We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Two Resort & Residences

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Two Resort & Residences to your Saves list
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dover St, St Lawrence Gap, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in St Lawrence Gap
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We started our honeymoon in Ocean Two Barbados after a really long flight, and were greeted by the friendliest staff members and the unforgettable Eucalyptus-soaked towels for us to freshen up. And throughout the rest of our trip, it was the little touches like this that really made Ocean Two stand out and made our experience in Barbados spectacular.

Our room was basically a pent-house suite, not unlike a service apartment. The shower room was simply enormous. I'm more of a bath person and was at first rather disappointed that there was no bath, but after experiencing the rain shower head, I looked forward to having the water pour down on me every single morning and evening...

Another of our favourite room features was the huge balcony facing the ocean. On our very first night, we ended up falling asleep on the two large comfy loungers on the balcony, and woke up only a couple of hours later to the sounds of the crashing waves, before making our way back to the bedroom.

The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. It was like sleeping on a cloud.
And the same goes for the sun loungers by the pool. They were big and had the fluffiest cushions on them...great for falling asleep on at all times of the day.

Yes, there was a lot of falling asleep going on. I suppose lazing in the sun by the beach while their attentive staff come round with eucalyptus water sprays and trays of yummy cocktails is tiring business. And the comfort of the resort ensured that we got our rest from the very first day.

The resort is very family-friendly, but there were several couples there too.
What I most liked about it was that it was not too big a resort and was not crowded with people jostling for space.

The only complaint we probably had was the fact that our room was situated right under some machine on the roof top (that was probably for the rooftop pool). This meant a constant buzzing noise that became more apparent in the quiet of the night.

We complained about this to the staff at reception about 2 or 3 times, and they tried to look into it, but didn't seem to get back to us on the problem. To be honest, it could have affected the quality of our sleep, but the bed was so comfortable and we were so tired every night that we slept right through it all. It still would have been nice if the hotel could have sorted out this problem though.

Here are some tips for travellers:

- The taxi ride from the airport should cost you about US$30.

- US dollars are accepted in most places, but if you prefer, Bajan dollars would work too.

- St Lawrence Gap is about 10-15 minute walk away. I really enjoyed the walk back and from the Gap though. Helped with the appetite and digestion.

- The restaurants on the Gap are not cheap, but the food and ambience is good. Be prepared to fork out about US$100 for a dinner for two. The same goes for the restaurant at the hotel.

- Breakfast at the hotel is excellent. However, our travel agent only included a continental breakfast in our package, which essentially means two pastries and a drink. We paid for an upgrade and it's definitely worth it!

- As for dinner, I would highly recommend PIsces on St Lawrence Gap. The service is excellent and the lobster dish is to die for.

Cafe Sol serves good Mexican food and good portions too. We couldn't finish our burrito and fajitas and we got them to 'doggy bag' the leftovers and brought it back to our hotel room for lunch the next day. There are microwave ovens in the rooms, so it makes heating up leftovers really convenient.

- Alternatively, you could buy ingredients and supplies from the nearby supermarket and make your own meals in the room. But do note that groceries are generally not that cheap in Barbados. They rely a lot on imports, which naturally put up the prices. If you want to save, support the local produce and buy local whenever possible.

- Make use of the Happy Hour times at the hotel bar. The milkshakes are fantastic!

- The waters in front of Ocean Two is quite rough. The waves are great fun to play with but it's not for proper swimming. If you like bodysurfing, this could get quite fun.

- If you like chilling in the sun, snorkelling, and swimming in the ocean, book a day trip on the Catamarran tours. It's extremely relaxing and there's free flow of a great choice of drinks and cocktails all day. The lunch provided is also excellent. Grab a seat in the nets first thing when you get on the boat! Best seat in the house!

