We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Dover Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dover Beach

Dover Beach
St. Lawrence Gap, St Lawrence Gap BB15026, Barbados
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Love Dover Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Easy walking access from our hotel. Chairs and umbrellas. Lovely water. Very shallow. Shops and restaurants nearby. No one hustles you on the beach. Very calming. Showers to rinse off were nice.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    112
    22
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beach Bar, Rest, Waves and Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I likes the beach a great deal because of the high chance I will be offered to rent a beach hair as soon as I arrive, I can meet tons of people, the bars and clubs are right down the way, and it's really a tourist spot...

However, sometimes there are guys on the crawl, seeking women in search of fun. I wasn't one of them, but if I was...there's be no problem. They leave you alone when you make it clear that you're not interested.

The bar is good, but the food is a bit pricey in my opinion. Still...you're on vacation, so expect to pay a bit more for food on location. The water is crystal blue, the sand is beautiful, there are restroom facilities, and beach shops for your perusal while you are there.

You can stay there all day.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abergele north wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“moaners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I am sick of reding negative reviews if you don't like the island and hotels glad I was not there the same time as you!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a beautiful beach and it has something for everyone. If you prefer more quiet, enter next to the Ocean restaurant (closer to the center of St Lawrence Gap) and choose your own palm tree. If you want to rent a chair and umbrella and be closer to what's happening, go in the main entrance. There you'll find a nice little restaurant and bar with free wifi and there are also bathrooms.

Depending on which spot of sand you claim, the waves can be a little bit higher or lower. But even the high waves are not that big. Just enough for a little bit of fun. The beach is clean and the water is clear. No complaints here.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Was a lovely beach to sit people watching and have a dip when the heat got too much. $5bd each for a sun lounger.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dover Beach also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Saint Philip Parish, Barbados
 
Saint Joseph Parish, Barbados
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 

Been to Dover Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dover Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.