We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suites the Down-to-earth Adventurer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rio Guest House to your Saves list
Rio Guest House
1.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Paradise Village, St Lawrence Gap, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Suites the Down-to-earth Adventurer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The good:

•The price is great at $35/£27 per night
• The location is perfect: it is right in the middle of St. Lawrence Gap which is the hip strip of Barbados filled with restaurants and clubs.
• Dover Beach is right across the street, through the pink hotel. Dover is one the better beaches on the warm Caribbean Sea side of the island with very gentle waves.
• Oistins which is a fishing village that is the place to be on Fiday and Saturday nights is a short cheap bus ride away
• It's only fifteen minutes to the airport
• The place is quiet in the off season (can't speak about peak times)
• The staff are helpful and friendly
• I was able to use the phone to make local calls free of charge
• There is a safe in the room

The not so good:
• Some of the towels and sheets could be in better condition but were usable
• There is a dodgy area adjacent to the location, if you turn right at all times and walk in The Gap only this area can be avoided. I say dodgy, but I doubt there is any significant danger as all the Barbadians I encountered were super friendly and willing to leave me alone if I asked them to.

Tips:
• Take the bus or route taxis. It's $2BBD equivalent to $1/£0.60 and it's safe.
• The locals are NOT trying to con you. If you're one of those annoying people who distrust everyone who doesn't look like you, stay home.

Room Tip: I was in room 5: single room with shared bathroom out in the hall. It was off season so I mostly had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    40
    7
    5
    6
See reviews for
5
17
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

For the travelling backpacker in Barbados the Rio is a hands down winner. Paula and Dennis are wonderful to deal with and embody the true Bajan style of life.... Relaxed to the max! Dont be in a rush and dont stress here as they will take great care of you. Rooms are Private so its not a dorm set up spare a room or 2. Bathrooms with Hot shower and cleaned every day. Well equiped Kitchen down stairs and its Location is just off the main drag at St Lawrence Gap and is all of 3/4 mins walk to Dover beach!. Well Recommended to all :)

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I went to Barbados in December with a group of friends- We're all in our early 20's. We wanted a budget place to stay close to the action and a nice beach. The Rio guesthouse ticked off all of the boxes! Rooms are clean and quaint. Staff is super friendly, relaxed, and helpful. Location- across the street from Dover beach (long white sand beach, perfect for afternoons catching some rays and amazing sunsets). Cheap places to grab meals nearby. Steps away from the night life action. If I'm ever in Barbados again, I'm heading here- all for about 20 USD/ night.

Room Tip: Studio room- if you want to share with friends, we squeezed 6 in this room one night. Just for fun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Loved my stay at the Rio Guesthouse! The location was beautiful! Even though it is not located on the beach, you only have to cross the street & you are standing on beautiful Dover Beach! All kinds of restaurants, shops, banks, convenience stores... everything is walking distance from the guesthouse!

The staff was very friendly & very accommodating! A very pleasant stay! My room was very small, but the bed was very comfortable & everything was clean!

Best small restaurant located 2 minutes walk from the Rio is called Pablo Donte's! Maureen & Paul are just so nice & friendly! Local Bajan food & fresh fish on the grill outside on the patio! Very intimate & calm to have a nice dinner outside!

45 minute walk from the Oistins Fish Market, where they have the famous local Fish Fry on Friday nights! Great ambience & fun! Fish is delicious & very affordable! An enormous fish plate for about US$12! Fantastic!

I recommend this place to all low budget travellers! You get your money's worth & again, the location is perfect! About 20 minutes from Bridgetown airport (US$16-17 taxi fare 1 way), it is very easily accessible!

Room Tip: Do not take Room number 5! The window is located on the outside pation (2nd floor). People go on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Stayed at the Rio Guest House with a group of friends for 2 nights on the way to St. Vincent. For a group of 20 somethings it was fantastic. The owners are awesome and are used to having young people come in and out, partying to the wee hours. The place is nothing fancy, you get what you pay for and the price is reasonable. Nice and close to the beach and some awesome restaurants and bars. About a 15 minute cab from the airport which will cost you about 15 USD. If you just need a place to lay your head the Rio Guest House is spot on!

Room Tip: There is a bigger room on the main floor with a dedicated washroom. The rooms upstairs have a commun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Rio GH is really me second home! Stayed there 2 months this year. Don't know where to start:
1. Paula and Dennis are amazing hosts
2. location is amazing, everything in Gap is close and you can have fab night life without worrying how to get home
3. rooms are great, there is big variety to choose from
4. you can also stay in "pebbles" house next to Rio, it has 4 bedrooms and if you have a group, you can book the whole house
5. kitchen is fully equipped and cooking can be done any time
6. communal terrace to hang out
7. they have little things that make GH pleasant, like: special box in the kitchen where people can leave groceries while departing and these things can be used, fridge is divided in sections, each room has one, same applies for kitchen cabinets. simply amazing!
All in all, this is definitely BEST place on the island if you're looking for budget accommodation.

Room Tip: all rooms are great, depends what you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

The Rio Guesthouse is not fancy but it is unbeatable value. I travel as a solo woman and I haven't once felt unsafe at the Rio. I generally select a 2 person room so I have a private bathroom which I prefer. The beds aren't that comfey but really...you should be spending all your time on the beach or up the Gap so don't complain. :)
The rooms have safes, air conditioning (for additional $) and wireless internet. You meet the most wonderful people when you stay at the Rio!

When travelling as a solo woman I always use one taxi driver, don't tell people where I'm staying and even though I feel safe walking from the Rio up the Gap in the evening I always take a cab home even though it isn't that far. lol

A wonderful place with local fare and economical prices is Christines Just Stop. If you leave the Rio and turn left down to the sports field & Red Rock. Turn left at Red Rock and walk up to the end of the sports field and it's on your right hand side. Christine is awesome! (Support Local, Eat Local)

Whenever I come home from the Rio back to Canada I miss falling asleep to the sound of the frogs and waking up to the sound of people on the tennis court. :)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rio Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Guest House

Address: Paradise Village, St Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St Lawrence Gap
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in St Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Rio Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Rio Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Guest House Hotel St Lawrence Gap
Rio Guest House Barbados/St Lawrence Gap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.