We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Barbados!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Gap Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added South Gap Hotel to your Saves list
South Gap Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Lawrence Gap | Christ Church, St Lawrence Gap BB15020, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fall Special 15-20% Off
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St Lawrence Gap
melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in Barbados!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

South Gap Hotel in St. Lawrence Gap is a truly wonderful place. The lookout is towards the sea, so you can take in the beautiful waves coming in if you decide to lay out on the deck. Our room was on the ocean-side near the pool. The restaurant onsite serves fantastic food - we had at least one of our daily meals there each day of our stay and were never disappointed. Our room was clean and tidy, and well cared-for by housekeeping. The staff are very friendly, and will go the extra mile for you (eg. I was sick and they made fish-broth for me even though it wasn't on the menu!). I would love to stay there again if I can make it back to Barbados.

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms on the ocean-side, not the street-side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    197
    65
    18
    12
See reviews for
52
232
40
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed mid January 2013 from Thursday through Monday. Location is perfectly situated right in the middle of the St. Lawrence Gap, which is where most of the bars, restaurants, and clubs are in Christ Church for tourists. Bars & clubs are a nice mix of tourists and locals. As this is right in the middle of The Gap, it's also located right across the street from an open-air bar and a regular club. We had a one bedroom suite with the bedroom facing the front of the hotel and the living room and balcony facing the back, but the noise at night was loud no matter what part. If you plan on staying out late, not a problem, but if want to go to bed early one night- wear yourself out during the day so you are too tired to care about the noise. Friend said "it felt like the door was shaking." Room was nice and spacious. Bed was big, but pull out sofa wasn't very comfortable though. Shower pressure is good, but toilet didn't work properly all the time. Maintenance fixed relatively quickly though, and if that failed we used the pots to through water in the toilet. View from the balcony is absolutely amazing and pool was good as well. Good food and drinks at poolside bar, but be careful of the bar stools.. a little wobbly. Hotel staff nice, but reception not as helpful as one would expect for a tourist hotel. Sometimes didn't get information and other times received incorrect information. There were several different receptionists- one was nice and somewhat helpful, other's weren't, and one was down right rude to one of my friends. Hotel is beachfront, but you can't access the beach from the hotel because there isn't any "beach". It's right over the water, but minutes away from beautiful Dover beach. A/C and fan worked very well and no mosquitoes or other bugs, but did have a slight small ant problem in the kitchen only. For an inexpensive stay I would tell friends about this place, but with all the caveats i listed above. Had a great time in Barbados.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the water- might help with the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My fiancee and I had an amazing time at South Gap Hotel, and would highly recommend!! The location is superb, the service and staff were as friendly as you could ask for, and the experience was a definite win! The room was very nice, especially compared to my previous stay at a different hotel in St. Lawrence Gap that was rated as highly. There is a kitchenette, which helped us save a BUNCH of money and relax a bit. The location was perfect, right in the heart of St. Lawrence Gap, and the Tropical Mist Restaurant located below by the pool was just as great an experience. The staff was VERY outgoing and helped accommodate us with anything we asked for such as setting up excursions or info about shopping, restaurants, nightlife, etc. Do yourself a favor and stay at South Gap Hotel on your trip to Barbados!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The hotel is in need of renovation and the outside sunbathing area is not very clean. The staff are good and the rooms are clean and acceptable. The position 'literally' on the sea is good and there is a very small beach available in the hotel next door. The Gap is known for it's night life so some noise into the early hours was expected, however nothing, nothing could prepare you for the high level of noise coming from the open air Karaoke bar directly across the street, which continued on volume level '11' until 3 am, THEN followed by people shouting and laughing outside at the hotel car park 'slots bar' until 5 or 6 am! Unless you are capable of sleeping in a room with your Stereo on full and 20 drunken friends having a party, DO NOT stay there.

Room Tip: Some rooms are quieter, but it is a small hotel. We could not be moved for 10 days! don't take t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

4th visit to Barbados, 1st to The South Gap. Never stayed in the middle of the Gap.
NO REGRETS AT ALL. Booked again this year same place!
Food & Nightlife are easy access from South Gap as it is centrally located in the St. Lawrence Gap. Music from the clubs across the street rocks till 3:30 or 4am. Was never an issue like many reviews stated. If you didn't want to join in across the street there's a full balcony on the 2nd floor where you can listen to the music and people watch. That's after you have hit the South Gap Bar which closes around 10pm. lol
All the staff are very friendly and accommodating. If you needed anything just ask and it was taken care immediately with a smile (to be honest the reason we return to the island, and we have been to many, is because of the people). This hotel is no different, only more affordable as we were traveling with four. Rooms are clean, have TV, AC, always hot water and brand new kitchen utensils.
What A View From The Room!
Had a great Christmas dinner on the balcony with family, moon, and crashing waves (hope the moon and waves loved the roast beef dinner).
There is a nice little beach next door if you don't want to walk 5-10 mintutes. There's beaches everywhere. We are not ones to lie baking in the sun. We do alot of walking meeting the friendly people of Barbados from the area.
Again Thank you so Much South Gap see you SOON!

Room Tip: If you prefer NO noise stay home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a third floor room which was lovely, brilliant balcony with fantastic view! However the noise from the bar across the street was unbelievable! How the person previously can state that its not a problem is beyond me! We may as well have put our bed in the middle of the bar it would not have been any quieter! I enjoy a good karaoke night but this is totally beyond belief! Our pillows were actually vibrating with the beat from the music! At 3.30 am it was still going strong! I pity south gap owners as I am sure they must lose bookings because of this major problem because any one who does not want to party until 4 am would definitely not want to stay there again, which is sad because it is a nice hotel with fantastic views! We complained to reception but no other rooms were available we then complained to our virgin rep and she was a complete waste of time saying that if we still had a problem in a few days we could cancel our booking and pay to go in another hotel!!!! If you want a relaxing holiday as most of us do, please stay further along the gap away from Hals bar!!!!!! Who appears to break all laws concerning noise levels !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
down south
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Shacklock crew had yet another great Christmas and Old Years holiday. The lads meeting up with old friends and hitting the Sugar Lounge big time. Such friendly staff from housekeeping through to Management not forgetting the bar staff and security. Planning on next years already.
When you meet up with people who have been going for many years and now book five and seven week stays that must tell you something about the place!!
Falling asleep to the sounds of the waves with the French windows open all night ZZZzzzzzzz

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Gap Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Gap Hotel

Address: St. Lawrence Gap | Christ Church, St Lawrence Gap BB15020, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
#3 Family Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Gap Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful three star boutique style hotel is situated on the south coast of Barbados, 7 miles from the airport and only 5 miles from the island's capital, Bridgetown. Located in the very popular and lively St Lawrence Gap, it is within walking distance of the bars, restaurants and nightclubs. Just a few yards away, the stunning Dover Beach offers a serene and peaceful contrast for those wanting to relax during the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Regatta Hotels, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your South Gap Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel South Gap
South Gap Christ Church
South Gap Hotel Barbados/St Lawrence Gap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Gap Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.