We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well furnished apartment in an optimal location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salt Ash Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Lawrence Gap
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Salt Ash Apartments
St Lawrence Gap, St Lawrence Gap, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Darmstadt, Hessen, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very well furnished apartment in an optimal location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I've been at the Salt Ash in St. Lawrence Gap for 10 nights in the second half of January 2013, staying in one of their studio aprtments in the main building.

The apartment I had was very well furnished with everything I needed (bathroom and kitchen included). The forniture was for sure not the most modern I can have, but it was functional.

Moreover the view from the balcony was really owesone (I was on the 1st floor), directly on the beach (to reach the beach I just had to go down the stairs!).
There is also a good surf school next by the building (they share the same beach), in case you also decide to try this experience!

Also the bar was quite good and in general the staff was available for every kind of information or help I needed!

I really enjoined my stay there, for example having breakfast in the morning using the chairs and table of the balcony, directly in front of the ocean, was very nice and relaxing :-)
If I really have to say one, the only negative thing was the fridge: a little bit noisy, but I could anyway sleep wothout problems!

Considering the location of the apartment I think that the price is quite fair, and I haven't experienced the security problems mentioned in previous (older) reviews.

If I'll go again in St. Lawrence Gap, going again in the Salt Ash would very likely be my solution again!

Room Tip: I had the room on the first floor, which had a very good view. Those on the ground floor are in fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseanna489, Public Relations Manager at Salt Ash Apartments, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Google Translation
Lieber Nicola H. Wir freuen uns, dass Sie Ihren Aufenthalt im Salt Ash, wo alle Wohnungen sind mit Meerblick und am Strand genossen. Wir aktualisieren ständig Salt Ash und das Innere der Wohnungen. Wir haben den Austausch der Geräte und der Geräte nach Bedarf geplant. Wir bemühen uns um eine sichere und freundliche Atmosphäre im Salt Ash halten. Wir freuen uns darauf, Sie wieder bei uns zu bleiben, wenn Sie sich für den St. Lawrence Gap zurück. Best wishes, Management und Mitarbeiter.

Dear Nicola H. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Salt Ash, where all apartments are ocean view and on the beach. We are constantly updating Salt Ash and the interior of the apartments. We have scheduled the replacement of utensils and of appliances as required. We strive to maintain a safe, secure and friendly atmosphere at Salt Ash. We look forward to having you stay with us again, if you choose to return to St. Lawrence Gap. Best wishes, Management and Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We spent a fabulous month at this hotel and were very pleased. The place is very basic, but who needs fancy when you are on such a gorgeous beach.
The staff were very accomodating and pleasant to deal with.
We have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseanna489, Public Relations Manager at Salt Ash Apartments, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Blain A. Thank you for your complimentary review. We do agree that our properties offer "excellent value for the money." Since your return visit, we have updated most of the rooms and would appreciate your feedback. We always endeavour that our staff maintain a pleasant and friendly atmosphere. Thank you for being a repeat guest. Management & staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Very nice location and lovely people running the bar, but security is none existant. On our second day someone climbed over the roof, broke in through the patio door and stole the safe. The safe was not secured at all, it was only held in place by half inch screws. We were very dissapointed by the hotel managements response. For the rest of our stay, they didn't offer to move us to another room, they didn't repair the damaged patio door, they didn't even clean off the black fingerprint powder that they police used in their investigation. They offered no help or compensation. If you stay here keep your money and passport on you at all times!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaltAsh-4Aces, Guest Relations Manager at Salt Ash Apartments, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Sid1964,
We are sorry that you and your party had experienced a breach of security during your stay. Senior management were not made aware of this incident until after your departure. Steps have been taken to ensure that any such incidents will be reported to senior management immediately and all possible steps taken to mitigate such incidents. Although you claim that “security is none existent”, this is incorrect. Several staff were and are on duty daily and at least one security guard was and continues to be on site overnight. We believe that lock pins were accessible to further secure the patio door and we presume that they were not attached, making it easier for the primary lock to be pried open. Further enhancements to securing the patio doors have been made. You mentioned that “The safe was not secured at all” but you contradict that statement with “it was only held in place (secured) by half inch screws”. In fact, it was secured by four half inch screws. You did not indicate whether you asked for another room and we would be very surprised that such a request would have been denied if any other of the nine rooms was available. We understand that you and/or members of your party had met and befriended an individual (known to locals as a career thief) at Scotty’s, an off-site bar. We also understand that he had visited your apartment previously. Regardless, we are deeply troubled by this turn of events and we would like to have an opportunity to serve you better should you decide to return. We would be pleased to discuss with you what arrangements would be satisfactory to both parties. Best regards. Management and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banwell
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

