We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sunset views and delicious food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jumas Restaurant

Jumas Restaurant
2 West End Queen Street | Speightstown, Speightstown BB1100, Barbados
+1 246-432-0232
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 18 Restaurants in Speightstown
Cuisines: Caribbean, French, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Jumas is an ocean front restaurant in Speightstown, Barbados. It is open for lunch from 12pm every day, through to 6pm, and open for dinner from 6pm. All tables have a sea view.The cuisine is eclectic and features Thai, Bajan and Classic French dishes.
manchester, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great sunset views and delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stumbled upon this resteraunt looking for early evening snack and some drinks. The owner was very charming and welcoming. We had some appetisers and drinks and watched the sunset.
The food was very tasty, beatifully presented and the ambience was very relaxing.would love to return for full evening meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    65
    26
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bridgetown, Barbados
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“why i love Jumas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Was surprised by this very charming restaurant sitting by the sea, and then the food was really good too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Went here twice as it's that good. Ocean front with a great bar are to have pre-drinks. Friendly staff and tasty food. The starter we both went for on both occasions was baked scallops in a white wine, onion and garlic sauce with a cheese topping FAB.
Recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Pleasantly surprised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

My mum and I decided to give this restaurant a try. We were greeted by the owner who was extremely nice and accomodating. He allowed us to sit on the patio which was cooler and also to choose from the dinner menu at 2:30 in the afternoon. Excellent service, great food and good atmosphere. I will definitely dine there again in the near future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One to watch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stumbled upon Jumas whilst poking around Speightstown and decided to take up the owner's kind offer of a free taxi ride if we came back for dinner. What a find! Beautifully situated overlooking the sea and clearly had some serious investment in the fit out, the real star of the show was the quality of the food. Owner Mark was a great host, and our initial fears about being his only table that night were soon dispelled as the restaurant began to fill up. I had the slow cooked oxtail which was superb, and all nine of us really enjoyed the food, the vibe and the cocktails. Highly recommend you try this place, it is quite new and I have no doubt that it has a bright future, so get in quick before the crowds descend and the waiting list for a booking gets in the way!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jumas Restaurant also viewed

Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
 
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Jumas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jumas Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.