We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise On The West Coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cobblers Cove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cobblers Cove to your Saves list
Cobblers Cove
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Speightstown, Barbados   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
All Inclusive Supplement
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Speightstown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Paradise On The West Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I just returned home from a 10 night trip to Barbados, 3 of the nights were spent in the jewel of the west coast Cobblers Cove. The sophisticated British feel cant be matched right down to high tea time. If you are looking for total relaxation in a gorgeous setting this is the place. The hotel is intimate and charming, which makes it possible for all the staff to know you by name which is always a nice feeling. The food is excellent as well as the drinks. The rooms are beautiful with relaxing colors that help provide for a restful night sleep. The bartenders and restaurant staff are wonderful and pay great attention to detail. My visit was a welcome retreat after coming from the more active South Coast. I enjoyed my visit thoroughly

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful, you cant go wrong with any that you choose, however couples will love any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    57
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
68
179
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Best hotel in Barbados without a doubt; mid size boutique hotel, amazing restaurant and food, amazing tropical garden, amazing service, best beach nearby, beautiful beachfront suites. While walking the coast, we saw many different hotels (including those top rated) and Cobblers Cove is by far the best choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

From the moment we arrived at Cobblers Cove we knew we'd landed in paradise. The property itself boasts a fascinating history and its heritage is mirrored in the very British feel throughout. Our room, ocean view 1st floor, was modern and well appointed with all the extras you'd expect from a hotel of this standard.

Sitting on the balcony first thing in the morning we were visited by small birds and even a monkey or two! If you're not inclined to pay for the ocean view I can't imagine you'd suffer - the garden is divine The pool area also boasts an ocean view and there's ample sun loungers to accommodate all.

While the hotel itself is stunning our trip was sensational thanks to the warm and courteous staff that cared for our every need during our stay. Will and his team have got it so right. Nothing is too much trouble.

I highly recommend being adventurous and snorkelling on the reef to the left of the hotel. We spent a few hours out there exploring and came back with a bounty of conch shells! The water sports team kindly arranged to have them cleaned and we now have a very special reminder of our stay. Taking the complimentary water skiing lessons is also a must! What great fun we had with Bradley our expert coach.

We also booked in for the Market Tour with Chef Michael. By far the most enjoyable experience we had during our stay. This man is truly legendary, what a character. He took us to Bridgetown and guided us through the fresh fish and produce markets. Introducing us to stall holders and local delicacies this is a tour any foodie must try. En route back to the hotel we stopped into a couple of rum shops - think local neighbourhood bars - where we sampled yet more local dishes and of course some of the island's Mount Gay Rum!

Whether you're after a relaxing escape or an island adventure Cobblers Cove will make your stay on Barbados the stuff of dreams.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We recently had the opportunity to stay at Cobblers Cove in Barbados. Our experience started when we asked for the hotel to arrange "fast track" on arrival, we were met and whisked through immigration - collected our baggage and quickly on our way to the hotel. On arrival we were given the best rum punches I have tasted for years then taken off to our room. We stayed in a ground floor garden suite "Quintyne" which was close to all the amenities and also had a sea view, certainly a room I would book again. The hotel is well run and all the staff are very attentive.
All staff took their time to remember your name and room.
I would certainly recommend a stay at Cobblers Cove, magic in the Caribbean.

