We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly quality spot in Speightstown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orange Street Grocer

Orange Street Grocer
Orange Street, Speightstown, Barbados
+1 246-419-0838
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 18 Restaurants in Speightstown
Cuisines: Pizza, Contemporary, International, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Barbados
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Friendly quality spot in Speightstown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

There is not much to choose from in Speghtstown so when I discovered this spot I was eager to try it. I've been 3 times now. 1st - take out Latte - well done - it is not too easy to get a good espresso based drink on the island. 2nd - family breakfast for 6. Good food and classic North American options as well as some local fare. The only problem is that we arrived just as they opened and with only one staff taking orders, making lattes, running the cash AND cooking - well it was (understandably) slow. As other staff arrived it pickedup nicely. Had their Beet, Almond and Goat Cheese salad today - Excellent. The owner is great and very friendly. Get a table on the outside for excellent views of the Speightstown Esplanade and the ocean.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    62
    22
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Ambiance... a little pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Orange street Grocer is situated in a lovely quiet spot in Speighstown. The owner and staff are courteous. My only gripe was value for money.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great spot in Speightstown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Definitely the place to visit after or before the Arlington Museum. The pizzas are really nice, and the outdoor tables give a great view of the sea.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

As stated above this is a great place to visit for lunch. The rum punch is great as were the pizza's. A great place to visit after a dive trip with Reefers & Wreckers next door ;-)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were looking forward to having a lovely coffee here-just a short walk from Port St Charles. We paid for fresh coffee prices and received instant. I had ordered a latte but received an instant coffee with milk. I sent it back demanding at least a little froth which I did receive but there was no mistaking the bitter taste of instant coffee. They do have an espresso machine but I can only guess that the staff that day thought instant was easier.
The cafe is situated in a great spot looking over the sea and is decorated tastefully so we were very disappointed. The family on the table next to us had ordered pizza and were incredibly frustrated with a very long wait. When we had finished we went up to the till to pay and had to wait 30 mins to pay our bill. We could have walked out without paying and it would have gone unnoticed. When the waitress behind the bar finally stopped ignoring us we were then overcharged!
Management need to look at their staff.....

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orange Street Grocer also viewed

Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
 
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
 

Been to Orange Street Grocer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orange Street Grocer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.