We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Palms

Save Saved
You added Southern Palms to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southern Palms
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   St Lawrence Gap, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in St Lawrence Gap
Ashburton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is about our tenth year at Southern Palms, and as always we were greeted so warmly by all the staff, most of whom have been there all this time! We have one holiday a year, and this is an absolute haven for us, we lead very busy lives and really value our stay hugely. Once we found the Palms we never felt the need to try anywhere else, as we were sure we could not improve on it in any way and would hate to waste our time trying something different.
We love you all!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    183
    54
    22
    10
See reviews for
81
249
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Goderich, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We picked up the "English Pub Night" on Saturday from Totally Barbados and we were not disappointed. The Pub menu was very good and reasonable. The live entertainment was a bonus! 'would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Maitre D' is rude and ignores reservations and requests. Food is bland and very expensive. $80 for brunch for two. Manager does not care about her customers. We have been to many Barbados restaurants and hotels and this is the only one that we did not like.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I have nothing bad to say about this place. The staff was wonderful; the oceanview suites were incredible-- clean and comfortable, with stunning views-- the drinks were always great (ask for the pineapple daiquiri! OMG!) and the beach was absolutely beautiful. I wish the pools stayed open later. We had a wonderful time; a great cab driver waited for us nightly to take us to Crop Over and to different restaurants and bars in the Gap and beyond. He took care of us, and it was arranged through the hotel. Great place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We were really looking forward to having this buffet on our first day of a wonderful trip to Barbados. The steel pan band was excellent but the food was a big disappointment. If you are into local cuisine than this is NOT the place for you. We felt that the food was bland and catered to a more conservative audience. If you like chicken pot pie, steak and kidney pie or foods that you might see at a British pub than you might enjoy this. But the price was outrageous for what we got out of the experience. The next day we went to Brown Sugar for their bajan buffet and enjoyed the food immensely.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our first stay was 35 years ago this July. We enjoyed it so much that our second stay was 34 years ago this April when we went back to get married.

Since then we have returned frequently including a winter visit each of the past five years. We have been to other islands but with the wisdom of age we've stopped looking and go where we know we will have a good vacation, be welcomed by the staff and meet congenial people.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in july 2012 with my boyfriend after visiting for the day in previous years, would definately recommened this hotel, it couldnt be more relaxing the best part of the whole holiday were the staff who couldn't do enough for you from the minute we got there they were attentive including the very friendly bar staff, barbados is extremely relaxing an a different pace of life perfect for couples, the beach was so quiet and go on forever the locals visit on sundays.

Would recommened 'cool runnings' catamaran trip been on others but were not as good, great relaxing day and swimming with the turtles, also to go on jeep safari trips great way to see the island.

We asked to stay on ground floor as my boyfriend broke his knee and when we got there they upgraded us to a room on the sea which you could see lying in bed! the food at this hotel is amazing, lovley beaches, the location is the best with a range of resturants, small shops and supermarket a minute away!

Definately recommend and after looking at other caribbean islands to visit this year we chose to return to

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Southern Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Palms

Address: St Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
#3 Family Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southern Palms 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Southern Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Palms Hotel St Lawrence Gap
Southern Palms Christ Church
Southern Palms Barbados/St Lawrence Gap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.