Room Tip: Room 5, Quintyne was close to all amenities and had good Wi-Fi reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This is our fourth visit to Barbados, and we stayed in different West Coast resorts each time. They all have different strengths, but Cobblers Cove is our favorite. We stayed in room 27, which opens out onto the beautiful gardens. There is a modern, well appointed bedroom with an excellent shower, (no bathtub) and beautiful local art work on the walls. The outer room, with its lounge chairs, minibar, coffee machine, becomes part of the garden; that is the advantage of a ground floor garden room. We hope to reserve exactly the same room in our next visit. The service is really superb. By our second day, many members of the staff knew our names. The manager spoke to us daily. July is off-season in Barbados, so we got reduced rates, with breakfast included. Great, full English breakfast! The resort was very quiet, which suits us fine.(High season might be different, of course) I will review the restaurant separately, but it is gourmet quality. Really exceptional food. The beach is very safe and swimmable, and there is decent snorkeling available close to shore; to be fair, though, there are prettier beaches on the island. We plan to return next year. For more detail, read ColdCava's review, which is dead on, and excellent. One additional fact, though, to get to Holetown or Bridgetown from Cobblers Cove, it is silly to pay for a cab. The buses run frequently, and cost ONE U.S. dollar each way.

Room Tip: First floor, garden room. WiFi is better closer to the pool, but the rooms near ours (27) feel a tad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

On Tuesday, my boyfriend and i returned home from the holiday that dreams are made of which we credit to this magical hotel and the staff there.

A week before we left my boyfriend surprised me with a trip to Barbados, which was fantastic in itself, but when he mentioned that we would be staying at CC i was overwhelmed as i used to stay there in my younger years with my family and had lots of fond memories there.
On the flight over i started to get concerned that i had over exaggerated my previous stays there and that my childhood memory would not match reality…how wrong was i?

When we arrived we were greeted personally by the hotel Manager who was very welcoming and lead us through the beautiful gardens to the Great House through to the bar where we had cocktails ready. While our bags were being delivered to our rooms we had the chance to take in the amazing scenery which consisted of the lapping ocean against the foot of the airy, old english restaurant, the bright blue pool surrounded by lush, pristine gardens and the sandy beach stretching round to the local town. It really is such perfection.

We were lead to a ground floor sea view room called 'Bartletts' which had a large living room with a pull out sofa, bathroom, small kitchen and very generous bedroom. The bedroom was very well air conditioned which really acted as a haven from the humidity and made it a lot easier getting ready in the evening. I have noticed that a few reviews say that the bathroom could use updating but it wasn't something that bothered us, the shower, bath and taps worked and it was always cleaned immaculately. Our little garden was the highlight, perfect for early morning coffee in your bathrobes discussing the days activities. It is fairly private, sheltered by beautiful looming plants and trees.

The food at the restaurant is really beyond excellence. The Chef Michael Harrison is nothing short of a genius. The portions are generous and always delicious. I would suggest having the soups, chowders and or bisques if they make an appearance on the ever changing menu as every one we had was exemplary.
We did actually eat out 60% of the time as we wanted to try out some other credited restaurants on the island and although i would suggest trying some local places we actually regret not squeezing in a few more dinners at CC as it honestly was the best food we had.

One night my partner secretly organised a private beach dinner for the two of us which most of the hotel staff knew about. We were lead down the side of the hotel past the restaurant and down to a table surrounded by candles, steel drum band and Michael Harrison himself to greet us. It was so romantic i almost keeled over. We watched the sunset while eating the most stunning 5 course meal. Michael was there the whole time just behind us cooking the meal and explaining everything we were eating, there was so much attention to detail and everything was so perfectly prepared and on top of it all Michael is such a great guy, very friendly and always smiling. At the end of the meal my partner of 5 years proposed to me and i couldn't have been happier with how it was done, it was so romantic and beautiful i couldn't have asked for anything more. I felt very lucky :) The hotel staff even covered our hotel apartment with rose petals…a lot of them!
I think these meals can be organised with the reception before for visit and i would 110% recommend for a dreamy romantic evening.

The bar staff are also so friendly and lovely…Pearson is one bar tender that i remember from my vists 10 years ago! he tried to convince me that it was his first day but i remembered him well :) lovely guy!

The manager also holds cocktail evenings every Tuesday (i may be wrong on the day) at the bar where all the guts get a chance to meet. Unfortunately my 'fiancée' and i had made dinner reservations a The Cliff but we did swing by on our way and got a chance to meet Hotel Manager Will and his wife Henry who were so sweet and congratulated us on the engagement.

