We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Gap Hotel

Save Saved
You added South Gap Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
South Gap Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Lawrence Gap, St Lawrence Gap BB15020, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SUMMER SLASHER 15-30% Off
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in St Lawrence Gap
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel is great for people who want to be in the centre of it all. We opted for a junior suite which is at the back of the hotel just 5 steps from the pool and bar. We didn't hear any noise from the nightclubs and the hotel bar never got lively so no troubles there either. We were out most of the day so mainly enjoyed the central location (Barry's surf school at Dover Bay near by). The suite was basic but clean, well equipped if you wanted to cook-in but we didn't. We didn't use the restaurant. Staff are very friendly and happy to help with questions on buses, places to go etc. we enjoyed the happy hour from 5-6pm watching the sun set. There is a sea view but no beach. Nice pool area for a dip after a busy day. All in all a good place, for a good price.

Room Tip: Junior suite on the pool level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    228
    188
    64
    17
    12
See reviews for
47
221
37
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boston
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

my husband and I stayed here the last week in November, 2012. If you're reading this you already know about the karaoke bar across the street. We lucked out with a first floor room
and although you could hear the noise, if you closed the louvres in the bathroom as well as
the bathroom door, the noise was nearly silenced. The room is small and dated. What we loved
about this hotel is it is RIGHT ON the water. There is the patio and then the water. At night, we opened the French Doors and fell asleep to the sounds of the ocean. Sometimes, we'd be awaken by the ocean roar. The sunrises and sunsets were beautiful. Needless to say you can spend 4-5 times as much for a premium room but are you on the water ?
Hotel staff were delightful. knowledgeable, personable and helpful. Location is great. My husband and I are both coffee lovers so I would recommend bringing you own coffee and filters
(Mr. Coffee type) and use the coffee maker in the room. Nothing like the start of a beautiful day with a cup of joe overlooking the ocean !

Room Tip: first floor Right side of building (ground level opens onto patio and pool )
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
191 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
406 helpful votes 406 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

A bland generic, ordinary facility. Small, cramped lobby, dreary hallways, minimal pool bar restaurant. Good if you're here only to take advantage of places to drink at night nearby, solo or with friends. Not at all a couples destination. There is no beach along with this property, although there are sea views as it fronts the water. Seaview superior rooms (107 usd) are spacious and clean, but in no way upscale. Junior suites on pool level (114 usd) two smallish rooms, poor value not as good space as the other. Pool lounges chairs were decrepit.

Room Tip: in seaview room, bar noise no problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

im here for 10 days with 2 days left.......having a great time the staff are amazing they cant do enough for you.....views from the rooms are breathtaking....so well located step out to plenty of eating places...the burgers across the road from the streeet venders are the best ive tasted...and the bars are relaxed my favourite being cafe del sol....so i will be back for sure

Room Tip: first floor quiet rooms.....top floor amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My best friend and I recently stayed at the South Gap Hotel (11-12-/11-19) and i gotta say that the staff make your stay well worth it !!! The pros of staying here is that it is in the center of the "Gap" so Dover Beach is in walking distance and enough bars, restaurants and nightlife to keep you happy ... All the ladies who work the front desk are awesome , always willing to go the extra smile/ mile expecially Anna Lea... Andre who works in the bar downstairs of the restaurant is charasmatic and makes fabulous cocktails... The rooms are decent and are cleaned daily...and the view simply breath taking ! ( so the hotel is a bargain)

The Cons- If you are not into loud music and activity ....you may want to request a room on the first floor ...definately not the second and third floor where you are facing the street. The Gap usually does not start jumping until 11pm-4am...so it's something to think about...

Room Tip: if you are young and ready to be social i would book this hotel... something on the second floor ..t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This was our first visit to the South Gap Hotel and we enjoyed it very much. We've traveled to Barbados many times in the last 20 years. We'd never stayed in the Gap, but we came across a great deal on AA.com and booked a 7 night vacation. We knew of the hotel, and it's location so we were a little concerned about the noise in the Gap. It was noisy on the 1st night of our stay, but the 3rd night was unbearable. The Karaoke, at a bar across the street, was soo loud from 10pm - 3:30am that we asked to be moved. They were just great!. They immediately moved us to a one bedroom on the ground floor and we never heard another sound. I can't say enough about the staff at this hotel. The restaurant serves very good food at a great price. The rooms,
the pool, and all the grounds are very clean. We would definitely stay at the South Gap again.

Room Tip: One bedroom units on the ground floor are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a fabulous budget hotel. The staff can't be beat for warmth and welcome! The rooms are simple, but well equipped, with a comfortable bed, nice little kitchenette, and lovely ocean view! The pool area is clean, and also a great place to enjoy happy hour and watch the sun set. The restaurant menu is simple but very good. I received a birthday bottle of wine, and also a lovely "welcome back" gift!!
This hotel is not brand new, but everything is clean and comfortable. I loved our stay!
Oh, it is loud on the upper floors from the bars across the street, but not on the lower floors.

Room Tip: I like the main floor, because I have a bad knee, and it's quiet there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Gap Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Gap Hotel

Address: St. Lawrence Gap, St Lawrence Gap BB15020, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
#4 Family Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Gap Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful boutique style hotel is situated on the south coast of Barbados, 7 miles from the airport and only 5 miles from the island's capital, Bridgetown. Located in the very popular and lively St Lawrence Gap, it is within walking distance of the bars, restaurants and nightclubs. Just a few yards away, the stunning Dover Beach offers a serene and peaceful contrast for those wanting to relax during the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Regatta Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your South Gap Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel South Gap
South Gap Christ Church
South Gap Hotel Barbados/St Lawrence Gap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Gap Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.