We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Two Resort & Residences

Save Saved
You added Ocean Two Resort & Residences to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dover St, St Lawrence Gap, Barbados   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 40%!
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in St Lawrence Gap
Bridgetown, Barbados
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“More than a hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I have visited many Caribbean countries but this hotel surpassed my expectations. My family and I spent father's day weekend at the hotel and it was absolutely wonderful. The staff were very helpful, friendly and warm. The room was amazing and very cozy. I wanted our family to spend time together away from our daily schedules and it was mission accomplished. The layout of the room bought us together in the kitchen and the tv area. The pools were amazing and breathtaking, especially the pool on the roof. Trust me....THIS IS THE HOTEL TO STAY AT!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Oliveal-246,

Thank you for sharing this wonderful review of your Ocean Two Resort & Residences holiday experience. It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guests and we are all truly delighted to know that your stay with us was enjoyable and memorable for the entire family.

We thank you for your lovely remarks regarding our well-appointed suites, the Panorama Roof Deck and our attentive team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    616
    137
    29
    2
    1
See reviews for
181
405
23
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melville,NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We are in the middle of our vacation at Ocean Two. Check in was quick and easy directed by an extremely friendly staff. The open air lobby is all brand new with views overlooking the ocean. Our one bedroom ocean front suite was perfect in every way. Large balcony with two comfortable lounge chairs and a table with 4 chairs. Perfect setup for a very romantic get a way.
The room is fully equipped with all amenities that would make the most seasoned vacationers happy. We were looking for peace and quiet and we found exactly that. If you are looking for water sports and other activity, then this is not your spot.

If I was pushed to find Any negative with ocean two or Barbados as a whole, it would be the limited selection of liquor, and the inability to get a good drink! Extremely stingy with the pour. Also, if you are a coffee drinker, and I am, you are in big trouble. No coffee before 7:30 and extremely weak. One last thought, Ocean Two has one open air restaurant. Extremely limited menu. There is definitely a need for fine dining at this Establishment. We left the property each evening to try one of the many great restaurants in the area. It would be nice to have the option to dine in a more upscale restaurant on premises.
Overall,this is a fantastic place to unwind and chill out. Ok, back to relaxing now.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear The Pash,

Thank you for sharing this review of your recent Ocean Two holiday experience. We are all extremely delighted to know that you had such an amazing experience here with us. Thank you for highlighting the fantastic, modern features and amenities of our suites and I join you in commending all staff members for the continuously outstanding service they provide!

We also thank you for your constructive comments regarding your dining experience, as feedback from our guests helps us to recognize any areas which may need improvement, and it also aides us in our continued efforts to provide our guests with an exceptional and memorable holiday experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two soon!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had a great week at Ocean 2, the hotel was clean, modern and fresh and the staff were attentive, welcoming and friendly. Our ocean facing room gave great views and we kept the patio doors open so we could listen to the waves crashing all night long. The quality and decor of the room exceeded our expectations and the well equipped kitchen and washer/dryer were great to have on this type of holiday. The bed was huge and comfortable. We had a minor problem with the washer/dryer but this was sorted straight away. The roof top pool and terrace gave excellent panoramic views and it had a secluded beach. We have stayed in lots of high end hotels and Oceans 2 is one of our favourites.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear ExplorerJ18,

A warm thank you for sharing this lovely review! In just a few short lines you have highlighted those amazing features and qualities that together create the unique and memorable Ocean Two holiday experience, such as our immaculately kept property, well-appointed suites, spectacular views, our Panorama Roof Deck and certainly our excellent, commendable team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two Resort & Residences soon!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

After having spent 5 hectic but fabulous days in New York and a 4 hour flight to Barbados, arriving at Ocean two was paradise!! On entering the hotel lobby the sea view was just spectacular and the welcoming cocktail and cold flannel were lovely, thoughtful touches! We did have a little wait before we could go to our suite but were recompenced with a bottle of red wine. From start to finsh this hotel and its staff were just wonderful!! The deluxe ocean view room was out of this world with a kitchenette, washer, tumble dryer, wide screen televisions, i-pod dock, rainfall shower room, outdoor balcony with two loungers, luxurious and fabulous!! Nothing was too much trouble for all staff, from booking dinner reservations to serving drinks. It was lovely not to have to fight for sunbeds as they were always available and brollies for shade. Sun bathing on the beach with a lovely breeze was idyllic! The pool area was always kept spotless and fresh towels always available. We stayed on bed and breakfast tariff, and i must say the food was good, served as a buffet with a good selection. The hotel is situated at the far end of St Lawrence Gap and is in a nice quiet position.There are a variety of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel and can recommend Harlequins and Pisces. All in all a truly wonderful holiday and we would definitely recommend this hotel.
the hotel which was wonderful

Room Tip: Deluxe ocean view room recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear julieandpaul2009,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review of your recent holiday experience at Ocean Two Resort & Residences! At Ocean Two we strive to provide our guests with an enjoyable and memorable holiday experience which exceeds their expectations, and from your wonderful comments it seems safe to say we achieved this.

