We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for service,accommodation and value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Two Resort & Residences

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Two Resort & Residences to your Saves list
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dover St, St Lawrence Gap, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in St Lawrence Gap
UK
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for service,accommodation and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed for 10 days in May. We had a one bedroom suite on the fifth floor overlooking pool and beach area. A well equipped apartment which is thoroughly well maintained and provides flexibility for catering options.

There are many excellent reviews of this accommodation and they accurately reflect the way the hotel is managed and run. Small gym, free wifi,and pleasant roof top area add additional facilities to more obvious pool and bar area.

Location is good,with strong local services for transport, food,etc.

For me what really made this worthy of 5 stars were the staff. Friendly, attentive and organised, just engage them in a chat and watch your holiday transform as all their ideas,opinions and most importantly love of their island emerge.

I cannot wait to revisit, if you haven't yet what are you waiting for ???

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor, if you are given a lower room, politely ask for a move we did without any pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear watpar,

Many thanks for sharing this wonderful review of your recent stay here with us at Ocean Two Resort & Residences. We thank you for your kind remarks regarding our well-appointed suites, favourable location and our excellent team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two in the future.

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    209
    38
    2
    3
See reviews for
229
574
26
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We ( wife and eight year old) enjoyed our stay at Ocean Two. Very friendly staff, good location ( surf was more rough than expected), and very nice two room suit. Other than the A/C being marginal in one of the bedrooms ( fifth floor) , the suit was better than expected. Beach attendants were great! We loved the full kitchen and washer/ dryer. Would return again!
Relatively new property.

Room Tip: Ask for room on West side as there was more noise to the left if facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear W P,

Thank you for sharing this brief but lovely review. We are truly delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay here with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two Resort & Residences soon.

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

As other people have said, it's the hotel's employees that make it so good. It would be invidious to name some of them and not others, as they are all - without exception - brilliant. I didn't experience any of the difficulties at the restaurant that earlier reviewers complained about, but I only ate there three times. The Saturday evening barbecue/buffet was excellent and I gorged myself on pickled sweet potato, but forgot to ask for the recipe. The one evening that I ate "a la carte", I was the only diner, so there was little scope for things to go wrong.

There are plenty of restaurants nearby, particularly at the western end of St Lawrence Gap, and I would definitely urge guests to try them. The outstanding ones are Pisces, Waterside and Apsara. Further afield, it's worth making the trip to the Hilton on a Wednesday evening for their barbecue, and to the Coconut Court on a Thursday evening for their very reasonably priced curry buffet. The receptionists at Ocean 2 will willingly make a reservation for you.

The beach is fairly rocky, although it is possible to get to the much sandier Dover Beach around a couple of corners if you're prepared to negotiate some hostile terrain. Also, be warned that the sea off the south coast can be a little boisterous and is much better for surfing than swimming.

There is a cocktail party every Wednesday evening. This usually takes place on the roof, but on the Wednesday that I was there it had to be moved downstairs to the lobby because of the weather, so I never got to see the roof terrace.

There is also a happy hour every day when all drinks are half price, although I never did work out exactly when this was, as the timings seemed to differ from day to day. However, the drinks are good value even at normal prices and I particularly recommend the rum punch (full price BDS$10.20).

Now, if only they could do something about the weather.

Room Tip: The south-facing suites have a bedroom, bathroom, kitchen, living room and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Berbician,

A warm thank you for sharing this wonderful review of your recent stay with us! We are all truly delighted that we were able to provide you with an enjoyable and memorable holiday experience which exceeded expectations, as this is what we continuously strive to achieve.

Thank you for highlighting the amazing features and amenities of our suites, as well as the stellar service provided by our team. We are also very pleased that you had a lovely night at our weekly Manager’s cocktail party, as well as a great dining experience provided by our on-property restaurant Taste. Please view the Sweet Potato Pickle recipe below, we hope it serves as a lovely reminder of your amazing holiday spent with us.

Sweet Potato Pickle

Ingredients Needed:
5 Pounds of Sweet Potato
2 Pounds of Cucumber
1 oz. of Parsley
4 Limes
Salt
Tabasco
Method
Boil sweet potatoes until cooked soft all the way through then allow cooling in the refrigerator for approximately 20 minutes.
Peel and deseed cucumbers then grate with the big side of the grater. Chop parsley until fine then add to the cucumber, add the lime juice, tabasco to taste and mix with the diced sweet potato. Allow approximately 15 minutes for the flavors to absorb.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two soon!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Ocean 2 for a week in April/May and had a great time! Everything you've read about the property is accurate. We had an ocean front one bedroom suite on the fifth floor and it was amazing! I would recommend fourth floor or higher for privacy and view. Everthing is immaculate and bright and well stocked. I loved having the kitchen to prepare breakfasts and to keep snacks and beverages on hand. The Dover market is right across the street and while a little pricey, it has pretty much anything you might need. The shower is fantastic!! There's a decent amount of storage in the bathroom for toiletries etc., but would have loved a few hooks to hang some things. The bed was super comfy and we actually liked the bedroom in the back as we could keep it dark and cool for sleeping. There is some hallway noise in the mornings but it wasn't bad. The closet is a little small with only a few hangers. Beach chairs and umbrellas are plentiful. The beach area is nice and private. Yes, the water can be a little rough, but there's a gorgeous beach just a slight walk around the corner.

