We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of heaven .....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Two Resort & Residences

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ocean Two Resort & Residences to your Saves list
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dover St, St Lawrence Gap, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in St Lawrence Gap
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven .....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My daughter and I have just returned from a 10 day stay at the Ocean Two Resort & Residences for my 40th and may I say, my stay there has made a very special memory.

To the Management:

I wanted to express my appreciation for the first class service I received during my stay at the Ocean Two Resort & Residences Hotel. In particular, "Jeffrey, Earrie, Andre, Shontell, Patrick, Victoria, Robin, GM Paul Collymore and front desk staff were all very helpful and deserve a great deal of praise for their excellent customer service. They made me feel like I was home.

Well done to you and your staff for making my stay a great one - I will definitely be staying with the  Ocean Two Resort & Residences again.

My beach front suit was first class with the most amazing view of the silver sanded beach, I never tire of the view.

I would like to thank you again for our great stay with you and will certainly recommend your hotel to anyone wishing to be advised on accommodation in Barbados.

Get booking guys this is the place to stay if your going to Barbados!

Kind Regards
Gilkesy x

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Helen G,

Many thanks for sharing such wonderful comments of your stay here with us and for your high recommendation.

At Ocean Two we always strive to exceed guest expectations and to provide exceptional customer service and from your comments it seems safe to say that we have succeeded. Your kind remarks have been relayed to all staff members mentioned and to the entire O2 team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back “home” soon!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    155
    29
    2
    1
See reviews for
202
453
25
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days recently and loved the hotel. The staff is amazingly friendly and helpful. More so than I have seen in a LONG time. Our beach chairs were always ready in the morning and everyone was willing to bring us a 3rd chair, open an umbrella, etc. They offer cold water drinks, cold towels and misting during the day at the beach and pool and all of the employees are wonderful and fun! They add to your vacation.

We did not eat here because of the reviews we saw and wish that the hotel had a little more nightlife going on. If you are going for a resort type feeling with a big pool and lots of areas for kids then this is not the resort for you but for us it was great. The rooms are beautiful, the beds very comfortable and the balconies are amazing with a perfect view. The beach was well kept and the loungers were amazing-so comfortable! We stayed til sunset each day and that's exactly what we were looking for. I highly recommend Ocean Two!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear izzyq,

Thank you for sharing this review and many thanks for highlighting those aspects of which we take great pride, namely our staff, excellent customer service, exceptionally well kept property and rooms and spectacular views.

We are all quite delighted that you had such a fantastic time here with us and we hope to welcome you back to Ocean Two in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Wow is all you can say as you look through the lobby to the beautiful umbrellas, pool and onto the pristine, white sand and beach.
We were taken to our One Bedroom Ocean Front Suite and we said 'Wow'. I have never had a 'wine fridge' before.
Location great - we ate out a fair bit and prepared food in the great facilities of our room, as the cost of the restaurant will of course add up, but not excessive for the standard.
Swimming pools very clean and everything beautiful.

Room Tip: You cannot travel to Barbados and not have an ocean view room, that would be very disappointing I th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Had a fab week after our cruise it was really chilled the rooms are excellent clean and very spacious the staff are really friendly especially Patrick who worked on the beach he is a funny guy who looked after us well would definitely go back great place great hotel great staff

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Murchys,

Thank you for sharing this review !

In just a few words you have highlighted all of the great aspects of Ocean Two that provides guests like yourself a most memorable and enjoyable holiday. We thank you for your kind remarks and have relayed your positive comments to Patrick and the entire O2 team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to “paradise” soon!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Recently opened, the Ocean Two has just what you need for a lazy relaxing holiday - Beach Front location, good food, fantastic, large, Ocean facing rooms and above all, some of the friendliest staff we have come across in our many years of travel. We stayed for three nights in December, and after a week in the Grenadines, changed our plans and made an unscheduled return to stay for the last 4 days of our trip. Nothing seemed a problem - the smiles and friendliness seemed very genuine - neither over the top nor forced - and we were made to feel both comfortable and welcome. Yes, it is on the South coast and a whole 25 minutes from some of the West coast attractions such as the Cliff Restaurant (a MUST do - book weeks in advance and save up) - but it is also on the doorstep of St Lawrence Gap where there are enough bars and restaurants to keep you busy any night you like.

For a new hotel, they have got so much right so quickly - and we would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Go for Beach front as opposed to side view - they are a good size, have large balconies and there ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear kyzal,

Thank you for sharing this review and for highlighting all of the amazing qualities and characteristics of Ocean Two the property and of Ocean Two’s incredible staff.

