We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West coast quality at south coast prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Two Resort & Residences

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Two Resort & Residences to your Saves list
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dover St, St Lawrence Gap, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book 2015 vacation & SAVE
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in St Lawrence Gap
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“West coast quality at south coast prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

You don't often get to say this, but Ocean Two was actually better than the travel brochure made it sound! We booked through Air Canada Vacations and expected to stay in a regular hotel room, but instead were given a one-bedroom ocean front apartment. The hotel is only two years old and it's clear that a lot of money was spent on kitting it out, so the accommodations were excellent. Bedroom is a bit small but the living/dining is more than adequate and the kitchen very well equipped -- even a washer and dryer!

We only used the restaurant for lunch (a la carte most days, buffet once a week) but there are plenty of restaurants not too far away. Note, however, that Ocean Two is at Dover beach, a long way from the busiest part of the gap, so unless you like long walks, you will need to take a taxi from time to time.

Pools are reasonably spacious though not very deep. Beach has been reclaimed and is quite steep once you enter the water -- take note of the warning flags! There are lots of loungers at both beach and pool, and the staff are always happy to move them around for you. Because Ocean Two practically has the beach to itself, there is a welcome absence of vendors.

We have long experience in Barbados (40 years!) so we know that properties can start strong but then fade a bit as maintenance gets scrimped on and the elements take their toll. Would be nice to think that Ocean Two will be able to avoid that fate -- right now it's an excellent addition to the hotel scene in Barbados.

Room Tip: Try for an ocean view. Lower numbers on each floor are further from the bar and restaurant so may b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear jimweibo,

Many thanks for sharing this glowing review! It is always such an esteemed pleasure to receive such high accolades from seasoned visitors of our precious island.

Thank you for highlighting the high quality of accommodations we offer, along with our well maintained pool and beach areas.

We truly hope that after such an excellent stay with us that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Ocean Two in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    163
    30
    2
    1
See reviews for
203
468
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skipton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My wife and I greatly enjoyed our 1-week stay at the end of January 2013. Our ground-floor 1-bedroom apartment was clean, spacious, comfortable and well equipped. It was adjacent to the bar and we were concerned that noise would be a problem. Fortunately this was not the case and we greatly appreciated the convenience of its location. There was no need to take the lift (or elevator for our US readers)! If only there were more hotels with staff like those at Ocean Two; everyone was friendly, cheerful and helpful. Aside from one lunch, we ate only breakfasts in the hotel. For those of you not wishing to pay the rather high cost of full board or all inclusive, there are many restaurants in the area varying from acceptable to good.
My wife had one minor complaint that she insisted I mention. The pool was closed for a short time for cleaning one morning. However, there may have been a good reason for the closure and it wasn’t a great inconvenience.
Ocean Two is an excellent hotel and I would not hesitate to make a return visit.

Room Tip: The apartments are expensive but offer much more than the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear uktravellerSkipton,

Many thanks for taking the time to share this review of your recent Ocean Two experience.

We are all very delighted that you had such an enjoyable time here with us and that you truly appreciated the genuine and excellent service provided by our staff.

We hope to welcome you back to Ocean Two in the future!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We spent four nights here at the end of a two island holiday. It was a return trip to Barbados but this hotel was not built when we were here before. If you like ultra-modern then you will love this. We had a one bed ocean view suite on 7th floor which was very well-equipped, including dishwasher, washing machine and separate dryer! The bathroom was huge and the shower superb. However, we hated the fact that the bedroom was over furnished (could hardly walk around the bed) and it had no window. Also, we found the bed uncomfortable, but that was just personal choice. Other types of rooms are available so if you want a window in your bedroom check with hotel before you book. Having said that, they hotel staff were excellent. A special mention for Cory the lifeguard/beach attendant who was a credit to the hotel. As we were on room only option I cannot comment on the restaurant but it is ideally placed for all The Gap has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear cockerspanielbabe,

Thank you for sharing this review! Overall it sounds as though you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us. Your kind remarks have been relayed to Corey and the entire O2 team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two in the future!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERKSHIRE
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

fabulous light and airy hotel. The well decorated foyer opens up directly to the swimming pools/loungers and onto the soft white sandy beach. Rooms were spotless, marble floors and huge very comfortable bed. Balcony with chairs/table. Bathroom had jacusi and a shower that could have held 16 people with stone bench and massive shower head. Lovely towels and double wash basins. Extremely quiet with attentive friendly staff - welcome rum/fruit punch on arrival. Meals around the pool arrived quickly but a little on the pricey side. For snacking there is a small supermarket opposite that many people used for taking picnic food to the beach. Loungers are well padded and comfortable too.

We only left because we were joining a clipper in Bridgetown but this is certainly a hotel that one could stay in happily for some time.

The only `downside` is that once the water slopes away on the beach there is quite a lot of coral which catches your legs - take jell sandals and all will be ok.

many restaurants and bars easily within walking distance. Walk to the main road if you find the taxi expensive ($41) as white vans come along every 2 seconds and only cost $2 ! and you have a good trip down to Bridgetown - you do have to listen to very loud music en route and the vehicle would never pass an MOT in Uk but thats all part of the experience. Going to the fish market on Friday nights at Oistins a must and you should try not to miss this. The food is well priced and superbly cooked - market stalls are worth a browse too.