We had room service a couple of times and it arrived quickly and they set it all up at the table for you. We ate at the restaurant for lunch and found the service and the food to be good. Nothing exceptional and a litle pricey, but good. We had read some reviews where they had said food service was terribly slow and we didn't experience that during our stay. Robyn and Darrien at the pool bar are great and we enjoyed chatting with them! Be sure to take advantage of the 2x per day happy hours!

We walked to 'the gap' a few times. It's a short walk and the area can seem a little 'shady', but everyone is friendly. We really enjoyed Cafe Sol and Pablo Dante's. If you're craving pizza, try Paradise Pizza! The pizza is good and the people there are awesome! We ate at The Tides and found it to be over priced for what you get. As for excursions, we would highly recommend Calabaza sailing. We did the afternoon sail and loved that they limit it to 12 people!

Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Fourth floor or higher for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear lisav77,

Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely, detailed review of your stay here with us. It is truly a pleasure to know that you had such a wonderful holiday experience, as we strive to provide this to all of our guests. We thank you for your kind remarks regarding our luxurious suites, modern amenities , favorable location and the stellar service you received from our team.

Rest assured, your glowing comments have been relayed to Robyn and Darrien and certainly to the entire Ocean Two team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two soon!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston Jamaica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Great place to visit and enjoy quiet time. next time i must take someone with me. The south side of the building very relaxing to me. Would have liked some more tropical fruits Even though I was on my own I still enjoyed my stay. Bodes well for me returning with a friend. Did not get to take any of the tours but seems like I had enough to occupy my time

Room Tip: Enjoyed my south side rtook and slept well
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Well I will try and be as specific as possible. This resort is all new. Very modern furnishing. If you are used to villa vacationing this is a great place to trade to or get a quick deal via interval. The villas are awesome. We had a two bedroom villa penthouse on top floor. Awesome. Loved the showers the most. The rooftop is the best. Great place for happy hour cocktails. Pool chairs are the most comfortable I have ever encountered. Beach is a little rocky and rough but there are so many beaches you can take a quick drive to. Pool is awesome. Nice swim up bar.
Best part of resort are the staff. Our favorites were Stefon, Andre Jeffrey and Darien! They make this place what it is! No matter what's going / every staff member is willing to pitch in wherever they are needed. Chantelle a waitress who was 5 months pregnant was running around the bar helping however she could. Andre was hustling every day. One day there was a wedding and it started to rain well - Andre was running trying to keep every chair from Getting wet. Stefon is so professional and a go getter. Definitely going places. Always willing to go that extra step to make sure you are having an amazing vacation.
The front desk staff was not the greatest but always cordial. I called ahead of time three times requesting information regarding setting up something special for my husbands birthday but never received anything. I also asked when we got here as well and again no response - no information received. I also mentioned wanting information on ownership opportunities and no one ever followed up. - odd. We had made most of our reservations ahead of time so we didn't use them for those types of things. But when we did need something Stefon was always willing to help out. Another thing that bothered me about the front desk staff was every time we asked for assistance with driving to a place they would always say it takes 30 minutes. When in actual time it would be over an hour. Very disappointing. It's like no one had any idea of reality of
traffic or road patterns.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear travelqueen15,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review. At Ocean Two we are truly dedicated to providing our guests with excellent service and an enjoyable & memorable holiday experience; as such feedback from our guests such as yourself is greatly appreciated.

We are truly disappointed to know that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay here with us and we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Your comments have been addressed with the entire Front Office team to ensure that we maintain the high levels of customer service of which is our usual standard.

Overall, it seems as though you had an enjoyable holiday here with us, particularly enjoying the stellar service provided by our commendable team. Your glowing comments have been relayed to Andre, Jeffrey, Darrien and Chantelle, and certainly to the entire Ocean Two team! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Ocean Two Resort & Residences in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I loved this hotel for a few reasons. The hotel was not too big and not too small. The people were lovely, the food was good and the staff - all of them, went the extra mile to make sure we were happy. Happily the premises were very clean and staff was alwasys visbile tidying up. There was a small gym - only wish they had kettle bells for my workout! Wi-fi worked pretty well - so for us New Yorkers needing to connect, it was livable! I have already made my reservations for next year! A special thanks to Ari, Charles, Patrick and Joanna to name a few. Best taxi drive JAHSON! The hotel is his home base. Have fun. RESPECT!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear BTRPHLY,

A warm thank you for sharing this review of your recent Ocean Two experience! It is such a great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us.

At Ocean Two we place a strong emphasis on training; therefore it gives us great pride when guests such as yourself comment on the stellar service they received. Your lovely comments have been relayed to the entire O2 team!

We hope to welcome you back to Ocean Two in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Two Resort & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Two Resort & Residences

Address: Dover St, St Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Two Resort & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Two Resort & Residences is a brand new, 4*, beachfront property located at the far end of St.Lawrence Gap with a wide array of amenities and facilities. It is the ideal location for romantic retreats, family holidays, girlfriend getaway, family reunions/group travel as well as meetings and incentive groups! With its spacious accommodations including Hotel Rooms, One Bedroom & Two Bedroom Suites with genuine, Bajan hospitality, Ocean Two is THE place to stay on the South Coast of Barbados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Regatta Hotels, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ocean Two Resort & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Two Resort And Residences
Ocean 2 Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences Hotel St Lawrence Gap
Ocean Two Resort & Residences Barbados/St Lawrence Gap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Two Resort & Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.