We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sandals invests millions in advertisings but service is terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Barbados

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals Barbados to your Saves list
Sandals Barbados
St Lawrence Gap SN, St Lawrence Gap 0, Barbados (Formerly Couples Barbados All-Inclusive)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
End of Year Bonus Offer!
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in St Lawrence Gap
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“sandals invests millions in advertisings but service is terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Sandals resorts offer a lot in their advertisements but when you stay in their resorts
and need to contact someone in order to fix a problem nobody can help you.
There are better resorts that offer much more for the same price.
We contacted customer service but there is no such customer service
Since we could not receive any response from customer service we contacted the
hotel manager who gave us the email of tammy gonzalez who supposedly the vice president of the sandals corporation, she offered to fix the problems but it was all lies.
This corporation is not own by a U.S. Company so don't expect much from them.
Sandals ruined our vacation

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Barbados, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Dear Adian,
Thank you for your review. I am deeply disappointed to note after the many attempts by our staff to resolve your concerns, that you were still not completely satisfied with all the possible solutions suggested by the Reservations team. We always handle each customer with the utmost care but we are respectful of the opinions you have expressed and recognize that one person’s specific experience can only be judged by that individual. We appreciate all of your feedback and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or confusion experienced throughout this ordeal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    109
    42
    20
    9
See reviews for
8
207
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Loved every single min , also if you need to hire a car Triple A's 8272134- excellent rates also taxi service.i got picked up from airport took to hotel where I was greeted with rum punch,then called driver to take me on a tour went to Harrison cave brilliant! I love these people and place I'm gonna buy a place here!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We were supposed to stay at Sandal Barbados for 2 weeks at the end of April, beginning of May. We found out by chance that the resort was closing for renovations. We were not contacted by Sandals. We were given the choice (once I contacted our travel agent) to book another Sandals and we selected Sandal Grande St. Lucian. Our reservations at the Barbados was for a 1 bedroom suite. We were given confirmation that we were to have a 1 bedroom butler suite in St. Lucia but that did not happen until the second week. Our room for the first week was not acceptable. This was our 5th vacation at Sandals. We met several couples who were had their vacations cancelled at the Barbados and not only were they given room upgrades but any additional flight costs were covered by Sandals. We had to pay an additional flight cost of $500.00 to accommodate this cancellation. We were also treated like we were not entitled to a 1 bedroom suite at the Grande as they did not feel we had paid enough for the trip to warrant that. I am very disappointed in Sandal over the entire situation. This was our 41st anniversary and until we met Winston (the new general manager at the Grande) which was only by chance did our 2nd week become what we had expected. Has Sandals become about $$$$ and not customer service????

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Barbados, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Diane,
Thank you for reaching out to us about your stay..
We are sorry to hear that you experienced any confusion in regards to transferring your original booking due to the resort's closure. We sincerely apologize if you did not receive the notification of the project undertaking which was sent at the time the announcement was made and for any inconvenience this may have had on your trip. I encourage you to reach out to our Customer Care Team at 1-888-SANDALS if you have any questions or concerns. They will be more than happy to assist you in any way possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

My husband and I actually visited this resort last October, the very last week that it was a Couples property. The Sandals transition was underway and I don't know how that turned out. I do know that the resort was nestled in a gorgeous little area. It was a smaller and more intimate resort than I have been used to. The environment was calm, relaxing and very enjoyable. The food was amazing and I especially enjoyed the afternoon teas.
While there, we went on several excusions, the best being a day long guided taxi tour by Paul Payne taxi service. Paul is a paramedic at St. Elizabeth's Hospital in Bridgetown and is extremely knowledgeable about the history of Barbados. He took us all around the island, we went to the Mount Gay Rum Distillery, the Four Square Rum Distillery, he showed us where Rhianna was born and grew up. He also took us all around rural areas and areas where the rich and famous (Oprah, JayZ, Beyonce) have homes. We were treated to a great deal of information about the Bajan people, their religion, occupations and social activities. We ended up at Bathsheba on the Atlantic side in the "Scottish" district which was beautiful, craggy and mountainous, completely different from the Caribbean side. We highly enjoyed our trip, the Bajan people and their gorgeous country. Although we visit a different island every year (on my bucket list) we will be sure to return to Barbados. We loved the property and how well we were treated by all the folks working there. If you you want a great personal tour for a reasonable rate, ask your front desk to call Paul Payne's taxi service for you. Barbados will be remembered fondly by my husband and I.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet, choose the rooms furthest away from the pool. There was a bit of noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Our Holiday was in March of 2014. Everything was perfect for the first couple of days. Beautiful landscape, wonderful food and a total feeling of relaxation. Unfortunately, our toilet overflowed on the third day for no apparent reason and we had to be moved. We were given a lovely room overlooking the sea and a free Spa treatment with longer use of our room for the last day. I received a letter saying that Management hoped we would visit again to make use of the new facilities. Yes, we are doing that and bringing our Family with us this time for Birthday Celebrations in Late February next year. We are looking forward to the "new Sandals" and wish them well. They could not do enough to put our problem right from the lovely lady at Guest Services to the sincere cleaner who was truly upset at our misfortune. The Manager was also so kind!! Hopefully, 5 stars next year!!!

