We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Two Resort & Residences

Save Saved
You added Ocean Two Resort & Residences to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dover St, St Lawrence Gap, Barbados   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 40%!
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in St Lawrence Gap
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fantastic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed at Ocean 2 10th April for 1 week and cannot fault this hotel. We had booked on bed and breakfast basis but were absolutely thrilled to be upgraded to a top floor penthouse suite (701a) as we were there to celebrate a special birthday.

From arriving at this hotel to leaving we were treated very well. The staff, especially the beach staff, were always polite, friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.


We would definitely return to this hotel

Room Tip: We were in room 701a, top floor corner room with fantastic views over the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    626
    143
    29
    2
    1
See reviews for
186
412
23
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Malling, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Just an update of previous comments of branson 46
Reception moved us to a different room on a lower floor only a few hours after requesting a room change and also made sure we were happy and comfortable with it. As i said in earlier post the rooms are very good but the one we had on top floor was a bit noisy if you are a light sleeper. Thanks to the freindly staff ,they sorted it for us. They also gave us a nice bottle of wine and a meal as an apology for any incovenience. What amazing service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear branson47,

Thank you for sharing this review. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced thus far, as we truly wish for all our guests to have an exceptional holiday experience whilst here with us. I join you in commending our team for the efficient and exemplary manner in which they assisted you and we are pleased that you truly appreciated our efforts to ensure your comfort and satisfaction.

We trust that you will continue to have a fantastic stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Ocean Two Resort & Residences in the future.

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We recently returned from a 2 week trip to Ocean 2 with our 2 children who are 5 and 2. We stayed in a one bed deluxe suite which was perfect, really well appointed and equipped with a fantastic view. All the staff at the hotel were very friendly and made a big fuss of the children, we were always greeted with great big smiles and nothing was too much trouble. The pool was perfect for little ones not being too deep or wide and my husband was a big fan of the swim up bar. There was no shortage of very large and comfortable sun beds, and the beach and pool attendants were vigilant about clearing unused sun beds and made sure everyone got a bed. They also organised regular games for the children on the beach which the all loved. We stayed on a B&B basis, breakfasts were good with a good range of options. Other meals in the restaurant were good if a little pricey, and the kitchen sometimes struggled to cope with the lunchtime rush but the laid back approach is one of the charms of Barbados.
The hotel is really well located and there is a great range of quality restaurants close by.
We had a fantastic trip and would highly recommend Oceans 2 for a holiday to remember.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Alex S,

Thank you for sharing this wonderful review of your Ocean Two Resort & Residences holiday experience. It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guests and we are all truly delighted to know that your stay with us was enjoyable and memorable for the entire family.

We thank you for your lovely remarks regarding our luxurious suites, excellent location, your dining experience and our attentive team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel. Staff are welcoming and helpful. I wouldn't listen to bad reviews on this place if you have looked at the photos it is very obvious what is and isn't on offer. The pools are not massive but this is well advertised. The beach is clean and you are well looked after by the pool and beach staff.
Rooms were very clean, food was good; a little expensive but food on the island generally is. It isn't anything the hotel can help. Fresh fruit water provided by the bar every day is a must.

Would definitely come back

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear bmcgrew,

A warm thank you for sharing this brief but glowing review! At Ocean Two, we strive to provide our guests with an exceptional holiday experience and from your lovely comments it seems as though we hit the mark.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two Resort & Residences soon!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday here and had a wonderful time! We had a 1 bed apartment which was spacious and very well equipped. The view was amazing, I didn't once tire of opening the curtains in the morning to the blue seas and sunshine! We had 2 children with us (4&8) and they loved it, there were quite a few families there as it was the Easter holidays so the pool was busy with children having lots of fun. Not everyone's cup of tea if you don't like kids but as the beach is a footstep away it is easy to get away! The sun loungers are huge and the beach staff are so friendly and helpful (Roggick, Errie and O'Neal were great!) Bodyboards, snorkels and masks etc are all available to use free of charge.
We walked to the Gap most nights for something to eat (loved Rush) children were well catered for which makes life easy and the locals are so friendly we felt at ease stopping in the local rum shacks for a drink and a chat. The kids were mesmerised by Handy Andy and Foxy Brown!!!!
We had breakfast and lunch at the hotel and that really is the only thing they need to improve upon. The breakfast is great such a massive choice but even though you get asked if you want tea and coffee it is a long time coming and even though the food at lunch was excellent quality it would be nice if they changed it now and again and there was more choice as after 2 weeks it is a bit repetitive.
As has been said before you have to keep an eye on your bill as well as they don't always get it right and its not cheap. However when we mentioned our niggles (only in conversation) about the restaurant to a very nice member of staff (Shantelle) she immediately ran and got the manager and he spent a huge amount of time discussing things with us so you do get the impression they want to get it right.
Overall fab holiday, lovely people :)

Room Tip: LPH 3 great views. If we stayed with kids again I would go for a ground floor apartment as you could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Lisa B,

Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely review of your holiday experience at Ocean Two Resort & Residences.

