We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coming back Home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Cayo Guillermo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayo Guillermo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Melia Cayo Guillermo
Save
You added Melia Cayo Guillermo to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Jardines del Rey, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Kingston upon Hull
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Coming back Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Melia, our 7th time , it was a family holiday with 7 in the party, As has already been written Maikel, Mary, Linet & Urimary are incredible Customer Service people, we always email ahead, when we arrived all was sorted our rooms all where ready and a fantastic greeting from all the team, as many of the staff are long serving it can be suprising how well they remember everybody, Nice to see you back again could be heard from many sectors of the hotel, a few more names need a mention, Janis & Milsa in the buffet, what service they deliver, nothing too much trouble, being a party of 7, tables sometimes did not fit our group, not a problem for these 2, in seconds a table was reformed to fit the group , juice on the table and coffee poured as we returned with our breakfast, Jesus & his team in the Italian, always made time & space for us, food is good too, The Internation laid on a cake for our 47th Wedding anniversary, arranged by Mary & the team, Alfredo on the beach bar is an old friend and a source of many a great stories, and of course the tributes would not be complete without a big mention for Jimmy, a corner stone of the Melia, and a mean Boules player, some staff did not have name tags and to all of you at the Melia thanks for a great holiday. See you all again

Room Tip: email ahead nothing is too much trouble, tried to add photos but would not accept, pity because it s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesus T, General Manager at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Peter H:
Thank you very much for your comments about your 7th visit to the hotel in this webpage. Thank you also for being so faithful to the resort and bring your family with you. I am so glad that you and your family enjoyed so much your stay with us. As a repeat guest of the hotel, I can see the bond you have with our staff and I will definitely pass your comments to all of them. As you already know, you will always be very most welcomed to our resort any time you wish to come back, our doors will be opened for you. Till next time, receive all our love and best wishes, see you soon
Best regards,
General Manager
Jesús T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,556
    933
    334
    169
    77
See reviews for
762
1,336
76
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had a fabulous holiday in Cuba at the hotel Melia Cayo Guillermo,the beach is very much like the Maldives but not as much marine life,the hotel is much like the hotels in the Dominican Republic,the rooms are very big,the entertainment staff were wonderful as were all the staff,the food was lovely,you would never go hungry,the only down fall was that there are no fans in the lobby bar which makes in quite uncomfortable in the evening but saying that we definitely would go backC

Room Tip: Take a thermos flask/mug with you to take a drink down to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesus T, General Manager at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear ISSY56:

Thank you very much for your comments about the hotel in this webpage. I am very glad that you loved the beach, the rooms, the food and our staff in general. We will take into account your suggestion about placing fans in the lobby area. Our doors will be always opened for you and your family every time you wish to come back, until then receive all our love and best wishes,
Best regards,
General Manager

Jesús T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Melia Cayo Guillermo. The Customer Service Team Mikail, Mary, Linet and Yanasy and Reception Manager Urimary and her Team did a fantastic job of checking us in and our Room was perfect as always. The beach and the staff is why we return to this Hotel year after year. We missed Kiki at the Ranchon and Noelkiss in the Kids Club. Galioska Jimmy and Glevis from the entertainment staff and Serguay, Yosvany and Ania from the Bars, Jesus, Vania, Antonio, Guillermo from the restaurants made our stay extra special. The Grounds and Gardens are well kept. We needed a week away in paradise and got exactly what we were looking for. We will be back. Priscilla

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesus T, General Manager at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Priscilla:
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at the resort in this webpage. I am very glad you and your family had a great vacation with us as always and let me thank you for being so faithful to our resort. I could noticed the main reason why you always come back is our staff that is why I will pass your comments to them because I am very sure they all will be very happy to hear from you. The doors of this little paradise will always be open for you and your family, thank you very much for being part of this big family of Meliá Cayo Guillermo. We will see you soon, all our love and best wishes for you,
Best regards
Jesús T.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was our 5th holiday in Cuba, our first time at the Melia, we arrived on the 5th September... the staff were very friendly and attentive. Our room was immaculately clean, comfortable and everything was in working order. The beach is stunning and there are some lovely fish around the pier if you like to snorkel, however this could be a bit tricky sometimes because of the men fishing from the pier. We did find it difficult a couple of times to find an unoccupied sun bed in the shade on the beach, on one occasion a couple got very upset (the man in particular) and he became very aggressive towards a group of people who decided to invade his umbrella area. Also there wasn't enough seating inside around the bar area when it was raining, therefore a few evenings we were forced to go back to our room with our drinks. It was also very hot in the evenings and there wasn't anywhere with fans or air conditioning to relax and sit comfortably. "Roberto" who has been our rep three times, as usual was extremely friendly, informative and helpful, he does an outstanding job!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesus T, General Manager at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear debra h:
Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel in this webpage. I am glad you liked very much the room and our beauty beach as well as our staff. The management board and I will take into consideration all your comments about the sunbeds, the sitting at the snack bar and your suggestions about places with fans or air conditioning in order to improve our services. I will definitely pass your comments to Roberto, he will be very happy to hear about you. You and family will be very most welcomed at the resort, I hope to see you soon, until then receive all our love and best wishes.
Best regards
Jesús T.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

we had a fabulous two weeks holiday in Cuba at the hotel Melia Cayo Guillermo on 5th september with our friends when we arrived the front of house were so helpful are bags were taken to our rooms and we were checked in soon after we were in rooms 3008 3012 and they were fabulous very clean and a free mini bar topped up every day the food was very good and plenty of snacks thoughout the day the staff are very friendly and customer services were fantastic Linet was wonderful nothing was to much trouble cant wait to go back xx carol kev

