We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine if it's happy hour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rush

Rush
St Lawrence Gap, Barbados (Formerly The Ship)
Improve this listing
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Exeter
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fine if it's happy hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I'm not realy a St Lawrence Gap type of person, but I found myself there early evening during a recent trip.

I was feeling a bit peckish and the menue outside Rush caught my eye. It was happy hour so I popped in for a few cheap drinks and some chicken. It was nice to get a beer for BD3.5 while the chicken was cooking. The food was fine and the atmosphere was good, even though it wasn't particularly busy.

Would visit again if I was in the area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    28
    22
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ok, when nothing else is open...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Went to Rush.. was the only restaurant open for a late lunch in The Gap. It's 5/28 which is a bank holiday in Barbados and almost everything else was closed. Was happy to see that Rush was open, it was ok. Got 2 appetizers and asked for one chicken quesadilla and then the other beef satay... I was told that it would be more than the price on the menu to serve one-after-the-other... what? No change in portion size...both are appetizers so, needless to say had them served at the same time and for the price on the menu. I had to keep asking for water refills, etc. because the only 2 people I saw working were talking. Lastly, I sat waiting for my check and finally had to get up and just go hand her the money so that I could leave. Not likely to be back unless, it's the only thing open again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“New but will it last?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I'm afraid we have to agree with your other contributors on this new place in the Gap. The food was ok (I had a pasta and wifey had a burger ... there wasn't much else to tempt the palate), but there is simply no atmosphere here whatsoever ( we sat outside)
I have a feeling this place will have changed hands again by the time we go back next year ....

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lacks "Character"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Wednesday, March 21, 2012
We went to a new place in the Gap, called “Rush”. No real reason, we just walked up the street and that was where we stopped. Can’t really comment too much on the décor…as there wasn’t much, lol. The food and the drinks were okay. It took awhile, but eventually we got the staff engaged in some conversation and things were a lot better after that.

I would say they better pick it up or they won’t be around long.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“huge portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

All the food seemed to be very large portions. The Caesar salad, which I had as a starter, would have been a meal in its self. The service was quick and staff pleasant. Presentation may be better than the food which is average. Don't regret going, but probably would try another spot next time.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rush also viewed

St Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
St Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 
St Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
St Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Rush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rush, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.