All in all our stay was not only exactly how i remembered it but surpassed my expectations. There are other credited hotels on the island which we visited for lunch ect but none had the charming personality and attention to detail that you get from Cobblers Cove.

We are looking forward to spending our anniversary's there ;)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We booked an ocean front suite, which is literally several steps from the ocean. The grounds were lush and very tropical and the resort was small enough that you really feel like you get very personalized treatment. It's worth taking advantage of many of the activities and services the hotel can arrange (as I'll get to the highlight of our entire trip after detailing some of the room features).

From what I can tell, most of the rooms have the same layout and the difference in room type is location. We paid a premium to be right on the ocean and took advantage of our sunset views during the evening hours. Rooms further back seem to be similar in size and layout, although if you are on the ground level you have patio facing the central area of the property. You will note from many reviews that only the bedrooms are air conditioned. In talking with some other folks who stayed elsewhere on the island, this was also the case at other properties. Additionally, it made sense as the living room was meant to be completely open air during the day, where the louvered doors slide back to open the entire living room to the patio in the back. It would have been terribly energy inefficient to condition this part of the suite. Plus comfort at night is most important and you could get the room pretty chilly should you want. A hallway with closets, safe, etc ran alongside the back of the living room and connected the bedroom with the bathroom. You could keep your personal items locked in the bedroom (doors locked separately) and leave your living room wide open during the day. The suite was very spacious, and aside from birds/other things that chirped, it was pretty quiet at night. Note that rooms have no TV's although wifi is available throughout the resort. BYO entertainment. There is a separate game/tv room, which from the exterior did not look like much, but was actually pretty nice inside. Wimbledon being the popular thing on TV of the week we were there.

Food is served in the main restaurant which is open air facing the ocean, and breakfast is not to be missed (especially since it is included in the room rate). It's a really good breakfast. Just ask the birds. (They'll be joining you). I'd also recommend the restaurant as well for other meals (one particular lunch in particular that I'll get to). Additionally, there is a full bar that supports the pool and restaurant, and serves a good rum punch. Afternoon tea is served on a small patio behind the bar. Different items everyday, although hot tea in 90deg F weather is a bit tough.

Behind our suite down very short path is the watersports area - I think it was called 'Bradley's' - you can schedule a short boat ride at no cost, daily, and there are a number of other complimentary watersports options, sailing, snorkling, etc. The beach is fairly minimal near the property, however as close as the pool deck is to the water, it's actually a really nice setup to set up camp on a recliner in the pool deck area, and then walk the 10 feet down the steps into the water when you want. There is a reef with a lot of tropical fish literally 15 yards out in the water. If you extend your snorkeling too far out, the concern becomes other watercraft and whether they see you. The watersports team can also take you down to the area that the sea turtles swim which was fun.

By far though, the best add on activity we booked was a Market Tour with Chef Michael Harrison which is run on Saturdays, I believe. The concept is that you go and visit the markets with Chef Michael and he introduces you to local purveyors of seafood, vegetables, meats, etc., you shop for ingredients and then he makes lunch for you the following day. It's really all of that and more. For us, it ended up being just Michael, my wife and I on the Market tour. We got in the Cobblers Cove van and drove to Bridgetown (30 min or so) and got to know the chef better, where he got his start, etc. Beyond being a great chef, he is also one of the most personable / likeable people you will meet. We started out at the fish market in Bridgetown where we picked out some seafood for our lunch and party he was cooking for in the evening. For some of the fish, he had the fishmongers break down the fish on site, which was some amazing knife work. Once we had our score from the fish market, we headed over to the main market house. There we met many of the vendors Chef has worked with and saw a lot of the fresh vegetables that are being grown on Barbados, along with some discussions on what was imported, etc. There was a lot of good produce we selected grown locally. Then we went upstairs and got some sampling of local cuising from the food stalls.. Some salt cod fritters, marlin cutters and curried roti were sampled before heading through the butcher aisle to have a pork chop sliced off for my wife.

