directeur général at Hotel Chateau Clery, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Client,
We would like to thank you for taking time for feedback.
We do apologize for the wait on arrival and undestand it was unpleasant after a long way to drive to come at the hotel.
Be assured that we take all comments into account.
We will be glad to count you among our loyal Clients in the future.
We look forward to receiving you at the Hôtel Cléry soon.
Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Went for a 3 day break because it is so convenient to Eurotunnel/ferries etc, close to decent shopping and places of interest (in our case, Agincourt). Hit the spot on all fronts. Check-in fast and efficient, room 103 (in the main hotel) spacious, comfortable and well equipped. Staff pleasant and helpful. Restaurant food and service first class, cooking and presentation well up to first class standards (the pattiserie especially was done with flair and imagination). Don't recognise the establishment criticised by other reviewers, they must have stayed somewhere else !

Room Tip: Room 103 in main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We went for the one night gastronomique offer €100 pp for dinner bed and breakfast. We were offered room upgrade to big room above bar with fable views of lovely grounds. Comfortable room with lovely bathroom. Dinner was very good, fab presentation and tasty. More fish than meat and no vegie option on set menu in deal. Expensive drinks but good choice. Will def visit again on similar deal.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Took the Escape to the Chateau package which was one night's bed, breakfast and dinner. It was expensive but we thoroughly enjoyed relaxing in this charming little place- nice comfortable room (we were in "the cottages" next to the main building), sweet bar area and lovely restaurant (although it must be said that the service from our waitress didn't quite match the prices on the menus) and beautiful setting in the grounds. It was a perfect place to unwind for a night before venturing off elsewhere in this part of France.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chateau Clery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau Clery

Address: Avenue du Chateau, 62360 Hesdin-l'Abbe, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Hesdin-l'Abbe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hesdin-l'Abbe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chateau Clery 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Chateau Clery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Clery

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chateau Clery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.