Went to Barbados May 9th to the 23rd stayed at the Salt Ash apts, as previous reviews stated this is right on beach with fabulous surf and the lads at the surf shack very nice. Abdul, Kimberley, Margaret and Denise at the bar lovely people along with Tyrone who cooks a free sunday lunch for all of us. BUT although the apts are very basic and reasonably clean the air con is not good and there is scant security. After last years storm the razor wire was removed and the security lights had been disconnected and because of this and the fact that the night security guard was not doing his job we were broken into from the back of the apartments through our patio doors (we presume they came in over the roof and then forced the door open). We had a large amount of money stolen along with an ipod touch and accessories from the tin box behind a locked cupboard door (this was their idea of a safe). Several people in our party after our experience then tried opening their cupboard doors with unrelated keys and they managed to open them!! The security guard was very unhelpful and his manner left much to be desired and he was forced by the management to apologise to us and the rest of the party for his attitude the next day. The police were not much better and employed delaying tatics in our receiving a report from themselves hoping I think that we would give up and go home without it. After contacting the British Consulate in Bridgetown (who were extremely helpful and even phoned us when back in England to check we were ok) the police released the report to the hotel manager who had to collect it from the Police Station in Oistins and made it back to us 10 minutes before we caught our bus back to the airport. Advice, if you want to go to these apartments expect very, very basic accommodation and do not take cash, from our experience it has to be travellers cheques, yes you have to take your passport to the bank but you have to do this when changing cash as well. We were told that the apartments are now up for sale and this is the reason that there is a lack of expenditure on security measures. The majority of people there are extremely nice but unfortunately there is an underlying element which is bad. This was our 7th visit to Barbados and never before have we been so angry, upset and disappointed by not only our experience but the way we were treated afterwards.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaltAsh-4Aces, Guest Relations Manager at Salt Ash Apartments, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Fox063
Thank you for your complimentary opening comments regarding the location of Salt Ash and our pleasant and friendly staff. We are also delighted that the individuals who work for Barry’s Surf Barbados and Tyrone’s Bar were just as pleasant and friendly.
I am surprised that any complaint that you may have lodged with staff regarding the air conditioning was not addressed and corrected. Regarding your “reasonably clean” statement in reference to your apartment, we provide daily maid service and any concerns should be brought to management’s attention immediately. We had not previously received concerns regarding any problem with the air conditioning and I can assure you that they are functioning well in all the apartments. We always have at least one security guard on duty overnight for the two buildings and two cottages. Please be aware that security lights are not now and have never been “disconnected.” It was raining the evening in question and somewhat heavy at times which may have impacted one of the lamps. We are sorry that your apartment was broken into and we regret any loss. Thankfully, your passports were in your possession. We believe that lock pins were accessible to further secure the patio door and we presume that they were not attached, making it easier for the primary lock to be pried open. Subsequently, further enhancements to securing the patio doors have been made. Upon arrival of the security guard and the police, the metal lock box where your valuables were placed was observed to be unlocked. The police requested that you check the locking mechanism of the metal lock box and we believe that it functioned normally. We have tried to duplicate opening the cupboard door with “unrelated” keys within which the metal lock box is located, but we were unsuccessful. Nevertheless, we are deeply disturbed that you felt mistreated and staff have been redressed as a subsequence. We have no say in the way the police conduct their investigations. They alone can address your concerns regarding their tardy report. Although, the property had been listed for sale, it has no bearing whatsoever on expenditures on security measures or other items. Since your visit, the exterior of Salt Ash and the interior of its apartments as well as the interior of the King, the Queen and Four Aces apartments and its furnishings etc. are constantly being updated. We would like to have an opportunity to serve you better should you decide to return. Best regards. Management and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forestville, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