Room Tip: the rooms closer to the beach high or lower are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesus T, General Manager at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear carol m:
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at the resort in this webpage. I am so glad you and your husband enjoyed such much your holiday at the hotel. I noticed you liked very much the rooms, the food and you made a great connection with the staff at Customer Service. It will be very nice to see you back anytime you wish to come back and visit us. Until then receive all our love and best wishes,
Best regards
Jesús T.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklin, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I went from Sept 27 to Oct 4 with my two brothers. All had separate rooms at an outstanding price, under $650. each from Toronto. We just wanted to get away for a week, relax, drink and lay on the beach or around the pool. Meals were very edible, best blue cheese I have ever had, but after a few days it was same old. Rooms very clean but "tired"

Bring bug spray if on the beach or at night. Entertainment not be best but for the $ we paid good. Drinks were very good and service excellent.

At that price I will certainly go again....

Room Tip: most rooms are the same, just check the map to see how far you want to be from the pool or beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesus T, General Manager at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear paul g:
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at the hotel in this webpage. I am so glad you and your brothers had an excellent holiday in our hotel. I am happy you loved to relax at the beach and try the blue cheese. All our staff will love to see you back any time you wish. Until then receive our best wishes,
Best regards
Jesús T.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed from 6th to 20th September 2013 room 2309 - top floor. We had a couple of problems - broken toilet and safe, both were fixed quickly with guest relations phoning us to check that everything had been done to our satisfaction. Room was fine, plenty of space. Fridge stocked every day with beer soft drinks and water. Please note there are no kettles but there is a coffee machine in your room. The only real problem I had with the room was stained pillows, there were no pillow protectors on them. Cleaner could have done a better job, only really cleaned toilet and basin. Balcony wasn't cleaned in the 2 weeks and the sheets weren't changed reguarly enough.

I thought that the choice of food at the buffet restaurant was very good. Chicken, turkey, beef, lamb, fish, pork ( a whole pig sometimes), different types of potatoes, veg, salads, cheeses, etc. There was always pizza and pasta at a separate cooking station cooked fresh to order. Lots of fruit and puddings to choose from, could even make your own ice cream sundae. There was also the snack bar at the pool where you could get paninni's, burgers, hotdogs etc 24 hrs. We ate at the italian restaurant twice and the international twice, had lovely meals each time, couldn't fault the food or the surroundings. Could even get a takeaway pizza if you wanted!

We found the beer to be nice and there were lots of named spirits, smirnoff, grand marnier, cointreau, jb whisky, cinzano. There was also diet coke, all at the lobby bar.

Pool was lovely, animation team did games, archery, rifle shooting, bingo etc. Jimmy and Sammy both very friendly and funny. We went to a couple of the shows but it's really not our thing. Beach was very good, seaweed cleaned up every day and nice clear shallow water. The gardeners would bring coconuts to you on the beach, chop the tops off and put a straw in for you, delicious! Had mine chopped up afterwards so I could eat the coconut. Lots of fish being caught off the pier, lots of barracuda's around. There's a few market stalls on the way to the beach (in hotel grounds) where you could get fridge magnets, painting's, wooden carvings etc all at reasonable prices.

We visited the Sol Guillermo next door and Melia Cayo Coco, much preferred our hotel, lot's more space and gardens.

Did a day trip with Thomas Cook called Now Cuba. Roberto the rep was very friendly, always ready for a chat and full of useful information. The trip involved a ride on a speedboat, a ride on a steam train through sugar plantations and a bici taxi ride in the city of Ciego de Avila. Cigar and gift shops aswell.

On leaving the hotel (11.40 am) we were each given a bag containing some lunch, cola and water. The check in at the airport was quick and we were allowed to take our liquids through. A few gift stalls and duty free, again very cheap.

The arriving flight was half an hour late but turned round very quickly and we got home earlier than expected to manchester.

We thought that all the staff were great but a special mention to Niecty, Serguey and the evening staff at the lobby bar. We also met some lovely people, Jill and Dave, Linda and Chris, Peter and Linda.

We enjoyed our stay and if anyone needs any more info then please ask.

Kind regards
Baslady

Room Tip: Top floor rooms get a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesus T, General Manager at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Baslady:
Thank you very much for your comments about the resort in this webpage. I am very sorry for the problems you had in your room but I satisfied everything got fixed quickly. The management board and I will take into consideration the issues you mentioned about the room cleaning. On the other hand, I am so glad you had such an incredible holiday because I noticed you loved the food and drinks selection, our a la carte restaurants, the grounds and our stunning beach. Also you liked going fishing and most important you made a great connection with our staff; I will definitely pass your comments to them. You and your family will always be very most welcomed at our hotel, until next time receive all our love and best wishes,
Best regards
Jesús T.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Cayo Guillermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cayo Guillermo

Address: Jardines del Rey, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Guillermo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Cayo Guillermo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Cayo Guillermo is located one of the most beautiful and white-sandy beaches with more than 1300 palm trees, and swept by very transparent waters. The area was an inspiration for Ernest Hemingway, and fishing the great blue river, always on his Pilar Yacht, he created part of his work. The hotel is perfect for couples and families but also for diving, fishing. We also organize the wedding of your dreams in this paradise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Melia Cayo Guillermo Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Cayo Guillermo Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Cayo Guillermo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.