We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Gap Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added South Gap Hotel to your Saves list
South Gap Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Lawrence Gap | Christ Church, St Lawrence Gap BB15020, Barbados   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tidal Wave Special!!
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in St Lawrence Gap
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

we have just returned from one of the best holidays that we have ever had, we stayed 10 days in this little gem of a hotel,it is central to all the gap has to offer, the staff are amazing and our room was fantastic, for the price you cannot go wrong, the pool area was gorgeous and the view was spectacular, will defo be going back, thanks to all at south gap.

Room Tip: we were in 112, the ground floor is quieter than the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    208
    68
    20
    13
See reviews for
56
256
41
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed at the South Gap Feb/March this year, the location could not be better, right in the middle of the Gap with all it’s bars and restaurants and a short walk to Worthing beach one way or Dover Beach in the other direction. Yes the hotel is looking a little bit dated but is spotlessly clean and the rooms are perfectly adequate and well equipped for long or short stays, any problems are quickly sorted out with the minimum of fuss and the view from all rooms is quite spectacular. What makes this hotel really special is the staff, cleaners, maintenance and especially the receptionists, you could not wish to meet a more friendly and helpful group of people especially Rose on reception she worked wonders booking restaurants, trips etc. The pool is quite large considering the number of rooms and we never had a problem getting sun beds, we tried to time getting back from the beach to coincide with happy hour followed by a quick dip in the pool, nice way to finish the day.

Now the down side, yes it does get noisy at night, if you are a light sleeper it may cause problems the hotel has no control over the noise made by other establishments, some guests used ear plugs, we just shut the bathroom door and opened the balcony doors and fell asleep to the sound of the waves a few drinks also helped.

Barbados is a beautiful island with the friendliest people you could wish to meet, we used local transport quite often, it’s a cheap and easy way to get around and the locals are happy to help if you get lost. We will almost certainly return to this beautiful island and when we do the South Gap would be our hotel of choice.

Room Tip: rooms on first or ground floor may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed here during the first week in March 2014- the room was great, well maintained and always clean. the view was fantastic and each room has an ocean view. the location is unbeatable and of course, the free parking helps. the receptionists were very accommodating and kind. the in-room kitchenette was furnished with just the right equipment. recommended. we were not bothered by any noise.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

My wife and I came to Barbados for our 20th Anniversary and had a wonderful time. They are very friendly and helpful and had a bottle of champagne waiting for us on arrival. The hotel is in the center of the Island's nightlife with great food and drink options. The restaurant is very good and inexpensive-and the view from the balcony is incredible. The music from outside permeates the room, but it is not too bad if you keep the window in br closed and a towel by the door. Honestly the first night I noticed it, but it was never an issue. This is a great value without sacrificing any service or innemities.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We loved our stay at the South Gap hotel. Everything was perfect. The room with ocean view, the equipment (we had an ipod docking station, ice cubes in the fridge and also a washing up service included) and of course not to forget live music all night long if you want or not. No, just kidding! It is really a great place. However you should not go there if you have a problem with noice. It gets very loud at night. But either you party with the locals or you drink enough rum cocktails so you don't car. This was the only place ever (and we travel a lot) where we forgot to check out - seriously. We will come back!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

My husband and I just got back from our second trip to South Gap Hotel. We can not say enough good things about it. The rooms were always cleaned beautifully, the staff is comprised of some of the friendliest people we have ever met, greeting us like old friends. There are many people at this hotel who come back year after year and it makes for a very pleasant time...all smiles everywhere!!! The pool area, overlooking the ocean is ideal. We will be back!!!!

Room Tip: Being from NYC, noise isn't that much of an issue for us, but I see that some comments talk abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

It was an excellent stay, very friendly and helpful staff, willing to assist with any problem. Great location right on st lawrence gap. Room was always clean and tidy every day. Lovely sea view from every room. I think we made the best choice possible by staying in this hotel. We had an amazing time and will definitely return here on our next visit!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Gap Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Gap Hotel

Address: St. Lawrence Gap | Christ Church, St Lawrence Gap BB15020, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
#5 Family Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Gap Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful three star boutique style hotel is situated on the south coast of Barbados, 7 miles from the airport and only 5 miles from the island's capital, Bridgetown. Located in the very popular and lively St Lawrence Gap, it is within walking distance of the bars, restaurants and nightclubs. Just a few yards away, the stunning Dover Beach offers a serene and peaceful contrast for those wanting to relax during the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Regatta Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your South Gap Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel South Gap
South Gap Christ Church
South Gap Hotel Barbados/St Lawrence Gap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Gap Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.