We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Cayo Guillermo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayo Guillermo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sol Cayo Guillermo
Save
You added Sol Cayo Guillermo to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Jardines Del Rey | Cuba, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Have just returned from this hotel. Well what can I say it was paradise. The hotel and rooms were clean, the staff so friendly and would do anything for you and the beach is amazing. We met some amazing people who will be friends for life. The cubanito bar was the best with Lorents he was my favourite member of staff along with Roberto in the restaurant. The food was nice and had a good variety and food would be cooked fresh for you at different stations. The al la carte restaurant was really nice too. I would definitely reccommend this hotel and would definitely go back we loved it

Room Tip: We was in 916 and it was neat everything and could see the sea from our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Antonio R, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Customer,

Paradise! WOW! We have enjoyed reading your comments. Thank you very much for reviewing your positive experiences on this site. It was a pleasure for us to have provided you the magic of Melia Hotels International by Sol Cayo Guillermo. We are very happy to read you have met some amazing people who will be friends of you for life, so you'll remember us as a place who gave you the opportunity to meet them, I wish you can be at the same time in another holiday. Our special appreciation for recommending us on this site. hope to see you soon!

With Warmest Regards,

Jose Antonio / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,013
    892
    326
    167
    82
See reviews for
592
1,161
86
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Had another fantastic visit last Nov (12TH VISIT!) .If you are looking for a complete chill out holiday this is the place to visit. The beach is clean and you can always find a sun bed as with the pool staff are helpful and friendly. The bar staff in the main, beach and lobby can't be faulted Hector our good friend and the two Carlos's will do anything for you . The food can sometimes be a little repetitive but you will always find something you like and again the staff are friendly and go out of their way to help. The rooms are kept clean and sheets and towels changed regularly, although in need of a tlc and looking a little tired you tend to turn a blind eye to this as you don't spend all day in there and the rest of the hotel and friendly staff make up for this. , We just look forward to our next visit and May can't come soon enough

Room Tip: We always request room 504 nice and quiet and lovely sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Antonio R, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Loyal Customer,

I love to read my repeated guests comments because they let me know we are succeeding or not on our daily efforts to make our hotel even better for your future enjoyment. Thank you for taking a time to review your recent stay with us. We will certainly share your remarks with the staff, especially with the ones you have been kind enough to mention by name. Thank you for your observations which have already been addressed, we are working on it.

With Warmest Regards,

Jose Antonio / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Have been to this hotel before and returned after three years. A few things have changed and some areas look a bit tired. Work was ongoing whilst there new decking, painting of buildings and work on some of the electrics along with other things none of which spoiled our stay. Found all the staff new & old friendly and suprised that some still remembered us from three years back, As they do meet lots of people. This is one of the reasons i find there friendship so genuine. I understand all hotels have ups and downs but feel this place is back on track after reading some bad reports. We had no issues with food at all. Plenty of drinks of all descriptions at the bars. Met with smiles from all the staff. Our maid deserves an extra mention as in a rush one day forgot to check the safe, Went to the lovely beach for a quick swim. On our return the maid informed us of our mistake and not a thing was missing. Did pass this on and put it onto hotel feedback room 303. The Cubanito what a place to spend an Afternoon after a good day in the sun, great place to meet people not only from your own country.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Antonio R, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Customer,

We are happy to read since the title of your review you'll be back, thank you for selecting us, Sol Cayo Guillermo will welcome you as a repeated client & we'll provide you with another such great memories and positive experiences. We are working in our areas in order to offer you a fresh view to our buildings, specailly by paintings, also we are going to renovate some rooms. As you said Cubanito is a nice pleace to have a drink whilst you enjoy an ocean sight, it is the most poplular bar we have in the hotel and it is a place choosing for our repeated guests. Please, email us your booking details and just ring the bell for us to look after another excellent holiday with us.

With Warmest Regards,

Jose Antonio / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Hi All,
We went to this beautiful resort many years ago, then returned the following year. Not been anywhere for a while...however, we decided to go away again...we poured through tons of magazines...didn't see anything near as beautiful, all of them are far too big for us...we love this resort, the staff are amazing...and yes, we're going back to where we love!! This is our 3rd time! See you Saturday February 22nd mi amores!! Not sure if I spelt that right or not...but you know what I mean...p.s. I'm packed!! LOL
Monika
xo

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Antonio R, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Hello Monika!

