We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again - Awful so called resort” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Daiquiri

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayo Guillermo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iberostar Daiquiri
Save
You added Iberostar Daiquiri to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jardines del Rey, 65100, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Never Again - Awful so called resort”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We decided to try the Iberostar Daiquiri Resort based on its positive reviews posted on Trip Advisor. Upon arrival to the Resort, we were definetly not expecting what was instore for us.

Firstly, we were given 2 rooms - one of which smelled like mold and the olther had a loud running toilet - they said they wouldn't be able to fix it - so we changed rooms. The second set of rooms - both had swarms of ants in the bathroom sinks - they were on the 2nd floor. We changed rooms for a third time - and aside from the awful colour selection of the decor and possibly having a seizure from the contrasting colours - we decided to stay put.

The Rooms: All rooms have SINGLE BEDS ONLY. There are NO KING BEDS at this resort. So if your planning on a romantic get away – don’t stay here – all you will get is a too close for comfort sleep with your significant other – and barely any tossing and turning room. I must add that the headboards and nailed to the cement wall and even if you had the bright idea of joing the two single beds together… The beds are on wheels…! Just imagine that.

The maids clean the rooms - not very well - and they are very stingy on towels and toilet paper distribution. You will get 2 towels and 1 roll of toilet paper. We would call reception for extra towels and an extra roll of toilet paper every night - which only took them an hour to bring up - but we got them. Only problem was - when the maids cleaned our room the next day - they took our extra towels (leaving only 2) and took our extra roll of toilet paper (leaving only a single roll). How lovely.

Other notes of our room: We had a frog in our room. We had a leak from the air conditioner (leakied right into my open luggage). The technician came to take a look and was supposed to fix it - after 3 folllow up - we gave up.

Aside from Red and White curtains AND Blue and white stipped bed comforter - the beds were actually comfortable to sleep in - however, I am 5 foot 3" and I found them a bit short and small.

The Bathroom: Old school shower with a tub - and a shower head - that was as ancient as my great-grandmother - which pointed towards the wall - made washing my long hair almost impossible - not to mention - the lack of water pressure also didn't help.

Food: The BUFFET! Is the only place you should dare to dine. The variety was good and there was a wide selection of options - however, after the fourth day of eating the exact same thing for breakfast, lunch and dinner - it gets old. There are three a la carte restaurants - STAY AWAY. They are awful. Plus - there is one restaurant near the beach - during the day you can have lunch there and at night it turns into the Cuban Restaurant - there are Cats that stroll around while you eat. Talk about disgusting.

Entertainment:Nightly entertainment daily at 9:30 PM at the Theater. I must say that these shows were awsome. There was a different show each night - and every other night - they would include the crowd in their show - we were crawling on the floor laughing - Excellent Theater. After the theater production - there is not much to do.

Beach - The beach was nothing special. It was awful actually. Shallow water - you can go out 200 feet and still have water only up to your ankles. Plus - there was alot of sea weed. There was not much sand area which is sad. If you want a beautiful beach - go to PUNTA CANA!!

In a nutshell - stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorDaiquiri, General Manager at Iberostar Daiquiri, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Amanda G,

On behalf of the manager Iberostar Daiquiri hotel, we will like to thank you for let us know how your experience in your stay at this resort; we are very sad to learn you didn’t have a good experience, apologize because it is the opposite of our desire. All our efforts are channeled to ensure that all our customers are happy with all services in the hotel.

We take your potential improvement comments very seriously, as our passion is to offer the best possible Iberostar experience to all our clients.

