We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not amazing but definitely ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Time Out Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Time Out Hotel to your Saves list
Time Out Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   St. Lawrence Gap, | Dover Beach, St Lawrence Gap, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in St Lawrence Gap
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not amazing but definitely ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed here with my family. While it isn't a luxurious property it was clean and the staff were great. A twice a day happy hour at the bar made for good times. The Hotel is not on the beach but it's less than a 2 minute walk and is a nice smaller beach with lots going on. The "Turtle Man" was great as he arranges anything you'd like to do on the island for good prices. The food on the beach is great and very very affordable.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    149
    55
    21
    9
See reviews for
45
148
32
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Im currently here and will move tomorrow night. I was located over the bar and despite management claiming its from elsewhere or shuts down at 11-11:30 it is midnight and i went down and complained, they called the bar and they turned the music down for about half an hour. I couldn't make a phone call it was still loud enough in my room that I could not be heard.

I complained again, and was moved across the way. It's a manageable noise this far away. Although someone is ringing a bell or hitting a glass with a spoon and that is obnoxious.

The location is decent but the reviews stating the walk to food is scary at night are not wrong. I have been asked twice if I needed to buy drugs. I was about 30 feet from a cop. It is a poorly lit area.

It is clean and the staff do not seem as bad as some reviews indicate.

Room Tip: Avoid the bar area the noise goes past midnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed here on business on aug. 27 thru 30. 2012,not a place that I would stay again,there is nothing around the hotel but a bunch of rundown restaurants,a small soccer field,the beach is close but it's not that good.The food is so so,portions are very small for the price,the restaurant in the hotel has horrible service,you have to get up to beg for service basically,the bartenders are just too layed back and slow.THe rooms are ok,they look better in the fotos,they are clean and bed are ok,my room was above the restaurant and the music went on until 3am,not a good thing,very inconsiderate people.the breakfast consisted of Cheerios,a banana,a muffin,and a croissant with coffee,not much.for a continental breakfast .IF you don't mind the noise,poor service and so so food it's the place for you,the good thing is the Internet,it's free and it works good in the rooms,for the price you can't beat it.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the are of the restaurant,203,the music will go all night,you won't be able to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliciaFarmer, Manager at Time Out Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We apologize that we did not live up to your expectations and that the food was less than satisfying to you. Time Out Hotel is in fact a 3star property that has recently reopened this year and we have leased our restaurant out to outside tenants. I would certainly see that the restaurant tenants are made aware of your comments and work towards improving the service and food quality at the hotel, as the service and quality of food at the restaurant are a lasting impression on the hotel!

The gap is a location that people are looking to stay where they can enjoy music and party withing walking distance to their hotel, however I would just like to clarify that the music you heard until 3am did not come from the hotel's restaurant, as the music is turned down by 11/11.30pm and usually closes no later than 12am. However it is possible that the music came from another club/restaurant in the gap and we are very sorry that this disturbed you.

We certainly hope that at some time in the future you would give us another opportunity to regain your confidence in us!

Kind Regards,
Alicia Farmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The location and staff were great and after partying in the gap, the quiet hotel was a perfect retreat. The rooms could stand to be updated and I was disappointed that the hotel's resturaunt and bar weren't open though...

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliciaFarmer, Manager at Time Out Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor! We do apologize for the inconvenience of our restaurant being closed during your stay, however I am happy to advise that our restaurant and bar re-opened in July 2012 and is open daily from 7.30am - 11pm offering late breakfasts and an all day menu!

We certainly hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Alicia Farmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Just returned after a five day stay. The housekeeping staff as well as front desk staff, Pierre and Michelle were superb. Very informative and inviting. Great view of night life for 20-40 crowd. Convenience of the beach is good. Hotel is well lit and clean. rooms are spacious and comfortable The restaurant/bar attached is slow and not very inviting. Don't visit hungry you will have a wait time for food service and not because of a crowd. I could not understand Wednesday free drinks and nothing happening on the weekends. Overall the hotel experience itself was good. I will stay again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a front balcony view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

stayed at time out again which is now under new management,great staff
nice clean spacious rooms superb value and fantasic location opposite dover .looking forward to our next stay check out scottys for food and also irmas opposite time out by the beach.john guild

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliciaFarmer, Manager at Time Out Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear John,

It was a pleasure welcoming you back to our hotel once again and thank you for your Trip Advisor message! We are certainly happy to know that you had a good vacation with us and enjoyed the nearby restaurants, beach facilities and our hotel!

From the Management and Team at Time Out, we sincerely wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you back to Barbados and our hotel in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Alicia Farmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I was in Barbados for 5 Days, just got back yesterday and Time Out was just great! The location could not be better, right in the St.Lawrence Gap full of restaurants, other hotels and night clubs and right on Dover Beach.

The hotel staff was friendly and hospitable. The pool is nice to have your coffee at in the morning, the bar/restaurant just went through a renovation and is a cool place to hang out and chill. Food is good, drinks are cold and happy hour is basically all the time. The bar manager Jeremy is a cool dude, always willing to help with local info and places to go.

The room was great, granted I was never there other than to sleep but had everything one would need to be comfortable. Bed is comfy, terrace /patio is spacious and everything is clean. I think my luggage was more of a guest than I was. Reasonably priced for its location, if you are the kind of traveler who only really needs a hotel to sleep and keep your luggage, this is the place for you.

You walk out of the hotel and you hit Dover Beach. There is Johnny Cools Jazz & Beach Bar which serves fresh catch of the day and is reasonably priced. They make a mean Rum Punch. You can do all kinds of activities on the beach as well; there is always a beach volleyball game going on, you can go Kite Surfing, Windsuring and Jetskiing (which I did). All the locals are wicked cool and you are guaranteed to have a great time.

All in all, I had a great stay at Time Out, close proximity to everything, friendly staff & reasonably priced. I will be back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Lawrence Gap
0.4 mi away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#4 of 8 in St Lawrence Gap
4.0 of 5 stars 414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#1 of 8 in St Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 stars 1,158 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Gap Hotel
South Gap Hotel
#6 of 8 in St Lawrence Gap
4.0 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
Butterfly Beach Hotel
#19 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 1,257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dover
3.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
2.4 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Time Out Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Time Out Hotel

Address: St. Lawrence Gap, | Dover Beach, St Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in St Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Time Out Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Time Out Hotel is ideally located on the South Coast of Barbados, in the St. Lawrence Gap area, across the road from the beautiful Dover Beach and next to Dover playing field. The hotel is situated near restaurants, nightclubs, supermarkets, and casinos. Time Out Hotel consists of 76 rooms divided into Standard rooms, Superior rooms, Pool View rooms and Deluxe/Family suites. In addition, we have a bar and restaurant on property, a pool and our very own wedding coordinator! Whether travelling to Barbados on business or pleasure, we offer you comfortable accommodation, friendly service, and genuine island warmth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Time Out Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Time Out At The Gap Hotel St Lawrence Gap
Time Out Gap Barbados
Time Out Hotel Barbados/St Lawrence Gap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Time Out Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.