We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Time round and Still Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Two Resort & Residences

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Two Resort & Residences to your Saves list
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dover St, St Lawrence Gap, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book 2015 vacation & SAVE
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in St Lawrence Gap
Bartlett, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“2nd Time round and Still Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is our second time at Ocean 2 and we only missed one thing - to stay longer :) The staff are so friendly and knowledgeable. The staff are so professional and happy - what a difference that makes. We did enjoy the beach and the dark Warriors at happy hour!! We will be back next year - this is truly home from home. If you are looking for a friendly, professional, relaxed environment stay here. The rooms are truly ocean front - Great great place.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    163
    30
    2
    1
See reviews for
204
469
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My partner and I stayed at Ocean Two for a total of 7 nights at the beginning of October 2014 and it ranks as one of the nicest hotels we've stayed at and was a key part of a fantastic and wonderfully enjoyable holiday.

The first thing that is immediately noticeable upon arriving at the hotel is the friendliness of the staff. Throughout the duration of our stay not once did we encounter a member of staff that wasn't polite and courteous. Everyone was so helpful and we always felt looked after and cared for. We were never found wanting.

The location of the hotel is part its charm. While the location may not have the overall appeal of the West Coast, it has the benefit of being a short walk away from St Lawrence Gap, which is a haven for restaurants and great night life. Dover Beach, the beach the hotel backs onto, is pleasant and while certainly not the nicest of beaches in Barbados (the competition is fierce for that title!), it was quiet, clean and very relaxing. The ocean is not as calm as it is on the West Coast, where it tends to be almost motionless, but it is calm enough for swimming but with enough waves for boogie and surf boarding.

The hotel itself is very well maintained with clean, modern décor. Our room, a 1 bedroom ocean-front suite, was wonderfully spacious, light and nicely decorated. The view from the balcony was spectacular! My only complaint with the hotel was the quality of the food. The included breakfast was not of very good quality and could certainly be improved.

Overall, the stay was fantastic and it's not difficult to see why this hotel as been a #1 Trip Advisor pick. Highly recommend this hotel to everyone looking to holiday in Barbados - it offers great value for money!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have just returned from 8 nights staying at this hotel. On arrival we were greeted with a cold drink and sat down to check in, which was swift and we were then taken to our forth floor ocean front suite, where our bags had already been taken. We were very impressed with the suite with a great size living room with dining table and open plan kitchen. Huge balcony overlooking the sea, of which we saw turtles nearly every day, amazing. Big bedroom as well, along with bathroom with huge shower enclosure, only let down by the fact hot water lasted for only a few minutes each time we showered. The kitchen facilities provided in the suite are excellent. We wanted for nothing, and had filter coffee and smoothies in the morning.
On our first night we were invited to the rooftop terrace for the cocktail party, steel drums playing and free cocktails, wine and beer. Nice welcome. The bed is the comfiest we have ever slept in, even beats our favoured Sofitel! And due to the bedroom set up there is no windows so it very quiet, that being said we did note a musty smell throughout our stay due to this and would certainly recommend they put air freshener or something to sort this out as it was unpleasant. The beach is good, it was wavy and a little rough at times during our stay but you can easily walk around to Dover beach for a smoother swim. The loungers at ocean2 were again the most comfortable we have ever used and the staff are happy to move them for you, they also come around with lollies and brought a flag to each couple/group which you raise when you want bar service which is a good touch but this was sporadic and needs to be consistent. The bar and area beyond the main lobby is nice but we felt they could have made better use of the space, the pools were also rather small for the size of the hotel.
We arranged car hire direct with the hotel which was efficiently dealt with, would certainly recommend exploring the island. We went to Bathsheba, Huntes gardens, Welchman Hall gully and up the west coast to some beautiful beaches. There is a small convenience store 2 mins wal away, handy for milk and bread but would certainly recommend going to the big supermarket in Oistins, much better value. There are fantastic restaurants 10/15 mins walk away, we went to Apsara Samudra 3 times it was so good, and beautiful ocean front dining, Harlequins was also good and Cafe Sol. People will ask you if you want any drugs but a simple no thanks will suffice, it is a completely safe area, and a great atmosphere with the bars and restaurants around.
On leaving we asked for a late check out but they couldn't provide this but they kept our bags safe for us whilst we went out for lunch. We would certainly highly recommend this hotel and return if we were going back to Barbados. We booked with BA holidays and got a great deal, this place was fantastic value and in a great spot, with a few tweaks it would be faultless.

