We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cobblers Cove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cobblers Cove to your Saves list
Cobblers Cove
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Speightstown, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
7 nights for price of 5
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Speightstown
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Huge disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from what was meant to be the holiday of a lifetime, our first time in Barbados and over £12,000 for 10 days we were expecting something special.
The first thing we noticed immediately was nearly all the guests were at least 80+ complete with wheelchairs, Zimmer frames and walking sticks! We were the youngest by a long way.
We had Room 1 which was billed as being a deluxe ocean view room on the ground floor. This was very dated and in need of modernisation. Yes we had an ocean view but by 7am our view was obscured by sun loungers on the decking immediately snapped up by the aged guests giving no privacy to our room during daylight hours.
The air con consisted of a large ugly unit on the bedroom wall which fed the bedroom only, there was no air con to the bathroom or dressing area making getting ready to go out in the evening very uncomfortable. The ceiling fan to the living area was sufficient.
We did however find all the staff to be exceptionally friendly, the concierge was limited and did not give the impression that they were being used to arrange transport / restaurant reservation for guests on a regular basis.
The restaurant was exceptional with a daily changing menu and superb staff, the food was some of the best we experienced during our whole stay.
The beach was very narrow and not wide enough for sunbeds, the hotel was advertised as having beds on the beach along with a drink/snack service..... This was not the case nor around the pool.
Whilst away I was celebrating a milestone birthday which the hotel were made aware of, this was not acknowledged in any way..... A complete contrast to my husbands birthday in the Maldives in which we were both made to feel like royalty.
The management were aware of our dissatisfaction and offered us the opportunity to look at another room, we pointed out this would not get away from the fact that we were staying in an old people's home..... The manager advised us their clientele is generally the older generations who return year after year..... This explained one guests naming of 'hobblers cove'
We did want to find alternative accommodation but we were advised their 7 night cancellation policy would apply which was clearly unacceptable.
A very disappointing stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair F, General Manager at Cobblers Cove, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We would like to thank the reviewer very much for the kind comments relating to the food and the service aspects of their stay with us. We want to put the record straight on the sun bed and beach issues raised. We do not lay out sun beds on our beach. Our staff are always on hand to place sun beds wherever on the beach the guests would like to be. We have a lovely beach to the north side of the hotel adjacent to our sun deck where many guests like to spend lazy days being pampered by our beach and poolside staff. When the sea is very rough there are days when the space can be limited and the beach is quite narrow, but for the most part there is plenty of space, and guests can even snorkel directly off the beach. we do have adequate sun beds for all our guests. We are sorry we missed your birthday and if you would like to come back for dinner next year we will be happy to offer you a bottle of champagne to celebrate next time. Thanks again for your feedback and hope to see you again. Best wishes from all of us at Cobblers Cove, Alistair, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    45
    11
    8
    3
See reviews for
59
158
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We spent a wonderful holiday at Cobblers Cove last year, my three sons thoroughly enjoyed swimming in the pool, building sandcastles on the beach and learning to Waterski. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff who tried to make everything absolutely perfect for us. The food was delicious - we especially enjoyed the BBQ night! The cocktails by the pool overlooking the sunset were wonderful and we all had a fantastic and relaxing holiday!
I could go on and on...the boys played tennis on the courts at night (the hotel can arrange for lessons). The hotel arranged for us to swim with turtles which was incredible! We didn't want to leave at all - it was a relaxing and memorable holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from an eight night stay at Cobblers Cove, it was our first time in Barbados and having read the reviews for the hotel we had high expectations. For us sadly, it was a huge disappointment. Firstly let me say this is not a bad Hotel, it is an okay Hotel , the rooms are okay the service is okay and the location is okay but with a price tag of around £500 a night we expected more than okay - we expected a great location, great rooms and great service or at least one of those...

Location- the Hotel is situated about 45 minutes from Bridgetown and 15 minutes from Hole town which is where most of the Hotels, bars and restaurants are located, which means taxi rides to get anywhere - these ranged from around £20-50 for a round trip. There is a frequent bus service for less than a pound but we only used that in the daytime. The stretch of beach on which the Hotel is situated on is quite narrow and not very long consequently there are no sun loungers on the beach which is something we normally enjoy.

