We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mango's By The Sea - CLOSED

Mango's By The Sea
Speightstown, Speightstown, Barbados
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Truckee, California, United States
1 review
“I love this restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

The outside patio downstairs is right on the ocean The view upstairs is spectacular, The drinks delightful and our dinners were the best food I have ever had! The lobster bisque was so flavorful. The rib dinner was so tender and the sauce was excellent. Our waitress was friendly and attentive. On a second visit I had the Blackened King Fish - also the best Bajan seasoned fish I've ever had.

The mural that is in progress is amazing, fine art, beautiful! I can't recommend this restaurant enough.
If go you'll love it too!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    5
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
birmingham uk
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Don't let it slip”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I have visited this restaurant loyally for the last 7 years, and always spend well, yet the owner, Pierre still finds it difficult to welcome you back? Last night the restaurant had only 7 diners, we were shocked, but after waiting for our food we fou d out why, the starter - lobster bisque used to be the best on the island, yesterday it tasted very poor and looked bright red, the main - famous ribs, yes the meat dropped off the bone but into a sauce which was rather average, my ooh la la duck, lacked the ooh la la. The staff tried hard, and were very pleasant, but I'm afraid I will not be returning any time soon, as there are now better restaurants to visit with similar pricing, happier manager/owners, and better food.
For two soups and two main courses our bill was 300 dollars, this is high considering the quality of the food.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip to Speightstown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We have never heard of Mangos as they don't advertise in the usual places but we were taken by some friends who had been before. It's right in the centre of ST and doesn't greet you well. However once you go up the stairs to the bar, dining area and art gallery its a transformation. They are busy doing some redevelopment (which didn't intrude on our experience) which will certainly benefit the place. This includes dining downstairs on the beach and the production of a huge mural on the side of an adjacent disused warehouse. It will be worth another visit just to see the finished mural. The setting of the bar and dining area (once inside) is idyllic and the staff very friendly. They have both a standard menu and a daily specials board. It falls between casual and elegant dining and that extends to the prices that are reasonable rather than cheap. We will go again.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Creative cuisine in a unique old town and on the sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Pierre Spenard is the proprietor of this very special seaside restaurant in Speightstown, St.Peter.
He is a superb chef and creates the dishes offered on his small but enticing menus.
Try the savory fresh crab brûlée to start-absolutely delicious and subtle flavours-followed by the medley of seafood lightly grilled served with a vegetable salsa and basmati rice.The wine list is also moderate but with something for everyone to enjoy.
Sitting on the balcony overlooking a beautiful beach and the calm Caribbean sea is icing on this special cake.
Apart from being a brilliant and creative chef, Pierre is an entrepreneur with an amazing talent and he is almost single-handedly transforming this wonderful and quaint old town on the calm Caribbean sea into a unique visitor experience.He has commissioned the famous Trompe L'Oeil artist, John Pugh of California, to paint and erect an 80 feet by 20 feet mural depicting the history of Barbados on a wall adjacent to his restaurant and which will form another aspect of this unique Barbadian dining experience.The work is in progress now and will be completed in March 2012.
Pierre will soon also establish an adjoining micro-brewery.
If you have time visit Speightstown and Mango's By The Sea and ask for Pierre.You will be entertained.
Speightstown was formally settled around 1630 and in the earliest days of Settlement was Barbados's busiest port . Ships laden with sugar and other commodities left Speightstown bound directly for London and especially Bristol. For this reason Speightstown is sometimes known as Little Bristol. The quaint town has now become the centre of a tourist area as well as a secondary shopping centre.
The area of Speightstown was the first major port and commercial centre of Barbados. The city is named after William Speight, a member of Barbados' first Assembly during the colonial years as well as the former land owner where the city is located. It has a long and colorful history reaching back to the 17th century when it served as one of the main ports connecting the island with the “mother country,” England. Back then Speightstown was sometimes called “Little Bristol” because of these trading connections with Bristol in England. This little village was the port that Ayscue could not take, when dispatched by Cromwell to quell the insurrection in Barbados in 1649. The Barbadians were loyal to Charles I, and would not accept Oliver Cromwell as their protector. For six months Ayscue was unable to land in Barbados, and concentrated attacks on Speightstown were repelled by the small forts along the shore.
The tiny island was landed only with the help of a defector who led Ayscue and his men to land at Oistins Town where they met with representatives of the island and signed what has become known as the "Charter of Barbados". Signed in 1652, the agreement gave Barbados rights and privileges unheard of in any other Island. In particular it guaranteed that Barbados could not be taxed without the consent of a Barbados General Assembly.
Many historic buildings dating from colonial times, including Arlington House, still remain standing in the town and can be seen mostly along Queen Street, Church Street and Orange Street. Speightstown saw a lot of activity during the reign of the sugar industry and the day of the slave trade. Many slaves would have passed through this town, even if they were to be shipped on further to other islands or America.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Unusually good food in an unlikely town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Very pleasant restaurant overlooking the sea in Speightstown, Barbados. Unusual cocktails made expertly, excellent cooking. I recommend highly.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mango's By The Sea also viewed

Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
 
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango's By The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.