Room Tip: The sea view should be good in the new Sandals but we still liked overlooking the tropical area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Barbados, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your review of Sandals Barbados.

We regret to hear that your first stay at our resort did not quite meet your expectations but we are so grateful that you understood that we were in period of transition. We cannot wait to welcome you back once the transformation of this property is complete so that you can see all the fantastic improvements that have been made since your first visit. We look forward to welcoming you back for stellar vacation experience in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, NJ
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

room: clean, comfy bed and booming ac however the bathroom toilet and tub need to be replaced. there are dark marks on both that gives them an unsightly appearance. TV channel options sucked!!! only 7-17 were available and about 7 of them only played the news, the others were currency rates or other non-sense. there are no movie channels, although one channel does play some movies at night with lots of commercials

grounds: nice plush gardens throughout which was aesthetically pleasing. several wedding arches were situated all over making it clear weddings are an option here

food: hit or miss; some meals were so good they kept me running back while others had me making plans to eat elsewhere immediately after. for an island resort I've never had so much overlooked fish; thank God for rice, salad and bread; Bersteen, Paul and tony were very sweet assisting with option

drinks: they were blah! no menus mean no signature drinks

Last observations: There are birds are everywhere. This freaked me out. There is a lack of trash cans on the grounds leading to and from the rooms. I often carried trash with me until I found a trash can to avoid littering. The pool table should be moved to a place that offers more room and there was no chalk so bring your own if you're a shark :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I know they were due to refurbish this hotel but the prices didn't reflect this. The food was excellent but the room was average. Most of the staff gave excellent and friendly service but the one or two who didn't spoiled the whole effect with their poor attitude. We had a leaking air conditioning unit which needed fixing and were called at 9.30pm asking for access to our room. The problem was eventually solved while we were out on a day trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Barbados, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you for posting about your stay with us at Sandals Barbados.
I’m so sorry that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. We are known for providing luxury in a friendly and comfortable environment and unfortunately, during your experience, it seems we fell short in some aspects. As you know, we are currently making some changes to our resort. When we are completed making the enhancements to this property, we hope you will return to see the amazing transformation. We would love the chance to make things right during a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Barbados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Barbados

Address: St Lawrence Gap SN, St Lawrence Gap 0, Barbados (Formerly Couples Barbados All-Inclusive)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on pristine Dover Beach where the Caribbean meets the Atlantic and endless sunshine is accompanied by gentle ocean breezes, Couples Barbados invites you to surrender to the calypso rhythms of paradise.As the only resort on the island dedicated exclusively to couples, Couples Barbados provides an idyllic refuge for you to recharge and reconnect with the one you love. And with more inclusions than anywhere else on Barbados, your worry-free holiday begins the moment you land on the island.So why not spend your days with white sand between your toes. Learn how to kayak, scuba dive or snorkel in azure blue waters. Get lost in 10 acres of tropical gardens. Play golf amidst tropical surroundings. Play tennis under the stars. Indulge in an invigorating or romantic massage for two. Enjoy the freshest seafood and best rum punch this side of heaven. Or simply relax to the sounds of Green Monkeys playing in the palm trees at sunset. After all, this is paradise Couples Barbados-style—where every enchanting day and magical night encourages you to live life well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and Tingo so you can book your Sandals Barbados reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Barbados St Lawrence Gap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Barbados, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.