Room Tip: Book an ocean front suite, forth floor was good and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Spent a week at this resort, very much enjoyed it. We had an ocean view suite (bedroom-kitchen/living area) which was awesome. Great balcony with very large sliding door you can keep open to hear the ocean. We had some issues with hot water, took a couple of visits, I was right to insist as they adjusted the tank in the room. Good service , friendly staff. No competition for a chair, we always got one which was set up by the beach folks.

This is not spot where you should expect fancy restaurant but the food at their spot was great and fairly price vs others spots around. Make sure you hit tapas , take the reggae bus for two bucks, fantastic place to eat by the ocean. Champers was also very nice but more formal, make sure you reserve.

One annoying issue was the constant absence of towels, this is unacceptable for a hotel like this and should be resolved to not tarnish how everything else is just awesome.

Activities:

Barry's Surf school is one thing we regret not doing due to weather (one bad day and a half of rain) but we're told it's excellent and right next to the hotel

If you want to do catamaran ride and relax (max 12 people), go for calabaza, great boat, good and service. Got to touch sea turtles, lots of fun

We went diving with Barbados Blue, very nice folks , first dive was ok , second one nicer. Not impressed with amount of fish but always nice.

We'll be back, the Barbados folks are very helpful, kind and welcoming, this is now one of our top islands and in great part for this reason. Got to love a place where everyone says hi and seems sincere about it!

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellshill, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just returned from a wonderful two week holiday in Ocean Two. The staff could not do enough for us, they were so friendly and helpful and absolutely made our holiday! In particular we must mention Chantelle, Malachi and Stefon, who were so welcoming, friendly and helpful. We were staying in a one bedroom ocean front suite which was superb. The views and sunsets from our balcony were to die for, the suite was very spacious and clean, the bed the most comfortable ever and the best sleeps we’ve ever had!
We had lunch and dinner at the hotel restaurant on a number of occasions and found the food and service to be very good. There are also a number of good restaurants within walking distance, in particular Sharkeys and Harlequin – if you want to go a little bit further try Champers (need to take a taxi but it’s not much) which was in a lovely location and served excellent food. The reception staff at the hotel were amazing and will organise your meal/taxi/ night out no problem.
The beach was superb and we just loved the extras like the iced water, ice lollies and cooling sprays while we relaxed – sheer luxury! The ocean was a bit choppy but not sure if this was down to the time of year.
We’ve never returned to a holiday location ever! But in this case we will make an exception.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view and a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely apartments the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in !
Super decor , great sunbathing on comfortable beds. Restaurant was ok, not the best we ate in but we stayed a while ago now ( jan 13) so it may have improved. Great staff Shana still emails me now she is lovely and was so attentive on the poolside drinks.
We could walk to a number of good restaurants. The west coast is more upmarket touristy than this location, but we travelled to the west coast a few times for meals out and the taxi wasn't too bad cost wise.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Lakey1977,

Thank you for sharing this review of your recent trip to Ocean Two Resort & Residences. It gives us great pleasure to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We are pleased to tell you that we have revamped all of our menus at Ocean Two and the feedback thus far has been fantastic. We would love to have you back to hear your thoughts on the changes that we have made, which will surely enhance your dining experience.

Your wonderful remarks of our great staff and our lovely facilities will be relayed to the entire Ocean Two Team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two soon!



Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Absolutely top notch resort. World 's friendliest staff. Impeccably clean room and resort. Beautiful beach although not good for swimming because of the heavy concentration of coral at the wave breaking edge. Must walk down a few hundred yards to Dover beach for real swimming.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear JimS,

A warm thank you for sharing this review of our hotel and many thanks for your splendid remarks on our impeccable facilities and amazing staff.

We are truly delighted that you had an enjoyable and memorable experience with us during your stay, as this is what we constantly strive to achieve.

Thank you for choosing Ocean Two and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Two Resort & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Two Resort & Residences

Address: Dover St, St Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Two Resort & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Two Resort & Residences is a brand new, 4*, beachfront property located at the far end of St.Lawrence Gap with a wide array of amenities and facilities. It is the ideal location for romantic retreats, family holidays, girlfriend getaway, family reunions/group travel as well as meetings and incentive groups! With its spacious accommodations including Hotel Rooms, One Bedroom & Two Bedroom Suites with genuine, Bajan hospitality, Ocean Two is THE place to stay on the South Coast of Barbados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Regatta Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Two Resort & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Two Resort & Residences Hotel St Lawrence Gap
Ocean Two Resort And Residences
Ocean 2 Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences Barbados/St Lawrence Gap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Two Resort & Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.