Best regard,
Oscar escallada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    992
    975
    426
    149
    66
See reviews for
743
971
68
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
napan, New Brunswick
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

we stayed at this resort for two weeks feb 5 to 20 2013 the food was great lots of selection at the buffet the ala carts resterurants went to all great food at all.the staff was very freindly the rooms are clean beach is great the resort is in need of update but we seen one room that was started the up grade going to very nice when done if we go to cayo coco cuba again this is where we would stay. food was top notch. cant say that enought 4* rated but when rooms are updated it will be 4.5* to 5* beach guy gets your lounge chairs sweeps the sand off put your towel on greatt service, maids excellent say it again the food was EXCELLENT

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorDaiquiri, General Manager at Iberostar Daiquiri, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear TERRI552,
It a gratification reed you review where you are evaluated you experience in this hotel Iberostar Daiquiri a wonderful holyday. We are so happy to know you and your two daughters had a fantastic time here finding very friendly staff and good selection food in the different restaurants. Iberostar aims to provide to our beloved guests an excellent service so they can “enjoy being a Star”. We are glad to read that we accomplished our goal with you during your stay among us.
We look forward to be able to offer you our hospitality again at our hotel

Oscar Escallada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was our first time staying at the Iberostar Daiquiri, and we were very pleased. The Jardines del Rey airport is small and efficient - we were through security, had our luggage, bought some pesos, and were on the bus in approximately 20 minutes. The transfer took approximately 45 minutes with an entertaining guide. Check in was quick, also - we had the room key less then 15 minutes after arriving at the hotel. The first impression of the property was daunting - it is definitely in need of renovation, however the excellent service quickly compensated for this. The property is smallish, which we liked. It was very easy to get familiar with the grounds, and a brief stroll between the lobby, pool, beach, room and restaurants. The food was the best that we have had in Cuba to date. The buffet has lots of great options including a pasta station and two grilling stations. From morning to late in the evening there is at least one location that you can get fresh, hot food. All three a la cartes were good - the Cuban restaurant was our favourite! The beach at the hotel is beautiful, and well kept. The nightly entertainment was a mix of dance shows and audience participation games. Both were well staged - the dancers were extremely talented. The highlight of the vacation by far was the friendliness and excellent service provided by all staff members. Front desk, wait/bar, housekeeping, recreation/entertainment and groundskeeping staff were all equally friendly and helpful throughout the week. We look forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorDaiquiri, General Manager at Iberostar Daiquiri, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Anreimer,

Many thank you for choice Iberostar Daiquiri for your recent holidays as well for write this review about your experience. We are so happy to know that were a great staying for you with us in this resort. so that I read on your evaluation can understand which had enjoyed of all our a la cart restaurant, fine good services by the staff and easy access to the different services it is great to know that, also help people looking for information about the hotel facilities by this page.

We hope to be able to offer you our hospitality again at our hotel!

Regard
Oscar escallada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Our group of 5 arrived at the Daiquiri at supper time and after a quick check-in and putting stuff into our clean, if tired, rooms we headed to the buffet for dinner. Loved the buffet at dinner and also at breakfast and lunch. Good selection, great desserts and friendly staff. We especially enjoyed the pizza. Simple but good. Plenty of food in all trays and when low they were quickly replenished. We did not get to any of the a la cartes. By the time I went to reserve they were too full to have room for us. The frustrating thing is that many nights the restaurants looked like they had empty tables. They need a policy that if someone doesn't show by 15 minutes after their reservation the table is up for grabs. We did have food at the beach buffet a couple of times and it was a bit simpler but also very good food.

The beach was great but a little ways out there was grassy seaweed in the water and we didn't like to swim in it. A little walk up the beach though and it was clear way way out. The difference in the beach when tide was in and out was actually neat and not a drawback to the beach. At low tide there was lots of room for digging in the sand. At high tide there was more shallow beach to wade/play in. The water is crystal clear and a beautiful blue/green. At high tide there is still lots of room for loungers set back a bit in the small grass/sand hills.

We did a snorkel trip that also stopped at Playa Pillar. It was 25CUC and booked at the beach hut near the pier. Definitely worth it. We stopped at Pillar beach first and a couple more passengers joined our group. We had time to relax and enjoy the water and a beer (1CUC) at the beach. Then we went to Half Moon Island for the snorkeling. It was great. We even got to swim over a shipwreck. Lots of fish and we had a great snorkeling guide with us. Then back to Pillar beach for another swim. On the way back we stopped in a cove and snorkeled again to find some starfish. They called it a starfish colony but I didn't see tons that I was thinking we'd see but was still happy with what we saw.