After that, which was a pretty full morning, we took a quick drive through Bridgetown to then head up in the hills for a full lunch at a local Rum Shop. This was great. Small local bar where you order a small bottle of Rum, a bottle or two of Coke, a bucket of ice, and some cups. Then you just relax and make rum and cokes (while watching the World Cup in our case). Chef Michael also orders lunch (yeah the cutters/roti wasn't really lunch) which, at these rum shops on a Saturday, consists of a local dish called Souse - along with some fried pork chops and all the accompaniments. Apparently, we had a slightly tamer version of the dish which usually usually includes a lot of off-cuts of pork, ours was mainly shoulder, but still quite tasty. Chef Michael then drove us back to Cobblers Cove where we were content to lay by the pool and relax for a while. No rush to head out to dinner.

The following lunch, Chef Michael had a demonstration table with some propane burners and all the mise-en-place set up to cook our lunch in front of us. We recognized a lot of the purchases we made the day before, although the veg had been prepped and everything ready to cook. You could see other patrons arriving for lunch and wanting to take part, or curious what was going on. After preparing our meals (which was the best meal we had during our trip) Michael made a plate for himself, ordered a round of wine, and joined us at our table for lunch. I hope I'm not giving away too many secrets here, but it is truly a one of a kind experience that really connects you to a property and an islands cuisine. It is an activity that is somewhat buried on the hotels website, but if you are there for a Saturday/Sunday, and it is available, it's a must-do. I can't thank Chef Michael enough for the experience that Saturday and lunch Sunday.

There were no real hiccups at the hotel, we played tennis one morning, and then used the gym the following morning, which are both across the street.

The hotel is close to Speightstown to the north, almost walkable, and Holetown to the south (a cab ride or drive if you have a rental). It's not a far drive to St. Nicolas Abbey, a plantation house/museum/rum distillery that is worth checking out, if not for the rum sampling (which is excellent) but for the movie documenting life on the island around 1930. I'm now almost reviewing other stuff.. Bottom line is that Cobblers Cove is a pretty decent location for restaurants and tourism, but maybe a bit far away from nightclub/nightlife of the St Lawrence Gap/Oistens. Still doable, but a $100 cab ride (Barbados Dollar) each way.

Would recommend for couples, people looking to relax, foodies..

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cobblers Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobblers Cove

Address: Speightstown, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Peter Parish > Speightstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Speightstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cobblers Cove 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury boutique resort combines Caribbean style and beauty with gracious English country living. Set amongst beautifully landscaped gardens with breathtaking coastal views, the beachside hotel has 40 suites, each individually decorated and open to the ocean and tropical garden surroundings. As a member of the prestigious Relais & Chateaux group, Cobblers Cove prides itself on its impeccable service and elegant Caribbean charm. The hotel's restaurant, The Camelot, serves island-inspired gourmet dishes made with the finest local produce. Lead by Executive Chef Michael Harrison, who has previously trained under Michel Roux Jr. At Le Gavroche in London, The Camelot was recently awarded the highly-coveted BHTA Restaurant of the Year award. Popular with couples and families alike, the resort offers a whole repertoire of activities and facilities. Thrill-seeking children and adults can enjoy complimentary watersports each day, including water skiing, sailing, kayaking and windsurfing. For golfers, Cobblers Cove has a privilege system in place at the Royal Westmoreland Golf and Country Club. For those seeking serenity and relaxation, the Sea Moon Spa offers an extensive treatment list from skincare specialists REN and Sothys, providing the perfect setting for a touch of holiday pampering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Regatta Hotels, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Cobblers Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobblers Cove Hotel Barbados
Cobblers Cove Barbados/Saint Peter Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cobblers Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.