We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Palms

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Southern Palms to your Saves list
Southern Palms
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   St Lawrence Gap, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St Lawrence Gap
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bridgetown, Saint Michael, Barbados
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Always a Pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I have been visiting Southern Palms for over 13 years. This is one of the first restaurants that my husband and I frequented. We spent numerous afternoons enjoy tasty lunches just next to the beach, and dinners under the stars. Our daughters had loads of fun running around the massive grounds and jumping in an out of the two swimming pools. The family favorite is a lovely old macaw called 'Koko' Such a beautiful bird. The girls would often stop by the cage and sing songs, which 'Koko' took quite an interest in. The management was very accommodating when we arranged a sweet 16 birthday party of one of our daughters. It was a terrific party, catering to culinary preferences of the young ones. We always receive a warm welcome from the staff, and have enjoyed many delights on special occasions, such as Valentine's day, Christmas and New Years Eve Parties.

Whatever the occasion, the Management and Staff of the Southern Palms always rise to the occasion.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    223
    65
    22
    11
See reviews for
106
317
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

This was our 14 th visit to the beautiful southern palms! We are so inlove with this place. Hotel gorgeous, staff amazing and friendly. It's just so well run! We married at southern palms back in 2000 and are lucky enough to celebrate our Anniversary year after year! It's just magical. Food yummy drinks too...lol...love rumpuch nights and syndikyt band singing Saturdays, steel band is fab on Sunday afternoons as you sunbathe with a cocktail or two...
The food is amazing here also with st Lawrence gap on your doorstep you can't go wrong. Dover is definately the best beach by far! We can't wait til this December to return but, are missing it so much right now! We love love love southern palms xxx

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is our 10th year at Southern palms we love the hotel and the location, we always stay for one Month, All the staff are brilliant and so courteous and helpfull nothing is too much trouble, The food in the Restaurant is of the highest quality and always served with a smile. The entertainment is varied and caters for all tastes. We have already booked for our 11th visit to Southern Palms again going in December for one Month. We highly recommend this hotel, The only drawback is that one Month is not enough time to spend in Paradise.

Room Tip: The view from the room is amazing. we find it hard to leave the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My young family and I have just returned from a 2 week stay at this resort and it was superb.

The staff are so friendly and welcoming and the attention they gave to our 2 year old boy Charlie was fantastic, they really involved him in everything and made his holiday.

The room we had was big, bright and airy with clean towels and maid service daily. There was also a small kitchen area with fridge, kettle etc which enables you to hold food provisions in your room. This is especially welcome with a young child.

All of the hotel guest are polite, friendly and courteous. The place really does generate a warm and ftiendly atmosphere.

The beaches are beautiful and the food and drink available is to a good standard.

If you are planning to visit Barbados then look no further than the Southern Palms!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Had a wonderful 2 weeks at Southern Palms in Dec 2013. Loved it so much have already booked to go back this Dec. The room overlooked the pool and had a great view of the beach and ocean. Room was always cleaned every day. The staff go out of their way to help you and make you feel so welcome. Breakfast was plentiful and I just loved the corn beef hash with fried onion and peppers. Steel band on Sunday afternoon added to the atmosphere of the hotel. Our third visit to Barbados and 2nd in St Lawrence Gap. Some great restaurants, The Crave (next to Reggae Lounge) one of our favourites, it has only been opened 4 mths and the food is excellent. 2-4-1 cocktails before 8pm was a bonus. Services very good and the Jazz Lady singing on Sunday evenings was good. Love Barbados and as my partner is recovering from a serious illness I often ventured out on my own and felt perfectly comfortable and safe. Even went into Bridgtown on my own and not once did I feel out of place. All in all a very laid back, relaxing holiday and can't wait to go back. You will not be disappointed with Southern Palms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We just came from barbados after staying at southern palms hotel..we paid £900 to upgrade to sea view. The room was so small..no tea or coffee (only on arrival). The restaurant was very expensive and was the drinks in the bar.
Would not stay there again

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Another return visit to the Southern Palms hotel - average rooms, bathrooms and decor, BUT the most amazing views over one of the nicest beaches in Barbados. Edric as welcoming as ever. The beach outside the hotel never feels crowded, even during the day you can find a lovely spot to sit. The hotel has a lovely peaceful feel to it. It is well located, you can safely walk to lots of local restaurants. So many of the barbados resorts are in areas where you cannot just easily go out, particularly after dark.


Every year we consider looking for somewhere more fancy, but every time come back to southern Palms as hotels with this location, an informal style and a friendly welcome like this are like gold dust!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Palms

Address: St Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southern Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Regatta Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Southern Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Palms Hotel St Lawrence Gap
Southern Palms Christ Church
Southern Palms Barbados/St Lawrence Gap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.