The pool at the resort was smaller than I expected but there were never tons in the pool so it never felt crowded. We liked the swim up bar and never had a problem getting service. Also didn't have many issues getting chairs around the pool (our usual spot instead of the beach) but we did usually go down early to make sure we got some. There was also a sports pool but we didn't go in that one. There is a very small kids wading pool that is separate from the other two. Very shallow for small kids.

The shows at night were great although I prefer shows without audience volunteers participating. Seems there are always a couple of drunks that make idiots of themselves up there. The shows had lots of dancing and all of the star friends up there were excellent dancers. Our favourite show was a quiz show that had a Titanic skit that was excellent and a "We are the World" skit that was so funny. Great job to the cast!

In the evenings we loved sitting in the lobby area and having a drink. The lobby bar was excellent. A couple of times there was a cigar roller showing how he makes cigars and one night they had 4 people that looked clay-like. They walked in very slowly and then stood in place as human statues. Tons of people took pictures of them and with them. Hope all tipped them too. They were great!!

We never had a big bug issue. I had no bites. My son had a few and no one else was bothered much. Maybe it was dryer when we were there but I don't know what the fuss in some reviews was all about. I'd recommend this hotel but do remember you are far from anything. It's a quiet resort. A great place to relax and unwind. Don't expect a great night-life here. Great for families, seniors, friends. Not for party animals.

We flew with Sunwing and enjoyed the direct flight. We are finding the seats more and more cramped (but that's in all planes) almost to the point of being unsafe if there were issued and you needed to leave in a hurry. Very little leg room. On the way home the flight was delayed 8 hours but we were notified at the hotel and could still stay and play and eat. All was good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorDaiquiri, General Manager at Iberostar Daiquiri, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Alberta traveler 20…,
We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Daiquiri for your family holiday. is a plasure to read your positive review about the excellent service, good food and drinks that you enjoyed. As well thank for consider this place to relax and unwind on holiday. Iberostar aims to provide to our beloved guests an excellent service so they can “enjoy being a Star”. We are glad to read that we accomplished our goal with you during your stay among us.
We hope to be able to offer you our hospitality again at our hotel
Oscar Escallada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gananoque, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was my first trip to Cuba. I have been travelling yearly since 1994 so I have seen quite a few resorts in various countries. I have always be hesitant to go to Cuba because of all the negative comments about the food. I must say this was not the case with Iberostar Daiquiri. The food was top notch. The selection was limited but there was always a choice of meats (the fresh fish was a hit with me), vegetables and salads. The desserts were good too. The resort itself needs some updating but it was super clean. The service was excellent, the Cuban people were always helpful and very friendly. I can not comment on the evening shows because I did not see any. The beach was very nice especially when the tide goes out. There was always enough lounge chairs and shade to be found. You can walk the beach for miles.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorDaiquiri, General Manager at Iberostar Daiquiri, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear bneanut,

We would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing our hotel. It is a cause of satisfaction to hear that you had a great holiday.
We look forward to welcoming you once again in Iberostar Daiquiri.