We thank you for your kind comments regarding our well-appointed suites, amazing views, your lovely breakfast dining experience and our excellent location and commendable team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two soon!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Ocean Two resort definitely surpassed my expectations, and then some! To start, the staff is extremely friendly. This is extremely important because it makes you feel welcomed as an individual rather just another client. They bend over backwards to make your stay the best it can be, and this friendliness and service truly does create a great atmosphere. The hotel itself is beautiful, and the rooms are unreal. The location of the hotel is fantastic, Barbados is a great island and St Lawrence Gap is a prime location in my opinion. I recommend paying the higher price for the ocean front suite, the rooms are phenomenal! I felt like a boss. Open my balcony door and walk into the pool, talk about convenience!

The beach and pool area are great. I cannot find one complaint with this property, I will definitely be returning to this hotel! Thank you everyone for your kindness and hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Oliveal-246

Thank you for sharing this wonderful review of your Ocean Two Resort & Residences holiday experience. It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guests and we are all truly delighted to know that your stay with us was enjoyable and memorable for the entire family.

We thank you for your lovely remarks regarding our well-appointed suites, the Panorama Roof Deck and our attentive team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

A fabulous hotel deserves a fabulous write up...so here I go..

My husband and I have just returned from a two week holiday staying at this resort and we are already planning when we will return. A combination of fantastic staff and excellent accommodation put a smile on our faces from the moment we arrived until the day we left.

We booked a getaway through interval international and were placed in a one bedroom bay view condo. These condos are located at the side of the hotel and have partial ocean views but are much larger and more spacious than the ocean front suites. Whilst the ocean front suites do give spectacular views, my husband and I were still incredibly pleased with our accommodation which felt like a home away from home that was fully equipped to our standards and is exactly how self catering should be. We did have the option to upgrade to an ocean front suite at a price which we didnt feel was necessary after comparing both and noting that the majority of our time was not going to be spent in the accommodation itself, but either on the beach or out in town visiting family. That said, if you book your holiday/vacation through Interval be mindful that bay view condos are generally what you will be offered (at a vastly reduced price than booking direct through a travel company/site such as Virgin holidays/Expedia etc).

From what we could make out this hotel is more tailored towards condo/self catering arrangements but they do have a restaurant and you can order breakfast, lunch and dinner or room service or opt for all inclusive. The option to do self catering here, is in our opinion the best as we prepared breakfast most days before heading out and there are so many fabulous restaurants and bars to choose from either in the vicinity of Christchurch or further afield.

Our time at the hotel was always spent on the beach as we're not poolside people, but both pools one with a swim up bar always had a few people in them..never crowded. For those who like shade, there were always plenty of loungers and umbrellas both poolside and on the beach. The beach itself was beautiful for lounging but the sea being on the Atlantic and not the Carribean sea was quite wavy and not for those who arent seasoned swimmers. The majority of those in the sea were either surfing, jet skiing or paddaling their feet. Each day when we were on the beach staff would come by and offer us cold flannels enthused with eucalyptus (I think) that was a welcome and refeshing touch to our hot, baked bodies!! You will encounter locals on the beach who will approach you to sell anything from aloe vera to some smokes (not of the legal kind). But if your not interested in anything a polite no thanks and there on their way. Dont be too hard on them...everyone is just trying to get by and get their hustle on...just in a different way to some us.

The hotel also has a rooftop with a small pool where you can lounge or take in the fabulous views of both the ocean and district. Again...never crowded and a cool place to chill.

We ate lunch here several times to coincide with happy hour which we took full advantage of by ordering a range of cocktails made by exceptional staff which I'll come onto in a moment. The lunch menu was standard (burgers, fries, clubsandwich, pizza etc which didnt change from day to day but was good enough to eat).