It's great to have clients with your loyalty, thank you very much for choosing us every time, we are glad to know we have been able to provide you with another enjoyable experience. thank you post posting in this site. Please, email us your booking details and just ring the bell for us to look after another excellent holiday with us.

With Warmest Regards

Jose Antonio / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

What an excellent location for a hotel, the beach was superb and clean. No hassle on the beach from sellers, just relax and let it go. The rooms were very spacious and clean although we had one minor issue with woodworm/termites however it was reported and we were offered another room but there was no need to move as the maintenance must have sprayed something and it was clear for the next 4 days before slowly appearing again. This did not effect our time whatsoever. The staff are a credit to this hotel and couldn't do enough for you. The lobby bar duo of Carlos and Lesy were impressive to watch as their efficiency to serve, clean etc was brilliant. What was also very impressive was the general manager Antonio, he seemed to be there when you got up and still walking around chatting to staff and guests when you retired for the night - good man. We went on this holiday at the end of January for 2 weeks and it was very quiet for me, i felt a little sorry for the activities team as they tried very hard to get people motivated and involved butnto no avail in most cases. I enjoy activities like volleyball etc but there was no other guests taking part so it only happened twice in the 2 weeks. The food was repeatative however it was your choice what to eat, there was plenty of choices if you looked further than the hotplate. Fresh meat cooked to your liking fresh fish to cook fresh pasta etc. Lots of negative comments you will see about the food - please just look around. Final point - please go and enjoy this hotel, the people, beach and general relaxed atmosphere is hard to beat and if the improvements that Antonio stated happen it will be even better - get out there.

Room Tip: Room 219/220 were the furthest from the reception and about a 300m walk. Very quiet. Bring an extens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Antonio R, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Customer,

I'm totally agree with your remarks about staff and beach, they may worth your money. thak you for your comments they show me we have provided you with a positive holiday experience. We are very happy to read you have encountered (our staff) to be very hard working. We sprayed the room as you said, next clients can enjoy it. Our special appreciation for recommending us on this site. we hope to see you another time in Sol Cayo Guillermo, It'll be a pleasure welcome you back!

With Warmest Regards

Jose Antonio / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

On arrival live music and dancers with a cocktail in hand. Took our own cases to room as no one offered to take them for us. We stayed in the 100's and the room was very spacious with a massive bed. Fridge fell out the unit daily and no handle on cupboard door until day 5. Plug in sink was missing and new one arrived after phoning reception. Drape over bed was quite disgusting and we asked to have it changed but it was only ever removed. Small issues that were promptly fixed thnx to a great customer service girl called yudelkys. The food was varied throughout and had something for everyone but at times the hygiene was lacking especially when handling raw and Cooked meats. I avoided any food lying in pools of blood or fat. My first chicken dinner was vastly undercooked and was raw throughout I asked for new but was offered to cook the same for a bit longer. After this we never had problems with food and never once suffered from dodgy stomachs. Bread was sometimes there for toasting and sometimes not and the so calle orange juice was quite horrible but we had unlimited water or coke most of the time. The only way I can describe the animation team is absolutely first class and some of their choreography wouldn't go amiss on broadway. Every night was different by always amazing. The snack bar next to the pool bar and pool table was without doubt the saddest thing about the hotel whereas the sister hotel in Cayo coco was second to none. Toasted only and never hot dogs or burgers as stated. Bins full outside the cooking area which was the size of a phone box. Bread placed on a pull out wooden drawer was stomach churning and makes the hotel look like a one star hostel compared to a four star hotel. Our best days and nights were spent at the mojito bar where William and Carlos made our stay all the better. These guys are what friendly is all about and always smiled made us feel welcome and offered us a taste of real Cuba by showing us how to make all the local cocktails. An absolute credit to this hotel, sadly Lorenz was far from friendly and was rude and quite appalling at times. Told to come back twice at half eleven as he wasn't open but clearly states opens at 11am surely not too hard to pour two glasses of coke for anyone. Beach area was superb and is easily the best out of all the hotels. Bar staff at pool bar were always serving people they seemed to know despite who was first and at times was quite irritating so we mostly stayed at the lounge or monitor bar. Overall a great stay, not four star in my opinion but could quite easily be after a bit more care and attention especially in the hygiene area. Will we be back.........you can count on it.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Antonio R, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Customer,

