We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Time Out Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Time Out Hotel to your Saves list
Time Out Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   St. Lawrence Gap, | Dover Beach, St Lawrence Gap, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in St Lawrence Gap
Porto Alegre, Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Excelent two weeks in the hotel!!! Great room, excellent people!! The hotel has a an excellent localization, beaches, lawrence gap, night clubs, markets!!
Cricket beside the hotel, Oinstins near too!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    130
    45
    19
    8
See reviews for
39
130
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Just returned from a 6 night stay, could not fault this hotel for the budget, friendly staff, very clean, pleasant rooms with kettle and fridge,tv,wifi , balcony overlooking pool, seconds from the beach, nice pool, microwave in reception, we were on room only basis but people having breakfast in the nice courtyard and resturant open only during the day, but lots of places to eat and drink around,only left here because we wanted a kitchenette or would of stayed for the 2 weeks we had! Recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms have views either on the roadside which has partial sea views, pool view, or side road ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Time Out Hotel, St Lawrence, Barbados

We stayed for one night at the Time Out hotel and I have mixed feelings about the place...
Check in whilst reasonable efficient was awkward with the receptionist trying to get a $100 deposit which I refused to pay on a credit card or with cash as a) we were only putting our heads down before getting our next flight the morning after and b) we had no plans of using any of the 'limited' services or Facilities available at this motel.

The room was functional, reasonably spacious and clean - so no worries there.

Breakfast was a little strange ... There must have been 6 or 7 staff members serving 5 or 6 tables yet it took almost an hour to get a continental breakfast which, was a painfully slow service. The waitress was pleasant but took almost 20 mins to get us a glass of water and she was bringing out cereal etc 1 item at a time; but the food we did get was nice quality.

The receptionist in the morning was downright rude. She ignored us when we approached and continued with her paperwork without even looking up to acknowledging me and left me a stood waiting. Then, when the phone rang she answered and continued to deal with the enquiry whilst still doing her paper work, I turned on my heals in disgust and walked away.

This is a lovely hotel, in a lovely location, they have a nice bar and restaurant but thank the good Lord I only stayed there 1 night because the service is APPALLING!

My advice to the hotel is invest in your front of house people because they give the first and last impression of your hotel to your guests. The young lady with the bad attitude 'Lisa' needs to learn to at least 'pretend' she gives a damn about your customers because on the basis of what I saw I would not recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay for more than 1 night.

Now I read all the trip advisor reports on Time Out before I booked and noticed several reports of poor service / staff attitude and was fooled when i noticed that the hotel always responded to reviews very efficiently (Clearly in an attempt to minimise reputational damage). Alicia, Please don't bother paying lip service to me because you clearly don't mean it ... otherwise you'd have resolved your staff issues by now. Instead take young Lisa into the Chefette at the airport for a masterclass in customer service and etiquette ... You'll save a fortune on training because when a fast food chain makes its customers feel better than the receptionist at a hotel - there's clearly something fundamentally wrong.

Room Tip: Contact the manager directly and in advance - don't rely on any help at the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed 14th to 29th January 2013 and had the best time. The staff were helpful and always provided service with a smile - the breakfast was delicious - the bar staff very accomodating with the football coverage (thank you and GO ARSENAL!!) - the pool areas is much improved since we were there last (this is our 3rd time) and was quiet and peaceful. The room was cleaned every day and we had fresh towels - I know the rooms are basic (and perhaps the pillows could do with being a bit softer but that's super picky) but hey - the price is amazing when you think where you are. And then there's the beach - Dover beach is the best and thanks to Tiger we always had a good spot.
Overall - loved every minute and have started saving to go again - thank you to all the staff and see you soon. Jill and Stu
And yes - go...... you'll love it!

Room Tip: pool side or on the front away from the cricket pitch as their events can be Bajan and noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
International
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I was staying at this hotel and the first exprience was really nice.

Although it changed after my one week stay.
Almost every night was very loud music and / or some happening at the field next to the hotel.

The general manager of the hotel was true professional, very friendly, helpful etc..
Although some members in the reception were not so nice, not excatly rude or unkind, but close.

The rooms were cleaned properly, but my towels were not changed - for example i used one to clean the bathroom floors and they didn´t change that for at least 2 days.

The pool area was very nice.
The Beach is located at the hotel, right across the street and that was in my opinion the best in Barbados (i saw the beaches in the West Coast too).
The food at the hotel restaurant was extremely good and all of the staff there very very nice.
Overall -> If my room was cleaned properly and some reception staff were more friendly, close to 4 stars. And without the loud nightly noises, definetly 4 stars.
So if you are a party person at night etc, this hotel is good for you.
Although some areas of the hotel might be quiet - if i would have a choice to change my stay, i would definetly pick a room closest to the pool.

Room Tip: As close can you get to the pool. (most quiet i would think)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thrapston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Just returned from a 3 week stay at Time Out and had to comment on this. Having seen some of the comments on the net I was a little wary of what we had to come, and to my satisfaction we had a brilliant time. It is at the quiet end of the main road through the Gap, but walkable distance to anywhere, allowing drinking, parking the car at the hotel. This proved useful when the hire car battery was flat, as Aaron, from the bar, kept up his brilliant service by producing jump leads and got us moving! In fact, all of the staff were great, cheerful and helpful, and where problems occurred Alisha ( manageress ) was around to resolve it - excellent! The restaurant is to be fully open in Feb, the bar opened while we were there, and while breakfast was a little unusual at first, once the new management and staff got to grips it was really good. I am sure that it will improve again over the coming months and we look forward to seeing therm all again in November - we will then post an update. Give it a try.

Room Tip: Better by far than the comments regarding it being a Budget hotel, and will improve again I'm su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookham Dean, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great location, easy walk into the gap for nightlife. Hotel fairly basic. Friendly staff, especially in the bar. Breakfast? The service was hopeless! Very much a cheap and cheerful place but they do try so I wouldn't put you off.

Room Tip: Make sure that you get a room away from the main road at front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Time Out Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Time Out Hotel

Address: St. Lawrence Gap, | Dover Beach, St Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in St Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Time Out Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Time Out Hotel is ideally located on the South Coast of Barbados, in the St. Lawrence Gap area, across the road from the beautiful Dover Beach and next to Dover playing field. The hotel is situated near restaurants, nightclubs, supermarkets, and casinos. Time Out Hotel consists of 76 rooms divided into Standard rooms, Superior rooms, Pool View rooms and Deluxe/Family suites. In addition, we have a bar and restaurant on property, a pool and our very own wedding coordinator! Whether travelling to Barbados on business or pleasure, we offer you comfortable accommodation, friendly service, and genuine island warmth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Regatta Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HostelBookers and Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. so you can book your Time Out Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Time Out At The Gap Hotel St Lawrence Gap
Time Out Gap Barbados
Time Out Hotel Barbados/St Lawrence Gap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Time Out Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.