We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel in South Gap!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Gap Hotel

Save Saved
You added South Gap Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
South Gap Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Lawrence Gap, St Lawrence Gap BB15020, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Hot Summer Deals!!
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel in South Gap!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My fiancee and I had an amazing time at South Gap Hotel, and would highly recommend!! The location is superb, the service and staff were as friendly as you could ask for, and the experience was a definite win! The room was very nice, especially compared to my previous stay at a different hotel in St. Lawrence Gap that was rated as highly. There is a kitchenette, which helped us save a BUNCH of money and relax a bit. The location was perfect, right in the heart of St. Lawrence Gap, and the Tropical Mist Restaurant located below by the pool was just as great an experience. The staff was VERY outgoing and helped accommodate us with anything we asked for such as setting up excursions or info about shopping, restaurants, nightlife, etc. Do yourself a favor and stay at South Gap Hotel on your trip to Barbados!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    179
    61
    18
    12
See reviews for
41
205
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The hotel is in need of renovation and the outside sunbathing area is not very clean. The staff are good and the rooms are clean and acceptable. The position 'literally' on the sea is good and there is a very small beach available in the hotel next door. The Gap is known for it's night life so some noise into the early hours was expected, however nothing, nothing could prepare you for the high level of noise coming from the open air Karaoke bar directly across the street, which continued on volume level '11' until 3 am, THEN followed by people shouting and laughing outside at the hotel car park 'slots bar' until 5 or 6 am! Unless you are capable of sleeping in a room with your Stereo on full and 20 drunken friends having a party, DO NOT stay there.

Room Tip: Some rooms are quieter, but it is a small hotel. We could not be moved for 10 days! don't take t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

4th visit to Barbados, 1st to The South Gap. Never stayed in the middle of the Gap.
NO REGRETS AT ALL. Booked again this year same place!
Food & Nightlife are easy access from South Gap as it is centrally located in the St. Lawrence Gap. Music from the clubs across the street rocks till 3:30 or 4am. Was never an issue like many reviews stated. If you didn't want to join in across the street there's a full balcony on the 2nd floor where you can listen to the music and people watch. That's after you have hit the South Gap Bar which closes around 10pm. lol
All the staff are very friendly and accommodating. If you needed anything just ask and it was taken care immediately with a smile (to be honest the reason we return to the island, and we have been to many, is because of the people). This hotel is no different, only more affordable as we were traveling with four. Rooms are clean, have TV, AC, always hot water and brand new kitchen utensils.
What A View From The Room!
Had a great Christmas dinner on the balcony with family, moon, and crashing waves (hope the moon and waves loved the roast beef dinner).
There is a nice little beach next door if you don't want to walk 5-10 mintutes. There's beaches everywhere. We are not ones to lie baking in the sun. We do alot of walking meeting the friendly people of Barbados from the area.
Again Thank you so Much South Gap see you SOON!

Room Tip: If you prefer NO noise stay home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a third floor room which was lovely, brilliant balcony with fantastic view! However the noise from the bar across the street was unbelievable! How the person previously can state that its not a problem is beyond me! We may as well have put our bed in the middle of the bar it would not have been any quieter! I enjoy a good karaoke night but this is totally beyond belief! Our pillows were actually vibrating with the beat from the music! At 3.30 am it was still going strong! I pity south gap owners as I am sure they must lose bookings because of this major problem because any one who does not want to party until 4 am would definitely not want to stay there again, which is sad because it is a nice hotel with fantastic views! We complained to reception but no other rooms were available we then complained to our virgin rep and she was a complete waste of time saying that if we still had a problem in a few days we could cancel our booking and pay to go in another hotel!!!! If you want a relaxing holiday as most of us do, please stay further along the gap away from Hals bar!!!!!! Who appears to break all laws concerning noise levels !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
down south
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Shacklock crew had yet another great Christmas and Old Years holiday. The lads meeting up with old friends and hitting the Sugar Lounge big time. Such friendly staff from housekeeping through to Management not forgetting the bar staff and security. Planning on next years already.
When you meet up with people who have been going for many years and now book five and seven week stays that must tell you something about the place!!
Falling asleep to the sounds of the waves with the French windows open all night ZZZzzzzzzz

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The lakes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I cannot believe the amount of people who are complaining about the noise from Hals Bar across the street. This has been mentioned several times before on this site alone. I picked up on this a long time ago and booked one of the many rooms that dont suffer any noise at all. If it is a last minute decision to stay there then a quick trawl on the internet will show it right in the middle of the noisiest part of the Gap. I would imagine all hotels in the area have some noise problems but this is because of the open air living on the island. If you want silence then maybe you shoud stay in some sealed box like the hilton. Rant over we thought it was a great hotel with very accomodating staff throughout the hotel, a very enjoyable stay in a typical carribean hotel

Room Tip: Junior suites are great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Do not stay in this hotel if you like a good night sleep we stayed in room 311 for 3 nights before it became unbearable and we had to ask to be moved once moved noise levels were better but you could still hear it cleary with all the other hotels we came across they all seemed to be better located than the South Gap Hotel which is located across the road from Hal's Car Park Bar which kicks out Karaoke until the early hours and Sugar nightclub which is an open air venue which closes around 0400 Hours

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to South Gap Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Gap Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel South Gap
South Gap Christ Church
South Gap Hotel Barbados/St Lawrence Gap
Address: St. Lawrence Gap, St Lawrence Gap BB15020, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in St Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Gap Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful boutique style hotel is situated on the south coast of Barbados, 7 miles from the airport and only 5 miles from the island's capital, Bridgetown. Located in the very popular and lively St Lawrence Gap, it is within walking distance of the bars, restaurants and nightclubs. Just a few yards away, the stunning Dover Beach offers a serene and peaceful contrast for those wanting to relax during the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Otel so you can book your South Gap Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Gap Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.