- If you are looking to explore the city centre of Bridgetown, there are several ways to get there. Take a taxi, take a regular bus, or take the reggae bus. We took the reggae bus and I must say, it was the most amusing bus ride of my life! The reggae bus is basically a minivan that blasts really loud reggae music as you squeeze in with the locals on your way into town. It costs only US$2 per person and really gives you a small insight into Bajan life. I would totally recommend trying the Reggae bus!

- Go to Oistins fish market on a Friday (a taxi from the hotel will take you there). Have some fish, browse the market stalls, have some ice-cream to cool you down, and make sure you stay for some dancing at the end. It's guaranteed to put a smile on your face.

If you're looking for a hotel in Barbados, this is it.
And, I hope you'll have as great a time at Ocean Two as we did.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear ChiaSCH,

Thank you for sharing this thorough review of your stay with us at Ocean Two Resort and Residences. We are all quite delighted that you chose to celebrate such a special occasion with us and it is truly a pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We thank you for highlighting those amazing features and qualities that together create the unique and memorable Ocean Two holiday experience, such as our luxurious, well-appointed suites, favorable location, amazing views and excellent team.

We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced whilst you were with us. Your comments have been addressed with the entire Front Desk team to ensure that we maintain the high levels of customer service of which is our usual standard.

It is truly a pleasure to know that we were able to provide you with such a fantastic holiday experience and we hope to welcome you back to Ocean Two soon!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    208
    38
    2
    3
See reviews for
228
574
26
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We cannot rave enough about our experience at Ocean Two. The hotel is situated on a wonderful beach within walking distance to many fine restaurants. While the property is somewhat small, it never felt crowded. Our room was clean, modern, and well appointed (We were in an ocean view one bedroom suite). To wake up and have tea on the balcony each day was heaven !! We know that the hotel was fairly booked, but we barely heard any noise from the other guests except for an occasional door closing or shower running. If you book a suite, I would definately take advantage of the fact that you have a kitchen to cook in and Dover Market across the street to pick up some groceries. We cooked some breakfasts in the suite and one dinner to help cut down on expenses. And pack somewhat lighter than normal because you have a washer/dryer. I came back with next to no laundry!
What stands out most, though, at Ocean Two is the service from the staff. They go out of their way to meet the needs of their guests and they do it all with a smile and always respond to a "Thank You" with "It's my pleasure". From the bartenders, to the wait staff, to the pool/beach attendants, everyone was extremely friendly, efficient, and seemed happy in what they were doing. We cannot thank Shanica enough for taking care of us upon our arrival and making sure our reservations for activities were taken care of.
As far as the restaurants within walking distance, I would highly recommend dining at Pisces and Chez Max. Cafe Sol was pretty good too as was the Brazilian BBQ restaurant.
We took the Atlantis submarine tour which was great and we also saw almost the whole island on a Jeep Tour.
Would we stay at Ocean Two again? In a heart beat !!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in floors 3 - 7. The higher the room, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Debras311,

Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely review of Ocean Two Resort & Residences! At Ocean Two we continuously strive to provide our guests with an exceptional and memorable holiday experience which exceeds their expectations, and it is such a pleasure to know that we were able to provide you with this wonderful experience.

Your lovely comments have been relayed to Shanica and certainly to the entire O2 team! We look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two Resort & Residences soon!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prento
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Just returned from 2weeks stay. We booked a one bedroomed suite, ocean view. Very clean, well furnished and difficult to find fault with. Rooms cleaned everyday, fresh towels and linens.
Location is excellent and easy to walk to several good restaurants, bars etc.
we had breakfast several times through the week at the poolside restaurant which had everything we needed/desired. Plenty of choice, fresh fruits, cereal, bakes and usual options. Couldn't resist it!
Also booked for the Saturday BBQ. Again good selection of salads, cheese and fruits, steaks, ribs etc. people should use it more!
Pools and pool area/beach well maintained and serviced. Nice touches like cool, minted towels offered, staff would bring water and fetch drinks and food to you, even during happy hours.
Managers' party is held each week, where staff mingle. Plenty of drink options from non-alcoholic to spirits, wine etc. staff offered recommendations to see/do without pushing their own hotel. Nice change.
Apart from all of the above the main point would be the friendly, helpful and happy staff -relay excellent service and a credit to the management. Overall we loved it, will recommend the hotel and go again.

