We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Palms

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Southern Palms to your Saves list
Southern Palms
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   St Lawrence Gap, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in St Lawrence Gap
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in july 2012 with my boyfriend after visiting for the day in previous years, would definately recommened this hotel, it couldnt be more relaxing the best part of the whole holiday were the staff who couldn't do enough for you from the minute we got there they were attentive including the very friendly bar staff, barbados is extremely relaxing an a different pace of life perfect for couples, the beach was so quiet and go on forever the locals visit on sundays.

Would recommened 'cool runnings' catamaran trip been on others but were not as good, great relaxing day and swimming with the turtles, also to go on jeep safari trips great way to see the island.

We asked to stay on ground floor as my boyfriend broke his knee and when we got there they upgraded us to a room on the sea which you could see lying in bed! the food at this hotel is amazing, lovley beaches, the location is the best with a range of resturants, small shops and supermarket a minute away!

Definately recommend and after looking at other caribbean islands to visit this year we chose to return to

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    222
    65
    22
    11
See reviews for
106
316
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Selby,yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Just returned from my seventh visit to this wonderful hotel.The location is breathtaking and the staff make you feeling really welcome.My only complaint was the reception staff who are not so friendly but this did not spoil my holiday! Going to the Southern Palms is like putting on a comfy pair of slippers! Brilliant - Will be returning next year!

Room Tip: Love the rooms by the small pool.Brilliant location! Rooms 103 and 105 are good.On ground floor so g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Met many nice people. Got to see turtles hatch and rescued some with the local university research team. Food was standard and service slow but plenty of restaurants around. We went on our honeymoon. It was quiet and the beach was clean. Waves were good for bodysurfing.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luebeck
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The people at the front desk are not very friendly and they seemed not well motivated but the people in the restaurant and at the bar where very friendly and motivated.

It was my third stay in your hotel and I remember that it was always like that, that the front desk wasn't friendly. They seemed a bit arrogant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We've stayed here 4 times now and it feels like a "home away from home" now. The beach is superb, location on The Gap is wonderful, staff is attentive considering "Barbados time", and the rooms are adequate. It appears many customers are repeat visitors which we all know is good. As we return each years my of us know each other by name now. Pretty special place for us.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Like you no doubt we read many reviews before we booked. One thing that kept coming up was "you could tell the staff had their regular and long term stay favourites". Lets be honest if you are well known by the staff you are more likely to talk to them more particuailly if you are the type of guest who spends much of their stay within the hotel so i think these comments are unfair. Moving on........GRIPES 1 I know its not a new building however some parts of the hotel needs a few bob throwing at it 2 The plumbing is a tad unreliable 3 The rooms are a little on the small side 4 outrageous to charge guests a fee for an umbrella 5 Buffet nights in the hotel are terrible value and the 6 biggest gripe is the standard of entertainment except the steel band on a sunday afternoon.
HIGHLIGHTS 1 very good location 2 good beach 3 friendly staff 4 great view from room

If you book make sure you either book a pool view which will also give you a great view of the beach. Also St Lawrence Gap is DEAD these days a ghost town in fact so do not expect a buch of good and lively restaurants or ANY clubs at all!

Room Tip: For the best value book a pool view room which also gives you great views of the beach and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Ground floor room, opening straight onto beach, which was great. Worth paying the extra, as many rooms look over the gardens which are lovely - but just not the same. Friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere. Managers welcome drinks party was a nice touch and an opportunity to meet some nice people. Afternoon tea is served in one of the gardens and again nice to chat or just chill out on a bench.
My only adverse comment is that the room could have done with a slight refresh.

Room Tip: Sea view room well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Palms

Address: St Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southern Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Regatta Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Southern Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Palms Hotel St Lawrence Gap
Southern Palms Christ Church
Southern Palms Barbados/St Lawrence Gap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.