We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the banana four ways” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jumas Restaurant

Jumas Restaurant
2 West End Queen Street | Speightstown, Speightstown BB1100, Barbados
+1 246-432-0232
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 21 Restaurants in Speightstown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French, Caribbean, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Jumas is an ocean front restaurant in Speightstown, Barbados. It is open for lunch from 12pm every day, through to 6pm, and open for dinner from 6pm. All tables have a sea view.The cuisine is eclectic and features Thai, Bajan and Classic French dishes.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Try the banana four ways”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Excellent food. Real competition for the other top restaurants along this piece of coastline, and that is praise indeed. Worth booking, to make sure you get one of the tables right on the edge, looking out to sea, though all the tables get a pretty spectacular view.

The night we visited, there were staff troubles and the service was slow, though it is no hardship to wait when the view and atmosphere are as good as this. The owner was very apologetic, and I expect service is generally much quicker.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    86
    39
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“New restaurant that deserves to succeed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Jumas has only been open a few weeks but deserves to do well if it keeps up the standards we enjoyed last night. The setting is lovely, overlooking the beach, the welcome was friendly and we all enjoyed our food very much. A relaxing evening (don't be in a hurry for your meal, it's all freshly cooked). The only downside is that Speightstown is a ghost town at night so it's a bit creepy. Park in the shopping mall car park opposite.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A great addition to Speightstown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

If you are staying locally then this restaurant is worth eating at. If you are staying a little further away consider travelling here to eat. Great location, water front dining in a town which is less hectic than Holetown. The owner is very friendly, service is excellent and the food good. We were 3 adults and 1 child. Had 2 bottles of wine a starter and main each and shared a desert. The bill came to £160. Which is reasonable by Barbados standards. The menu is imaginative yet has something for everyone. Only mild criticism was I had the fish cakes with Thai sweet chilli sauce. Then I had the catch of the day which was drizzled in a very similar sauce. Both starter and main ended up tasting the same but was still very nice. Overall worth a visit, great restaurant.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great new owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Having stayed In Speightstown for the past 5years, we were happy to hear a new owner has taken over the former Mangos spot. We've had 4 meals there and each one was fabulous. Owner Mark is quite friendly and helpful, and is willing to accommodate where possible.

The fish cakes are the best we've had in the island, but everything else is served to perfection. Wonderful Thai options as well.....

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge uk
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We found this little restaurant whilst exploring through Speightstown and weren't disappointed. It occupies the premises of a former restaurant and hasn't been open that long. The restaurant is upstairs on a verandah overlooking the beach. We had lunch there and returned for dinner another evening. On both occasions the food, wine and service were excellent and the atmosphere is friendly. It's not too epensive either (certainly by Barbadian standards!) Can highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jumas Restaurant also viewed

Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
 
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Jumas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jumas Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.