It is such a pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here with us, particularly our well-appointed suites, amazing ocean views and the stellar service provided by our excellent team.

We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced at our restaurant, Taste, however we greatly appreciate your feedback as it helps is to better recognize those areas which may need improvement.

Overall, it seems as though you had a fantastic stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two soon!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Ocean Two was an excellent choice for Barbados. Its far enough from the bars on the St. Lawrence Gap that it's quiet and removed, but only a 10-15 minute walk down to the main restaurants (which we ate at every single night). I agree with everyone below that it's all very expensive but you'll find that everywhere you go on the island. The Hotel's staff was uniformly superb and friendly (unlike some of the other service-oriented positions we encountered on the island) and the little touches like a glass of rum punch during check-in were nice. the balcony overlooking the ocean is stunning and incredibly close to every single room that faces the back of the property. The rooms are laid out a little weird with the bedrooms in the back with no windows but it strangely wasn't that big of a deal in the end and we were ultimately incredibly pleased with all the amenities and large-size of the space. Although we took a local bus into Bridgetown one day, we spent almost all three days either at the beach or taking walks up and down Dover beach. It's a great place for an escape and it's very well-appointed, classy, clean, and large. You can't go wrong.

Room Tip: must do an ocean room. nothing else to say.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Jrand412,

Thank you for sharing this lovely review. We are all so delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and we thank you for your wonderful comments about our excellent location, well-appointed suites and commendable team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two Resort & Residences in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at ocean two for 5 nights, overall the hotel was okay but I would have expected better for a 4 star hotel. Overall not great value for money.

Good points:
Excellent staff - very friendly & great service from the beach to the bar.
The manager hosts a cocktail party every Wednesday with free drinks and canapes where they welcome you and you get to meet the staff.
Good location - near the gap and plenty of resturants and convenience stores.


Bad points:
Bedrooms were too small - not much room to move epecially with your luggage in there.
The pools were very small, especially the one on the roof.
There wasn't even a refrigerator in the room.
We stayed on the top floor and our room was noisy as the air conditioning fans were above our room. It took 3 days to move us and we even had to ask to sleep in a different room for the second night so we could get a decent nights sleep. The temporary room they moved us to was on the first floor and mosquitoes in it hence we had to spray it before we could go to sleep but as this as one of the bigger units it was excellent and we would have paid for an upgrade but we were told they were at maximum capacity.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear devdulai,

Thank you for sharing this review of your recent stay here with us at Ocean Two Resort & Residences. We are quite disappointed to know that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay here with us, as we truly wish for all of our guests to have an exceptional holiday experience.

We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay and we truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Ocean Two in the future.

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Lawrence Gap
Luxury, Beach...
Show More
8.2 mi away
The House
The House
#1 of 27 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
8.2 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#2 of 27 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 stars 582 reviews
Room Service, P...
Show More
3.1 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 7 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Service, P...
Show More
2.1 mi away
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
#1 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
5.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Restaurant, Roo...
Show More
14.3 mi away
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
#1 of 7 in Saint Peter Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Luxury, Beach...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#6 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Two Resort & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Two Resort & Residences

Address: Dover St, St Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
#1 Family Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Two Resort & Residences 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Two Resort & Residences is a brand new, 4*, beachfront property located at the far end of St.Lawrence Gap with a wide array of amenities and facilities. It is the ideal location for romantic retreats, family holidays, girlfriend getaway, family reunions/group travel as well as meetings and incentive groups! With its spacious accommodations including Hotel Rooms, One Bedroom & Two Bedroom Suites with genuine, Bajan hospitality, Ocean Two is THE place to stay on the South Coast of Barbados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Regatta Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ocean Two Resort & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Two Resort & Residences Hotel St Lawrence Gap
Ocean 2 Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort And Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences Barbados/St Lawrence Gap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Two Resort & Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.