I see one reviewer had a problem with Salt Ash, I don't know what Salt Ash Apts he went to, because what he describes in not the Salt Ash Apts I went too.. The Salt Ash Apts is one of the very few reasonably priced lodgings in Barbados. Not only is Salt Ash located right on a fun surfing beach it is also out of the (loud) music zone but still very close to Saint Lawrence Gap. Amenities such as 2 markets and shopping are within easy walking distance. This is not a 5 star hotel, sometimes the air conditioning doesn't cool as much as you would like, wi-fi doesn't work on the 3rd floor (most of the time) no swimming pool, however you are only steps from the warm, the tourquois waters of Caribbean sea. Each unit has mini kitchens (great for cooking your own meals) and balconies, Salt Ash also has the only beach bar with in walking distance.
Kimberley, the inn keeper is a real sweetheart, very nice person. Margret, who cleans the rooms is fun and always cheerful. If you hang out by the bar you will probably meet Abdul, who can put together any tour you want. There is an on site surf shop (bring your own wax) where you can rent boards or take lessons.
If you are on a budget, Salt Ash Apts is by far, the best "bang" for your tourist dollar.

Room Tip: Maybe 2nd level--all rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEATH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

Forget your 5 star, expensive bar, shirt and tie and la di da. Salt Ash is basic but brilliant. Location is perfect. Perfect beach, bar within reach and all the best restaurants just down the street. Fancy a surf, then Barrys the man with the plan.Jonno and Barbie are the best surf coaches I'd say, they guarantee you'll be standing before each day. Barry is a gent so mellow and sweet and he always has a smile and a handshake to greet. Dont book a posh pad or a resort thats all in! Stay in Salt Ash and you will leave with a Grin.
Mini mart at main road sells amazing lunches in a foam box. My last day I had Grilled Marlin, Garlic Potatoes and steamed veggies for about $10!! Dont be afraid to eat with the locals...they are great craic and boy can they sing......oh and drink too.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaltAsh-4Aces, Guest Relations Manager at Salt Ash Apartments, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Manananmeaeth. We are delighted at your poetic complimentary review of Salt Ash. I think that you would agree that Salt Ash is more in keeping with a 3 to 31/2 Star rating which is reflective of our rates. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Salt Ash and Barbados. We’d love to be your hosts again. Check us out on the web. Best regards. Management and Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Salt Ash is still up and running as of July 2010. It's a simple place -not flashy, but the people who run it are kind and gracious. The hotel is on the beach-can't get a better spot. The rooms are basic, but clean, bright, and ample hot water. There's a beach bar and friendly crowd that hangs out there. While your there check out the Hideaway Bar too....

I've stayed other places on the island that were okay, but I'll return to Salt Ash as long as the remain open.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salt Ash Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Ash Apartments

Address: St Lawrence Gap, St Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Specialty lodging in St Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salt Ash & Four Aces Apartments comprise of (Salt Ash) a beach front apartment hotel. Also on the property are an apartment building (Four Aces)and two cottages (King & Queen). Four Aces and King and Queen are steps away from the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Salt Ash Apartments Hotel St Lawrence Gap
Salt Ash Apartments Barbados/St Lawrence Gap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt Ash Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Salt Ash Apartments to your Saves list