Rooms- the rooms are spacious, but as others have commented ,are really quite basic and certainly in no way luxurious. The bathroom was not good with an over small bath shower,plastic toilet seat, and shelves. Our bathroom definitely needed upgrading. We were allocated Room 23 which was a ground floor room, unfortunately the bedroom and bathroom look onto a large wall which makes it quite dark, the wall is on the main road which means you can also hear the noise of the traffic....not quite what we expected. We did ask to be moved and they offered us an upper room on the same block but as it had no access to the outdoor area we declined. The area to the front of the room was nice. The Hotel were very limited in what they could offer us as they have lots elderly return guests who have been going for many years and they book up their favourite rooms a year in advance. This unfortunately means the less popular rooms are given to newcomers like ourselves. The rooms located nearer the beach all looked brighter and of course did not have to contend with the traffic noises so if you are going I would make sure you book one of those.

Service - The reception staff and cleaning staff were fine but the rest of the areas could definitely be improved. The staff were mostly friendly and nice ( with one or two exceptions) but there is an absence of professionalism - having to pour your own wine, flat coke in drinks, having to go the bar to order drinks as there was no pool side service around, fishing the stickers from the lemon out of your drink as they haven't taken it off, ( putting lemon in a mojito anyway!!) being asked for your room number 3 times over breakfast, getting something wrong or forgetting something every single day at breakfast, not having enough sun beds by the pool, having to go to the room for towels as they had run out at the pool, running out of yoghurt and having under ripe fruit for breakfast ...and a particularly annoying pet hate of ours ...allowing guests to reserve sun beds. I really could go on for pages but it gives an idea- I realise these might seem like small petty things but if you get enough of them on the one day it is very irritating and is not indicative of a quality Hotel. If these kind of things don't bother you then you will be fine.

The communal areas and gardens were nice, there is a small pool with sun beds but not really enough for the amount of guests. We always got a sun bed but it was becoming an issue for some of the other guests as some of the return guests seemed to get up very early to reserve their favoured position!!

The breakfasts were okay, we only ate one night in the restaurant which again was okay but the service was not too good. We had much nicer food elsewhere on the island for the same kind of price or cheaper.

As I said at the start of this review this is not a bad Hotel,but for us, it was in no way ,shape, or form value for money which is why we have rated it poorly. We do not know it this is all you get for your money in Barbados, what we do know is what £500 a night can buy elsewhere in the world and this Hotel cannot even start to compete. Whilst we were there the vast majority of the other guests were elderly English people who obviously love it as they return year after year which is great news for the Hotel. We, needless to say will not be returning and could not recommend it to anyone we know.I wish it had been different.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair F, General Manager at Cobblers Cove, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thanks very much for your honest and open review of Cobblers Cove. Its disappointing to read your review as it seems there was so much in it that was so easily fixable with a little more care and attention from the team. We would love to have you come back and stay again and have a better experience. Please do email me directly at alistair@cobblerscove.com and I would be happy to arrange a complimentary stay for you. Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to hearing from you soon. Alistair, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is our second visit to cobblers cove. It really is beautiful. Like coral, it's little imperfections make it what it is- perfect.
If you are a status driven, show off- try sandy lane. If you have taste, know what's really important in life- try cobblers cove!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILTON KEYNES, UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Just spent the weekend here and would have loved to have stayed longer. Spacious rooms with good facilities and very efficient air con. Right on the beach - and what a beach it is, not just your gently lapping gorgeous pink thing, but an invigorating yet warm and rock-free indulgence. Speaking of indulgences, residents have complimentary afternoon teas - forget the delicate sandwiches and savour those cakes!!! The biggest decision you'll make all day is how many can I eat and still be able to enjoy my beachfront dinner.

ps Oh, and the best bit, only 42 rooms

Room Tip: All the rooms looked good to us, two-storey bungalows neatly arranged around a colourful garden; I g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

