We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Ground Holiday Accommodation

Sandy Ground Holiday Accommodation
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Lawrence Gap
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandy Ground Holiday Accommodation
Save
You added Sandy Ground Holiday Accommodation to your Saves list
Paradise Village, St. Lawrence Gap BB15016, Barbados (Formerly The Gallery)   |  
Hotel amenities
Midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

I stayed here for 2 nights on my way to St. Vincent, so didn't want to spend too much money on a large hotel. This was perfect - a large room, very clean and secure, in a great location handy for the beach, shops and restaurants of St. Laurence Gap. The staff were extremely helpful, and sorted us out with Taxi's and Guides at a reasonable price, so that we were able to fully explore the island in our short time.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bluecobble
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

We stayed there for two nights (16-17 April 2009) before boarding our cruise. Sandy Ground Holiday Accommodation is a small inn which, I belive, has ten rooms. You just have to walk approximately 3-minute to go to the Dover Beach, which is one of the most beautiful beach in Barbados. This small inn is located in St. Lawrence Gag and is close to many restaurants, expensive and affordable ones too! We were recommended David"s Place, which was fabulous, both in terms of food and location... facing the ocean. What else can you ask? We felt very safe during our stay, both during the day and at night. Our room was very comfortable and extremely clean. The service was impeccable on every aspect and Anna did an excellent job in serving us promptly at breakfast. The food was fresh and delicious and there is coffee available in the dining area, as early as6:30 am. I can only praise this fine establishment, which was very good value for what we paid. I will definitely return and hope that Anna and Darla will still be there. Thank you. Anna and thank you, Dorla for making our stay so wonderful and pleasant!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

Very close to Dover Beach but in a less than desirable area of St Lawrence Gap. My friend was threatened by the locals when walking from the main road through the lanes to this hotel.

My point about poor value. Apart from the rooms being expensive for a no balcony and poor views from windows, we were also charged $24 US for a single bundle of laundry. We were quoted $12 US but when we paid the bill we were advised the bundle had to be split into to loads. They must have an extremely small washing machine. (6 shirts a pair of trousers and two shorts)

Apart from that the staff were absolutely charming and very helpful.

The rooms were well equipped and extremely clean and spacious. If they had a balcony they would have been ideal and represented better value. They were extremely secure though.

Internet access available but very expensive.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

An ideal B&B/short stay accommodation. Very well organised, exceptionally clean and newly refurbished. Owner responded to all queries very efficiently and ensured that we were comfortable and organised. Good location just behind the main road in St Lawrence Gap. Would recommend for anyone who is passing through Barbados.

  • Liked — Clean and welcoming
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2008

I stayed at Sandy Ground while on vacation in Barbados and was extremely pleased with the treatment I received when staying there, my room was very clean, comfortable with a fridge, TV, air conditioning, walk in closet with safe and an awesome bathroom with large walk in shower. The staff are very accomadating and try very hard to make you feel at home and I must say they exceeded my expectations. Thre is a dining area for breakfast. Excellent location, you can just walk across the road to the beautiful Dover beach, shops and activities. Great location and excellent accomadations.

  • Liked — Service, style and comfort
  • Disliked — Like everything, no complaints
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2004

I just returned back to the USA about 6 hrs ago. I had the best time of my life in Barbados. I was there for about two weeks and experienced Crop Over. I partied every night for the first 11 days then took one day off. I then partied some more. I hope to do it all again next year! St. Lawrence Gap was great! So was the Boat Yard, Club Extreme, the Jolly Rogers... so many to list. I would go to bed at 5AM then wake up in the afternoon, eat then party again. Next year I will bring more friends. The natives are very friendly. I stayed at a hotel called The Gallery. The hotel was okay but then again I only paid $50.00 US a night. There are many hotels better than this one. The only problem w/ this hotel was it was in a dark alley. Other than that it was great. Anyway, time to go to bed. Feel free to email me w/ any questions.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Lawrence Gap
0.3 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 stars 1,177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#4 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.0 of 5 stars 418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sandals Barbados
Sandals Barbados
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 stars 549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
0.6 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#9 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Ground Holiday Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Ground Holiday Accommodation

Address: Paradise Village, St. Lawrence Gap BB15016, Barbados (Formerly The Gallery)
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St. Lawrence Gap
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in St. Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandy Ground is situated in the heart of St. Lawrence Gap, the most Popular Tourist area in Barbados. Everything to make your holiday enjoyable is within walking distance. Dover Beach, a safe and picturesque beach by the Caribbean Sea, convenience & souvenir shopping, banks, restaurants, late night entertainment, taxi & public transportation, Dover Sports Field and a games arcade. 10 beautiful rooms, each with a private bathroom. Air-Conditioned. TV. Refrigerator. Telephone. Daily maid service. Breakfast is available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandy Ground Holiday Accommodation Barbados/St. Lawrence Gap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy Ground Holiday Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.