Room Tip: all excellent - did hear from others that they would go for just a room another time as the apartmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear TILLYFARLAR,

Thank you for sharing this review! You have certainly highlighted some of our many excellent features and amenities.

We are truly pleased that you had such a fantastic stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two soon!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

A fantastic stay where nothing was too much for all the staff. We had an ocean view 1 bedroom apartment, they are huge and come equipped with everything you could possibly need in the kitchen. The washing machine and dryer was a bonus. The balcony, with table, chairs andv2 loungers was exceptional. The bed was super comfortable.

Our favourite spot was the roof top pool and loungers (the best you ever seen)! We first came across the rooftop at the managers weekly party, nibbles, loads to drink and brill steel band.

Another plus is the free wifi.

Our starter order (due to arriving Christmas Eve with early shop closing) was not ready, but the order was soon with us and we were given wine and beers as an apology. Christmas day we were also given a gift of luxury chocolates (lovely).

We had a couple of snack lunches there, both fine. We had continental breakfast every day, pre-booked, we found that sufficient. The breakfast setting was lovely by the beach and ocean.

Oceans is also well located for getting out and about. We hired a car whilst there for three days and saw much of the Island. I will post separate reviews for where we ate (Harlequin, Oistins, Oceans 15, Atlantis). We only did one excursion, Calabraza (reviewed separately) and hired the car from Stoutes, efficient and reliable service.

We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Ocean view, anything above the ground floor (pool level).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Kasyorks,

A warm thank you for taking the time to post this review! We are all very delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay here with us, particularly our Panorama Roof Deck which boasts spectacular views.

Thank you for highlighting those details such as the complimentary wi-fi provided and the due care given to efficiently address and correct any mistakes that might occur, as we continuously strive to provide a memorable and enjoyable guest experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

It's a true 5 star resort. We booked a 1 bedroom suite. It was an 850 sq ft apartment that felt like home. I'll keep the review short, but we couldn't ask for anything more! The beach was nice, as the waters were shallow and deep enough to play in (Swimming,snorkeling,wading). The restaurant was a bit pricey, but the quality of food was excellent. We were treated like royalty by the staff and couldn't ask for more. If you're considering staying at this hotel, don't even debate the idea and just book it. You won't be disappointed! Right across the street was the Dover Mini Market. We stopped there almost every night picking up snacks at beverages. Great location in the Gap/Dover Beach, within 10 min walk of the true "St Lawrence Gap".

Room Tip: We had room # 109, which was right next to the kitchen. The ruckus would start at 7am as they opened...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear mlewis311,

Thank you for taking the time to share this brief but detailed review!

It is quite pleasing to read that you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your stay here with us, particularly the excellent customer service provided by our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean Two quite soon!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Britain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We recently stayed for 10 nights with another couple at the Oceans Two on an All Inclusive package. There were a few problems at the beginning regarding what was included in the package but this was soon sorted out. Breakfast is buffet style, lunch and dinner were a la Carte. Lunch and Dinner had to be booked in the morning,overall the restaurant staff were polite and helpful, unfortunately on several occasions we had to wait for long periods of time for our orders to be taken, 45 minutes on one evening, this had nothing to do with the restaurant staff, the kitchen is unable to cater for more than 15 people at one time, however when we did get our food it was lovely, especially the Greek salad with shrimps! The menu could do with changing every few days and a few more puddings added. The pool area has comfy sunbeds and the beach/pool attendants are extremely helpful and great fun. The beach was lovely, a little rocky in places but just round the corner is another lovely beach. The reception staff again are very helpful and will book restaurants and excursions for you. The rooms were very well equipped and the rain shower brilliant. All in all we had a wonderful time and would certainly return to this hotel, however next time we would book room only as there are plenty of restaurants and bars within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear thetraveller100,

Thank you for posting this review of your recent Ocean Two experience. We are very pleased that you had such a wonderful time here with us & we greatly appreciate your kind remarks about your stay.

As you have expressed interest in returning here with us, we thought that you would be pleased to know that to complement our current dinner menu, the Taste Restaurant has introduced an additional special dinner menu which changes nightly.

Overall, it sounds as though you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here with us and we truly hope to welcome you back to Ocean Two for many more wonderful holidays to come!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Two Resort & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Two Resort & Residences

Address: Dover St, St Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Two Resort & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Two Resort & Residences is a brand new, 4*, beachfront property located at the far end of St.Lawrence Gap with a wide array of amenities and facilities. It is the ideal location for romantic retreats, family holidays, girlfriend getaway, family reunions/group travel as well as meetings and incentive groups! With its spacious accommodations including Hotel Rooms, One Bedroom & Two Bedroom Suites with genuine, Bajan hospitality, Ocean Two is THE place to stay on the South Coast of Barbados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Regatta Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Two Resort & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Two Resort & Residences Hotel St Lawrence Gap
Ocean Two Resort And Residences
Ocean 2 Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences Barbados/St Lawrence Gap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Two Resort & Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.