It was our great pleasure to welcome you back to Ocean Two for those four days and we truly hope to “re-welcome” you back again in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed for a week after Christmas 2012 - family with kids 12 and 15

A sign of a well managed hotel is the way they deal with the situation when things go wrong. We arrived to find that the room type we had booked was not available and we were placed in an inferior "Bay" view unit. However the staff were exemplary in handling this, immediately liasing with our travel agent, offering complimentary New Years Eve Dinner (at a not inconsiderable BD$250 a head - see more below) and within 24 hours allocating a beautiful 2 bed Ocean View unit. Excellent service all round and we had the feeling that they were mortified by the mistake and they made every effort to put it right - well done!

The surroundings to the hotel are not especially salubrious and the lane down to the entrance could do with having a few potholes repaired. Mini Supermarket across the road great for snacks and drinks etc and not far to walk to the Gap (although we did not do this ourselves).

The accomodation is very spacious with modern stylish furnishing and excellently equipped if you do want to self cater. Amazing bathrooms with full sized toiletries. One thing though - we did not know you had to turn the water heater on. Some instructions with the in-room information would have saved a couple of cold showers before we discovered the water heater in a cupboard! We used both bedrooms (massive comfortable beds) and the sofa bed in the living area which, for a sofa bed, was quite comfy for our daughter. TV reception and selection not great if that is important to you. Balcony well furnished and provided a lovely place to sit in the shade. Housekeeping excellent and very patient - we generally neede to have the room ddone in the aftrenoon but this was never a problem.

Pool and Beach service is excellent - a lovely team of staff who were happy to find beds, erect umbrellas, bring drinks and spray cooling unguents when required. The massive red loungers by the pool were reserved every day very early which was very annoying as they were often vacant till later in the morning. However by the afternoon they became free again. Roof Top pool was deserted every day and we used this when it got cooler - bliss!

The only reason I have given 4 stars not 5 is the food provision. The hotel was clearly full but it is apparent that the kitchens cannot cope with demand. As other reviwers have said they only take 15 orders at at time for lunch which leads to being in a half empty restaurant area but still waiting ages for food. Breakfast is buffet style and adequate in terms of choice, but could be better (eg towards the end of the week the only cereals on offer were Rice Crispies and Cornflakes) and staff sometimes slow to replenish milk, plates etc.

Dinner was painfully slow especially when there were a couple of large family parties in. The a la carte menu never changed all week. It improved when for a couple of nights a buffet alternative was offered and to be fair the staff were trying their best and offered on one night complimentary cocktails while we waited. The New Years Eve buffet was excellent and the hotel pulled out the stops in terms of decoration and entertainment. It was a shame not more people attended but I fear the price probably put a lot of families off. It was clear throughout the week that the majority of residents were eating elsewhere. I certainly would not recommend eating in house if you are a foodie!

All in all we had an enjoyable stay and for families that need separate sleeping areas (our main criteria!) Ocean Two is difficult to beat

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear familygal_7,

Thank you for sharing this highly detailed review of your stay here with us at Ocean Two. I join you in commending our team for the exemplary manner in which they were able to efficiently rectify your accommodation.

We are all extremely pleased that you had such an enjoyable time during your stay, particularly celebrating with us as we rang in the new year in grand style!

We truly appreciate your comments with regards to your dining experience as guest satisfaction is of the highest importance to us and your feedback greatly aides us in our continued efforts to provide excellent customer service and a memorable guest experience.

Once again, many thanks for sharing your review and we truly hope to welcome you back to Ocean Two in the future!

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic views, hotel, room and front of house staff. This really is a great hotel and although we were only there 1 night we would definitely return. Only have one comment and that is the attitude and poor service from the restaurant staff has meant I could not give 5 out of 5. They made ordering a table, drinks and food a real task and I can imagine a week or more of them might be a bit much. That said everything else is perfect and there are lots of restaurants nearby that are easily reached and very good and well worth a trip out.
Sort the restaurant and you will have one of the best hotels on the island.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanHotelsBarbados, Operations Manager at Ocean Two Resort & Residences, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Philthompson27,

Many thanks for taking the time to post this review! We were very disappointed to read about your dining experience and sincerely apologize as this is not our usual standard. Your comments have been relayed to the Food & Beverage Manager and have been addressed with the entire Food & Beverage department to ensure that this level of service is not repeated.

Overall, it seems as though you had an excellent time with us and we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Ocean Two in the future.

Kind Regards,

Paul Collymore
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Two Resort & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Two Resort & Residences

Address: Dover St, St Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
#1 Family Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Two Resort & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Two Resort & Residences is a brand new, 4*, beachfront property located at the far end of St.Lawrence Gap with a wide array of amenities and facilities. It is the ideal location for romantic retreats, family holidays, girlfriend getaway, family reunions/group travel as well as meetings and incentive groups! With its spacious accommodations including Hotel Rooms, One Bedroom & Two Bedroom Suites with genuine, Bajan hospitality, Ocean Two is THE place to stay on the South Coast of Barbados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Booking.com, Regatta Hotels, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Two Resort & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean 2 Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort And Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences Hotel St Lawrence Gap
Ocean Two Resort & Residences Barbados/St Lawrence Gap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Two Resort & Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.