Room Tip: Recommend ocean view suite. We were on 5th floor overlooking pool area, beach etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Gill B,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review! We are all so delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay here with us, particularly our excellent location, well-appointed suites, lovely cocktails, stellar service and our weekly complimentary Managers cocktail party.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from another great stay at O2. As always the room (302 ) was immaculate thanks to Pam . The girls on the front desk and the restaurant staff really do try to make your stay as good as they can . Thanks to the beach guys , who are always on hand for whatever you may need . We really can't look at staying at any other place as we have been totally spoilt , and there is definitely nothing in the area to compare . We were on a stay that included breakfast , and we found that there was always lots of choice and it presented a great start to the day . I would say to anyone thinking of staying here , don't waste your time looking elsewhere , otherwise you will probably end up disappointed . Thanks again , until next time .
Shane and Jayne Evans .

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Sunworshiper76,

Many thanks for sharing this lovely review! It was such a pleasure to welcome you back to your home away from home and we are truly delighted to know that you once again had an amazing stay here with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back home soon!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Beautiful high end property. We had a one bedroom suite, ocean view. All marble floor, rain shower, excellent kitchen. GREAT PROPERTY! The staff was VERY friendly and VERY helpful. Wonderful trip!!!! The location is great with plenty of restaurants within walking distance, cabs are plentiful. Even if you want to stay on the property and relax the restaurant has great food, although a bit pricey. The pool and beach are spectacular and a huge strength for the property.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room and get the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear VicDy,

A warm thank you for sharing this wonderful review of your Ocean Two Resort & Residences holiday experience.

It is an absolute pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay here with us ,particularly our luxurious, well-appointed suites, favorable location, your excellent dining experience and our amazing team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two Resort & Residences soon!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We have travelled extensively throughout the Caribean& Europe and this is by far the best. The services and staff are tremendous and always doing their best to make your stay a very memorable and pleasant one. We have stayed here 4 times since it opened and it keeps getting better each time. We will definitely be returning there. The units are very well appointed and we will recommend Ocean two to anyone either for a holiday or as a residence.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Camille F,

Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely review of Ocean Two! At Ocean Two we continuously strive to provide our guests with an exceptional and memorable holiday experience which exceeds their expectations, and it is such a pleasure to know that we were able to provide you with this wonderful experience on numerous occasions.

We look forward to welcoming you back to you home away from home soon!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

It was so relaxing, we hope to visit again. We received a warm reception which set the tone for our stay. The service was one of the best we have had in Barbados! Our 1 bedroom had a spectacular view and everything we needed. I love the rainshower!! Thanks to the management and staff for making our stay so relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Frivy,

Thank you for sharing this brief but lovely review. We are truly delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay here with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two Resort & Residences soon.

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Two Resort & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Two Resort & Residences

Address: Dover St, St Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
#1 Family Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Two Resort & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Two Resort & Residences is a brand new, 4*, beachfront property located at the far end of St.Lawrence Gap with a wide array of amenities and facilities. It is the ideal location for romantic retreats, family holidays, girlfriend getaway, family reunions/group travel as well as meetings and incentive groups! With its spacious accommodations including Hotel Rooms, One Bedroom & Two Bedroom Suites with genuine, Bajan hospitality, Ocean Two is THE place to stay on the South Coast of Barbados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Regatta Hotels, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ocean Two Resort & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Two Resort And Residences
Ocean 2 Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences Hotel St Lawrence Gap
Ocean Two Resort & Residences Barbados/St Lawrence Gap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Two Resort & Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.