We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a few nights” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Time Out Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Time Out Hotel to your Saves list
Time Out Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   St. Lawrence Gap, | Dover Beach, St Lawrence Gap, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in St Lawrence Gap
Riverdale, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good for a few nights”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I got early check-in, but was told that I was lucky that the room was prepared.

The room was basic, and reflected the price, but was all I needed to be comfortable, as I was up and about. The safe didn't work, and the AC wasn't on blast like I like it, but it was fine. I had a small balcony as well to enjoy late afternoons. It came with a Queen size bed, Flat screen TV and min-fridge.

The bathroom was clean, but I never got the hot water to work. Not a deal breaker for me, after a steamy Barbadian day.

Breakfast was continental and included. I think I only had it one day. I was too lazy on other days to go down for it. The Gap is great for food though, especially in the evening, so I never went hungry.

My only sore point was that they sort of lock the main entrance at 11 p.m. requiring you to buzz for security to open. Great for guest safety, a bit of a bother after the first night for me, as I'd be out with friends.

Friends would come to my room and hang out, I didn't see much problem in it, except when I was called by front desk by the receptionist on duty one evening and scolded "I've noticed guests going into your room, that are not registered..." Felt like I was on a college dorm again or on Big Brother! What the hey, since I was the only one in my room, registered my friends to my room, and was done with that.

Otherwise okay hotel in a BEAUTIFUL country. I'd consider it again if on a budget in Barbados.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    122
    41
    15
    7
See reviews for
38
119
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great place to stay if you want value priced accommodation and OK cuisine. Close to beach and attractions. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Pool area is great if you want to have quiet time and read a book or have a dip to cool off from the heat of the day. Other eateries in the area have great value and good food.

Room Tip: Overlook the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here after a recommendation from my parents. The room was large with a super-king bed, tv, free wifi, aircon and a functioning bathroom. The staff were fantastic, everyone from the maids to the front desks were happy to help during our stay. We paid $25 for late check out which was reasonable. Overall it's a tidy property which was more than we expected for the price we paid, especially the size of the room. The decor, fridge and bathroom fixtures were all quite dated but to be honest I've found that's often the standard in the Caribbean. There was a flat screen tv though!

If you just want a nice place to rest your head, close to the beach and attractions of St Lawrence Gap, but not too fancy or expensive, then this place is ideal. I'd certainly recommend this hotel to others and will visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Within a minutes walk of stunning beaches, this hotel is extremely well priced.

The bed was large and comfortable, large room with vaulted ceiling and air con, basic three piece en-suite bathroom.

The hotels biggest asset is its staff who were friendly and extremely helpful.

Julita our maid arranged a complimentary bottle of fizz for my partners birthday.

Pierre and Lisa on reception couldn't do enough. Made our reservations at restaurants, booked our cabs etc.

Clean beach towels provided daily.

I would and most likely will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.wales
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

we stayed at this hotel for two weeks recently and have to say, it was an enjoyable stay here. Yes there are a few negatives, but nothing major. Our room was on the ground floor, right in front of the pool. Check in was quick and easy, and we were asked if we would like help taking our luggage to our room. The rooms arent a bad size, but like someone else mentioned, the fridge is a bit noisy, The beds we found were very comfortable and the room had two of them, one each, they were double size, so plenty room for a person to stretch out. The room was very limited on electric points, you had to pull out the fridge plug to be able to plug the kettle in and again to use the hairdryer, if i wanted to charge my phone or kindle, then i would pull the lamp plug out, not ideal really, the rooms were cleaned every day and the maids were really friendly and pleasant with usually a smile as well. The shower could get a bit hit and miss, but mostly ok. Beach towels were also supplied, which looked of good quality, sun beds were good too, the had thickish pads on them. One of the managers, Alycia,(hope i have spelt it right) came around to ask guests if they were ok and was there any problems, she was the most politest caring manager i have ever come across, not many managers in hotels bother to ask if everything ok, so this was really nice, and she always had a smile, she made all guests feel welcome. The restaurant in the hotel served the most wonderful food, the meals we had in there were always delicious and the restaurant staff were always friendly and polite, and if they werent too busy would stay and have a chat with you nothing was too ,much trouble for them.
On our last day i asked if we could check out at 1.00pm instead of 12.00pm, they said it would be ok and there was no charge, most places would either say sorry that room needed to be cleaned, or charge for the privelidge, so this was great for us. all in all a great stay, and to top it all we met some really nice people staying here as well. The only thing though, there arent safes in all rooms, but reception have deposit boxes, no charge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Cala de Mijas, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Just had three wonderful weeks here. The staff were amazing, very helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and very comfortable and serviced beautifull;y every day. The beautiful Dover beach opposite was great. All restaurants around were good, great food which was particularly good value in the hotel restaurant and bar "The Sporting Pig".
Wifi and internet access was excellent. When asked for accessories (ie Hairdryer, Iron and ironing board) they were brought to the room immediately. Absolutely nothing to pick a problem with all our needs were met. Thanks to the friendliness of staff and management and the beautiful location we really did have an amazing holiday. 100% returning to this wonderful place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego Martin, Saint George, Trinidad and Tobago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I just got back last night from Beautiful Barbados, where I stayed at Time Out Hotel. Best Vacation spot ever!!! The staff ALL friendly and hospitable, the only thing they don't do is throw rose petals for you to walk on, and if suggested I am sure they will........... The room was clean beds are comfy A/C works TV works pool was always clean restaurant clean and staff friendly helpful and food awesome!!!
LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION!!!! There is a Convenience Store on the compound along with a Casino, Car Rental company on the left and a local food store/bar on the left also. Beach across a 6' wide street and basketball,football & Cricket ground on the right always a game to watch. Not even mentioning the fact that we are in St. Lawrence Gap the Night Life Gap of Barbados and all the Restaurants and bars you can think of. Craft makers line the street you can get all their handy work.
My Birthday Vacation I might add, the front desk staff made it soooo much better booked my Tour to Harrison Caves (beautiful must see) and came back to my room to find a bottle of wine all chilled and ready for drinking!!!!
Like I said "simply amazing"

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Time Out Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Time Out Hotel

Address: St. Lawrence Gap, | Dover Beach, St Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Time Out Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Time Out Hotel is ideally located on the South Coast of Barbados, in the St. Lawrence Gap area, across the road from the beautiful Dover Beach and next to Dover playing field. The hotel is situated near restaurants, nightclubs, supermarkets, and casinos. Time Out Hotel consists of 76 rooms divided into Standard rooms, Superior rooms, Pool View rooms and Deluxe/Family suites. In addition, we have a bar and restaurant on property, a pool and our very own wedding coordinator! Whether travelling to Barbados on business or pleasure, we offer you comfortable accommodation, friendly service, and genuine island warmth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Regatta Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., HostelBookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Time Out Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Time Out At The Gap Hotel St Lawrence Gap
Time Out Gap Barbados
Time Out Hotel Barbados/St Lawrence Gap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Time Out Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.