When choosing where to spend a week over Christmas with my boyfriend somewhere warm, we stumbled across Cobbler's Cove. Immediately we were convinced that it would be exactly what we were looking for, and so we booked with high expectations. Having come back from the holiday, I was compelled to contribute to the host of positive reviews on this hotel, to tell others how it exceeded my expectations. As a busy 20-something year old working in London, it was the perfect break. The hotel is beautiful beyond words, large spacious rooms like mini-apartments with big balconies with deck chairs overlooking the gardens. The poolside was the perfect place to sit in shade or sun, reading a book while drinking refreshments and waiting for lunch to be served. The food was spectacular. Fresh fish and lobster everyday, and each day something different is served under the specials. It wasn't cheap, but worth every penny. If you can afford to eat out in London the prices are similar. And don't be alarmed, it's in Barbados dollars not US.

I have no complaints and feel confident that I made the best choice in staying at the Cobbler's Cove. I would definitely return, perhaps for my honeymoon. And highly recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: I spent all day admiring the sea, so choose a garden view room for a romantic view at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I've had the good fortune to travel fairly extensively, but until now have never been compelled to write a review.

For context, we travelled as a family group of 12 (8 adults with 2 grandparents and 6 adults 25-35 along with 4 kids under 5). Our group seemed fairly typical of the demographic here, which mainly seems to consist of families and some couples, many of whom were returning to Cobblers. We visited for 2 weeks in total from December 23rd to Jan 4th (leaving today).

I'm not going to spend too much time commenting on the setting. Suffice it to say that it is postcard perfect.

What makes Cobblers really stand out are the team of people working at the hotel and the effect that their attitude and the intimate setting has on the overall atmosphere.

Cobblers is a place where everyone working at the hotel knows your name, smiles and says hello, wishes you a great day, and is prepared to go above and beyond to make your stay perfect. And I would point out that this is at every level, from Alistair the GM and his mgmt team of Scarlette, Patrick, Philip and Michael the Exec Chef to the team on the ground. For families visiting, we found the babysitting services excellent, and used Lisa every night that we were here. You often see the true colours of a place when there is a problem, and we had everything from a sick baby at midnight on Christmas Eve for whom the entire staff on duty mobilised and brought in a doctor (Dr. Gregory Critchlow is excellent as well) to room changes which were managed flawlessly.

It was our first time visiting, but somehow you feel as if you've been coming forever and it makes you want to come back again (and we have already booked for next year).

This friendly environment extends to the guests. Everyone talks around the pool, shares their toys, offer tips, has drinks at the bar etc...
We met several people whom we hope to stay in touch with.

Overall, I think that Cobblers is a great place if you want a beautiful, relaxing, intimate setting with very friendly people. It is very kid friendly at this time of year, so couples should take that into consideration, and the night life at the hotel is relaxed so those looking for buzz onsite should also take that into consideration (though Holetown is just down the road).

A big thank you to the team, and see you next year.

Tim,
London.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cobblers Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobblers Cove

Address: Speightstown, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Peter Parish > Speightstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Speightstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cobblers Cove 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury boutique resort combines Caribbean style and beauty with gracious English country living. Set amongst beautifully landscaped gardens with breathtaking coastal views, the beachside hotel has 40 suites, each individually decorated and open to the ocean and tropical garden surroundings. As a member of the prestigious Relais & Chateaux group, Cobblers Cove prides itself on its impeccable service and elegant Caribbean charm. The hotel's restaurant, The Camelot, serves island-inspired gourmet dishes made with the finest local produce. Lead by Executive Chef Michael Harrison, who has previously trained under Michel Roux Jr. At Le Gavroche in London, The Camelot was recently awarded the highly-coveted BHTA Restaurant of the Year award. Popular with couples and families alike, the resort offers a whole repertoire of activities and facilities. Thrill-seeking children and adults can enjoy complimentary watersports each day, including water skiing, sailing, kayaking and windsurfing. For golfers, Cobblers Cove has a privilege system in place at the Royal Westmoreland Golf and Country Club. For those seeking serenity and relaxation, the Sea Moon Spa offers an extensive treatment list from skincare specialists REN and Sothys, providing the perfect setting for a touch of holiday pampering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Cobblers Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobblers Cove Hotel Barbados
Cobblers Cove Barbados/Saint Peter Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cobblers Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.