Oscar Escallada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I just returned last week from a wonderful vacation at the Iberostar Daiquiri. The best part of this hotel is definitely the hotel staff (best in cubat) beach and food. The front desk was organized and very pleasant, excellent customer service. We had a fresh cold fruity slushy drink before we were even finished checking in. We were quickly driven to our room, and all our suitcases were carried in for us. He told us all about our room, the lights etc. Very pleasant. The food at this resort was the best I have experienced in Cuba, and this is my third time. There was a good variety every day, and the main buffet was amazing. There were stir-fry's, burgers, all kinds of fish, chicken pasta, pizza, great omelets, pancakes, even peanut butter, which was a first. However if you need only heinz ketchup take it with you, I enjoyed the Cuban ketchup. There was fresh fruit every day, fresh bread, nice desserts and wonderful ice cream ( coconut, guava and lots of other flavors) fresh juices etc. The cooks and workers were very good at their jobs, and very personable. They take pride in their work, The waiters and bartenders throughout the resort were very attentive and personable. There was a good variety of drinks, and I enjoyed trying different drinks, and the cappuccino's were excellent.You felt like a part of the family while in the resort. The performers who worked during the day were very fun, and a pleasure to talk with. The evening shows were varied and good entertainment, many very talented performers. Even the upper management of the hotel spent time talking with the tourists, which was a first for me to see in such a resort. The rooms were outdated, but very clean.In checking reviews before your trip this is mentioned so it was not a surprise, nor can i complain about this, The maids which we had were very friendly, and kept our room very clean, with different works of art and flowers on our bed every day. There were no problems in our room with bugs or ants. Did not spend lots of time there, it was paradise outside. There were mosquitoes and the small sand flies on the beach but not of serious concern. The nice part was you never had to get up at the crack of dawn to get a beach chair. On the beach there was always shade and chairs available at any time. Lots of beach area when the tide was low, and enough room when the tide was higher. We went on the catamaran snorkeling for the day, and had a wonderful time. We also went fishing off the beach and caught three fish. It was such a pleasurable holiday, and everything was five star for me. I enjoyed every minute. Thank you very much to all the workers in the hotel for their wonderful service, and making this an especially wonderful holiday. For the price we payed it was a steal of a deal. I would highly recommend this hotel to others. The hotel will be renovating their rooms in May until September approximately, so check them out when they open again. We are already planning our next trip there, and encourage others to visit, you will not regret it!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorDaiquiri, General Manager at Iberostar Daiquiri, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Sunflower093,

On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the manager; We would like to thank you for choosing the Iberostar Daiquiri as well as to share with us and the rest of the online community your opinion of your stay, We are pleased to know that you have been a brilliant holiday. Iberostar aims to provide to our beloved guests an excellent service so they can “enjoy being a Star”. We are glad to read that we accomplished our goal with you during your stay among us.
We will be happy to meet you again in this hotel.

Thank you,
Oscara Escalada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was our first time to the Iberostar Daquiri and we had a fantastic time! We stayed here for 11 days and loved every minute of it! The staff is amazing and work very hard to keep all of the guests very happy. The beach is beautiful and don't miss out on a visit to Playa Pilar! There was always a good selection of food in the buffet and our servers Julie & Janet were fantastic and made us feel at home! We ate at the Cuban and the Italian a la cartes and they were good, but for us the buffet was better for our kids as there was more selection. Our kids loved Kids Club and being able to perform in some of the shows in the evening, the two girls that run the Kids Club are amazing. We did the Jeep Safari and had a blast, I would definately recommend this tour!! The rooms are in need of refurbishment (which will happen when they close in May) but they are very clean and you don't spend much time in your room anyway. The grounds of the resort are beautiful and well kept. This is a nice quiet resort and we loved that it was smaller than most of the resorts we have been to before, everything is very close and you don't have to walk forever to get to anything which we liked. We ate at the little restaurant on the beach and had a great lobster dinner! The shows in the evening are very entertaining.

We had a great time and will definately return once the renovations are complete!! Thank you Iberostar for a wonderful vacation!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorDaiquiri, General Manager at Iberostar Daiquiri, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Lainey2204,


We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Iberostar Daiquiri. It is gratifying to know that you enjoy a wonderful family vacation. For us is very important to receive a good feedback like this you pronounce in this review.

We will share with all our staff your comments, in especial to Julie y Janet who made you feel at home.

We´ll wait to see you once again after the renovations

Oscar Escallada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Daiquiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Daiquiri

Address: Jardines del Rey, 65100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Guillermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Daiquiri 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Cayo Guillermo (Cuba). An oasis of relaxation. Elegant luxury. Pure water sports. Unspoilt Caribbean nature. Pleasant, modern construction style. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Iberostar Daiquiri Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Iberostar Cayo Guillermo
Iberostar Daiquiri Cuba
Iberostar Hotel Cayo Guillermo
Iberostar Daiquiri Cayo Guillermo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Daiquiri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.