First of all, thank you very much for taking part of your time to write your comments on tripadvisor, we really appreciate it, they give us the opportunity to work on next clients to be better, we took them very seriously, we promise you we have read it to our employees in order to let them know how is the clients looking us & fix the issue or the inconvenients for the next clients. There are always adjustments to be made and your observations and suggestions always help us to do so, thank you very much for your remarks; we will certainly look after those matters which have to be rectified to make sure you and other customers enjoy your future stays in Sol Cayo Guillermo. See you in your next visit.

With Warmest Regards

Jose Antonio / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Let me start by saying that this is our 3rd time and we loved it just as much as the 1st (maybe even more as we were welcomed with open arms as long lost friends).

We visited Sol Cayo Guillermo 23rd January to 7th February 2014.

We booked with Thomas Cook and the plane, the flight and the cabin staff were all great. When we got to Cayo Coco Airport everything went quickly and smoothly and we were met by a smiling friendly Ivan Sosa (The Thomas Cook Rep) who without doubt, is the best rep I have ever met.

People
Yaimi, Yudi, Lupe, Madeleine, Carlos, Anita, Jonny, Yanielis, Ana, Alexander, Alex, Miguel, Rey, 'Naughty Boy' Carlos, Yandris all top drawer, lovely people, hardworking, honest and always smiling despite some guests dis-respecting them on a daily basis.

Beach
Clean & Tidy. Lots of sun loungers & Beach Huts. Beautiful white sand and brilliant blue sea - what more could anybody want?

Entertainment
We've never really dealt with the entertainments team before but we went with friends this year and got more involved. The day time activities were varied and always great fun and on the evening the dance shows were amazing and the magic was mind blowing. The entertainments team were great, especially the young lads Rey, Carlos & Yandris and it seemed that when they were about we were always laughing.

Food
Whilst we were there, the food was not as good as it had been on our previous visits. The lads on the grill (Alexander, Alex & Miguel) were superb and the food was of great quality, but the food in the carousel was lack lustre, cold and was left standing far too long so it hardened and became inedible. There was also very little salad which was in abundance previously. A few people who were repeat visitors said the same thing and expressed their views to the manager and things began to improve as we left - I hope it was just a glitch!

Rooms
The rooms are spacious and comfortable but just need a little love. The cupboards and drawers are a little broken, but still useable. Did it ruin my holiday? Of course not!

In a nutshell
Go, Go, Go.
You'll fall in love with the people, the place and the climate and will not want to go anywhere else...ever!!!
Chill out and enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Antonio R, General Manager at Sol Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear repeated Client,

We are so glad to read that your third time with us has also been an enjoyable experience. Our special appreciation for recommending us on this site. You have perfectly hit the spot when mentioning those who outstand out for you. I definitely agree with you: they are great! Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review, which we have been glad to share with them all. We have noted your comments well, and yes, we did notice there was something wrong at the buffet and actions have been taken to rectify this. I can feel you’ll be returning, so Please, email us your booking details and just ring the bell for us to look after another excellent holiday experience with us.

With Warmest Regards,

Jose Antonio / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Cayo Guillermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Guillermo

Address: Jardines Del Rey | Cuba, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Guillermo
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Cayo Guillermo 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Stars All Inclusive Resort with 268 rooms. Located in Cayo Guillermo,Cuba, in one of the most beautiful beaches, in the archipelago Jardines del Rey, near Playa Pilar and near one of the most beautiful coral reefs in the world. Known for its romantic and lush tropical vegetation. Recommended for families, couples, weddings and honeymoons.268 rooms: 135 standard, 96 Standard Ocean View, 37 Superior Standard 3 Dining Restaurants (Buffet),4 bars.An incredible natural paradise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Guillermo Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Sol Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Cayo Guillermo Sol Hotel
Sol Cayo Guillermo Cuba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Cayo Guillermo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.