We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far too noisy!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of South Gap Hotel

Save Saved
You added South Gap Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
South Gap Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Lawrence Gap, St Lawrence Gap BB15020, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Upto 30% Off Rates
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in St Lawrence Gap
Chorley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Far too noisy!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a third floor room which was lovely, brilliant balcony with fantastic view! However the noise from the bar across the street was unbelievable! How the person previously can state that its not a problem is beyond me! We may as well have put our bed in the middle of the bar it would not have been any quieter! I enjoy a good karaoke night but this is totally beyond belief! Our pillows were actually vibrating with the beat from the music! At 3.30 am it was still going strong! I pity south gap owners as I am sure they must lose bookings because of this major problem because any one who does not want to party until 4 am would definitely not want to stay there again, which is sad because it is a nice hotel with fantastic views! We complained to reception but no other rooms were available we then complained to our virgin rep and she was a complete waste of time saying that if we still had a problem in a few days we could cancel our booking and pay to go in another hotel!!!! If you want a relaxing holiday as most of us do, please stay further along the gap away from Hals bar!!!!!! Who appears to break all laws concerning noise levels !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    228
    188
    64
    17
    12
See reviews for
47
221
37
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
down south
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Shacklock crew had yet another great Christmas and Old Years holiday. The lads meeting up with old friends and hitting the Sugar Lounge big time. Such friendly staff from housekeeping through to Management not forgetting the bar staff and security. Planning on next years already.
When you meet up with people who have been going for many years and now book five and seven week stays that must tell you something about the place!!
Falling asleep to the sounds of the waves with the French windows open all night ZZZzzzzzzz

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The lakes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I cannot believe the amount of people who are complaining about the noise from Hals Bar across the street. This has been mentioned several times before on this site alone. I picked up on this a long time ago and booked one of the many rooms that dont suffer any noise at all. If it is a last minute decision to stay there then a quick trawl on the internet will show it right in the middle of the noisiest part of the Gap. I would imagine all hotels in the area have some noise problems but this is because of the open air living on the island. If you want silence then maybe you shoud stay in some sealed box like the hilton. Rant over we thought it was a great hotel with very accomodating staff throughout the hotel, a very enjoyable stay in a typical carribean hotel

Room Tip: Junior suites are great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Do not stay in this hotel if you like a good night sleep we stayed in room 311 for 3 nights before it became unbearable and we had to ask to be moved once moved noise levels were better but you could still hear it cleary with all the other hotels we came across they all seemed to be better located than the South Gap Hotel which is located across the road from Hal's Car Park Bar which kicks out Karaoke until the early hours and Sugar nightclub which is an open air venue which closes around 0400 Hours

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed 9 nights at the South Gap. Basic but really perfect just to relax and no frills beautiful sea views and gorgeous to swim in the sea. Good situation for bars and restaurants loved it. Tiami Catamaran cruise worth going on.

Bar staff and cleaners very friendly but front desk very disappointing. We were two females on holiday and were greeted with disdain and on arrival after a long flight the receptionist could barely raise a smile and getting info was like blood from a stone. We were not sure if we were being treated like this as we heard while we were out there some of the women think that all British women are after their men (not the case)Talking to other guests who were older and couples they received very good front desk service. we got most of our tourist info from other guests!!! Apart from this was an amazing holiday and would definitely go back to Barbados!!

Room Tip: Ask for room on 1st floor as very noisy but ear plugs did the trick for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southgap, Manager at South Gap Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am very happy that you loved our location and views but I am terribly sorry about your experience with our front desk staff. To be honest we have a lot of young British ladies travelling together to our hotel during the summer and we have never received this complaint. Our receptionists are generally very friendly and are always willing to provide information to all of our guests.
Nevertheless, I will certainly speak to them about your experience as poor service will not be accepted by the hotel. I do hope hope that you will consider South Gap Hotel for your next visit to the island.

Sincerely,

Cecile Harewood
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We overnighted here in transit to another island. We would have had more sleep at the airport. The hotel is charming if shabby, and the verandah on our 2nd floor room gave us a perfect, private view of the ocean. However, you can't stay at the hotel without also experiencing the kareoke bar across the narrow street, which starts up at 10 pm (just as these weary travellers were going to sleep) and wraps up between 3 and 4. My husband will never feel the same about Neil Diamond's "Sweet Caroline," after hearing it belted out as a drunken, off-key duet at 3 am. If we'd been 20 years younger, we might have given up and joined in. Only stay here if you're under 30 and/or like to stay up all night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southgap, Manager at South Gap Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am so pleased that you loved our hotel and our wonderful view. I just wanted to let you know that you can stay at our hotel without experiencing the karaoke bar across the street. Our first floor rooms are located behind the reception and the office walls and are therefore not noisy at all. In addition, we have Junior Suites which are tucked away on the ground floor and offer a serene contrast to the lively St. Lawrence Gap.

We have a number of retired repeat guests who stay with us every year, some even stay in our top floor rooms, so I do hope that you and your husband will give our hotel another try.

We hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,

Cecile Harewood
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We chose the South Gap because of its fantastic location right on the sea, and in the heart of the action in the Gap - we were not disappointed. If you like your hotels to be over-furnished, look like something out of a design magazine, impersonal over-polite service and so on, then maybe this wouldn't be for you. But if you like real people, with a warm welcoming smile, time to talk to you and a slow easy pace, then this is perfect.

From the moment of our arrival to the time we left we had nothing but friendliness and warmth. We also met some other great guests and had a few wonderful evenings with some lovely bar staff to help things go well. The view from our room and the sound of the sea at night and in the early morning was superb, as was sitting on our balcony watching the sunrise or later on, the sunset.

We will definitely be going back and I know we'll get the same lovely welcome.

Many thanks and lots of love to South Gap and staff!

Room Tip: All rooms have sea fview, so no problem anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Gap Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Gap Hotel

Address: St. Lawrence Gap, St Lawrence Gap BB15020, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
#4 Family Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Gap Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful boutique style hotel is situated on the south coast of Barbados, 7 miles from the airport and only 5 miles from the island's capital, Bridgetown. Located in the very popular and lively St Lawrence Gap, it is within walking distance of the bars, restaurants and nightclubs. Just a few yards away, the stunning Dover Beach offers a serene and peaceful contrast for those wanting to relax during the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Regatta Hotels, Hotels.com, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your South Gap Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel South Gap
South Gap Christ Church
South Gap Hotel Barbados/St Lawrence Gap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Gap Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.