There's a local grocery store across the road from the hotel so you can stock up on anything you need and an ATM a few yards away, which was handy. There are locals who hang outside the hotel perimeter and some will approach you if your on foot and will either want to sell something to you or hang with you. Again a polite no thanks and their on their way. All of them are men and some may come across as a little feisty but again mean no harm-dont let them get to you...your on holiday...so chill.

Every Wednesday (early evening) the manager would hold a cocktail party either on the roof or in the lobby of the hotel. We attended on the second week of our stay and met a range of hotel staff who provided complimentary drinks and canapes and it was also an opportunity for local businesses to showcase or sell their products (ranging from jewellery to pictures) and to meet other guests staying onsite.We had a blast!

Restaurant wise we had the opportunity to eat at some great places and I would definetly recommend the following: Champers, Cafe Luna, Pisces, Naru, Brown Sugar, Cafe Sol.
We couldnt resist getting a chinese takeaway and the New Century Chinese Restaurant did the trick nicely. Go to Oistins on a friday night and eat some local food courtesy of Pat's Place...lively outdoor music, people and drinks...we had fun!! The Gap is minutes away from the hotel and a must do..so your spoilt for choice for places to eat and drink...but if you can go and dine at some places on the West Coast or treat yourself and have dinner at the Crane..Beautiful..

If you can, get out and explore the island...either rent a car or take one of the local buses..or get a taxi. A massive shout out to 'Anthony' who was our taxi driver arranged through the hotel who picked and dropped us at the airport and who took us out to eat at the above restaurants. A wonderful man with a big heart and infectious laugh. We miss him already!

And finally a massive shout out and thank you to all the staff at the hotel who were without a doubt exceptional and incredibly gracious to both me and my husband and made our stay memorable for all the right reasons...but not forgetting the following;

Marguita...housekeeping was on point...please send our regards to all who tidied our room each day...Earrie (the Empress loved your swag), Roggick, (your a gem and we loved the music) Jeffery (you make a mean daiquiri and messed me up) O'neil (we loved your infectious smile) Patrick (we need to come for crop over) Robyn (Anthony loved your mudpie & I loved your cocktails..i'll try not to give anyone high blood pressure...u know what im talking about) Joanna (thank you for coming to say bye..but still me owe me).

We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear cookies93,

Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely review of Ocean Two! At Ocean Two we continuously strive to provide our guests with an exceptional and memorable holiday experience which exceeds their expectations, and it is such a pleasure to know that we were able to provide you with this wonderful experience.

We thank you for highlighting those amazing features and qualities that together create the unique and memorable Ocean Two holiday experience, such as our well-appointed suites, favorable location , our weekly complimentary Managers Cocktail Party and certainly our excellent, commendable team. Your lovely comments have been relayed to all team members mentioned and certainly to the entire O2 team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two Resort & Residences soon!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I've stayed at many hotels before, all over the world, Ocean two was absolutely wonderful. From the outset my arrival at Ocean two made me feel welcomed, warm smiles everywhere, professional staff, but not stuffy with it, interaction was excellent from them. Well done staff. Then the smiles from the staff everywhere, the room clean and spacious. The food really good. The roof deck with a pool which showed a spectacular view of the island, which is great for the photo buffs like I am. I would recommend stay here definitely...five stars to Ocean two!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Ran B,

A warm thank you for sharing this review of your recent Ocean Two experience!
It is such a great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us, particularly our immaculate suites and the Panorama Roof Deck and its spectacular views.

At Ocean Two we place a strong emphasis on training; therefore it gives us great pride when guests such as yourself comment on the stellar service they received. Your lovely comments have been relayed to the entire O2 team!

We hope to welcome you back to Ocean Two in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Two Resort & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Two Resort & Residences

Address: Dover St, St Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
#1 Family Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Two Resort & Residences 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Two Resort & Residences is a brand new, 4*, beachfront property located at the far end of St.Lawrence Gap with a wide array of amenities and facilities. It is the ideal location for romantic retreats, family holidays, girlfriend getaway, family reunions/group travel as well as meetings and incentive groups! With its spacious accommodations including Hotel Rooms, One Bedroom & Two Bedroom Suites with genuine, Bajan hospitality, Ocean Two is THE place to stay on the South Coast of Barbados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Regatta Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ocean Two Resort & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Two Resort & Residences Hotel St Lawrence Gap
Ocean 2 Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort And Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences Barbados/St Lawrence Gap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Two Resort & Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.