We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All around perfect spot in the Gap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean 15 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean 15 Hotel to your Saves list
Ocean 15 Hotel
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Dover Gardens, St Lawrence Gap BB15028, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Canada
1 review
“All around perfect spot in the Gap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

We recently stayed at Ocean 11 on the pool side in a two bedroom apartment. The location was absolutely amazing being at the quieter end of the Gap. The abundance of activities in the area were easily accessible. The room contained everything that was needed and if not, the staff were so helpful and accommodating. Everyone was so friendly and outgoing making the trip unforgettable from making requests at the bar to finding out where and what to do on a particular day. We will definitely return which is tell-tale!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    56
    16
    4
    8
See reviews for
34
50
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania, Usa
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

We spent two nights before a cruise in early March in the Ocean 11 Apartment Hotel. The hotel is well located in the quieter end of St. Lawrence Gap in Christ Church, a few blocks and a comfortable walk from the restaurants and nightlife. The hotel has parking, a nice pool, a bar and a restaurant. The pool was normally uncrowded. The beach was a short walk away. The al fresco restaurant served breakfast through dinner every day. Although the menu was limited, our breakfasts were quite good.

Ocean 11 is an older hotel which provides good service and nice, functional accommodations. Our accommodation was a clean apartment with two bedrooms; a fully furnished kitchen with stove, microwave, and refrigerator; a small bathroom with shower; and a living room with a private patio area outside. The patio provided a table, four chairs, and a view of the pool area. The bedrooms were furnished with twin (single) beds, which could be pushed together for a king-sized bed. Maid service was provided. All of the equipment worked well, and we had sufficient hot water when showering. For the price, I doubt we could have found better accommodations anywhere in Barbados.

The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Ocean 11 was perfect for us, and we hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laxey, Isle of Man
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

Our stay with Lorraine and the gang was quite simply excellent. They could do no more to make us feel like family. Nothing was too much trouble. We had stayed the previous month down the road at 'Escape at the Gap' which is fine, but the food gets very tedious and you only tend to meet the people staying in the hotel, and we find that if everything is provided people don't go exploring the local area. At 'Oceans', you meet the world and his wife.

The food is excellent, the entertainment hilarious - especially if Buster is still doing Karaoke! and we expect to see daughter Abi on X Factor or I'll eat my hat.

The accomodation is basic but clean, and after all, do you go to barbados to stay in your room?

Beaches are so close, and in my opinion the best on the Island, beating the west coast hands down. We celebrated our daughter Katie's 21st whilst there and being so close to all the nightlife was great. Close enough to walk but not to hear - excellent for us oldies. None of us wanted to go home, we felt we were home!

It would be very sad indeed if places like this don't survive, with all the flashy condominiums and all-inclusive hotels taking up more and more space.

Don't go and sit with the snobs comparing income and lifestyle, go where it's 'real', meeting the locals on a daily basis, conributing to their income, instead of having them wait on you!

You can have a cracking, value for money holiday at Ocean's Eleven, and still feel virtuous, after all there is a recession on dear!

  • Liked — Feeling immediately that you were a valued guest.
  • Disliked — That we couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2008

me and friend stayed at ocean 11 for the first time, we have been and stayed at st lawrence gap 3 times prior, and i must say that this time we stayed was the best time we have had so far.
all the staff were amazing, they were so layed back with us, every time they saw us they would make sure we were ok.
i love them all so much i now class them as family.
i now say mummy LORRAINE, auntie LEIGH uncle MARK sister ABIGAIL,brother OLIVER, auntie LYNNE, they have the best service we could ask for, ask for RICKY when you want the best food in town, the fish cakes are amazing aswell as the chicken gougens, but every thing else is just as nice, they are just my favourites, they have the nicest friendliest made also. her name is DEL.
AND as for the bar mem, well what can i say, YUMMY, they (GORGEOUS) HA and soooo funny and and friendly wen ya want the best drink ask either PORTER, ANDREA, SHERWIN.
We would jus like to say that if you want the most layed back but funny holiday then stay ere, you wont regret it. PS its soo close to the beach that if you decide you want to get a few rays there then it only about a minute walk if that,
PPS, if you go stay you you may be staying with the new popstar ABIGAIL as she is in the barbados equilivant to X FACTOR, get her to sing you BECAUSE OF YOU, its a special song for me and my friend,
Take care every 1 at ocean 11 and hope to see you asap, lots of love CANDICE AND LISA XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

Great place to stay for those looking for inexpensive self catering accommodation. Nice pool with poolside restaurant and bar. Friendly staff and good mix of tourists, ex-pats and locals making it a relaxing and enjoyable place to stay. Extremely friendly atmosphere, great food and good conversation. Location is ideal. 2 minutes walk from Dover beach with beachside bars and watersports. Also a short walk from the night life of St Lawrence gap, but quiet late at night for those wishing to have a relaxing evening. We would definitely return again.
Marcel and Vicky, Leeds.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean 15 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean 15 Hotel

Address: Dover Gardens, St Lawrence Gap BB15028, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Specialty Lodging in St Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean 15 Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean15 is a family owned property offering traditional Barbadian warmth and hospitality. Recently refurbished, the hotel offers sixteen (16) impeccably furnished, luxury lifestyle rooms reflecting fine Barbadian decor, simple elegance and comfort. It is an excellently appointed facility designed to embrace families and business travelers, the adventurist or the individual looking for solitude. We are less than 5 minutes walking distance from the white sand and turquoise waters of Dover Beach and are located in the center of the renowned St Lawrence Gap, famous for its lively night life, wide variety of restaurants and bars and duty-free shopping. Within the Barbadian context, where luxury high end hotels are typically located on the West Coast of the island, the hotel has been described as "a West Coast experience on the South Coast." As such, we live up to our maxim "De Luxe for Less!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Regatta Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ocean 15 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean 15 Hotel Barbados/St Lawrence Gap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean 15 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.