We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love love love the Yellow Bird!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yellow Bird Hotel

Save Saved
You added Yellow Bird Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Yellow Bird Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Lawrence Gap | Christ Church, St Lawrence Gap BB15018, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% OFF & FREE BREAKFAST!
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in St Lawrence Gap
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Love love love the Yellow Bird!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We just recently returned from the Yellow Bird making this trip our fourth visit! We absolutely love everything about the hotel which had made our decision to return an easy one! We were greeted with a smile and treated like we were returning home! We stayed in the two-bedroom top floor suite with another couple and the amazing ocean view from the rooftop patio doesn't get old - just breathtaking and truly relaxing! The suite is very comfortable and spacious featuring a number of spots to just chill and enjoy with the private rooftop being my ultimate favourite!! All of the staff are very friendly and always accommodating with every request that we had. The location is just perfect with an amazing Mexican restaurant (Cafe Sol) right next door (awesome margaritas and two happy hours every day) and just a short stroll to a great mix of restaurants and Dover Beach which has been our go-to beach on all of our trips to Barbados. Charles Watersports is always there to get us set up with chairs and an umbrella and some yummy cocktails to melt the day away. Most days, we returned from the beach a little early to spend some time cooling off with a dip and a cocktail at the beautiful pool at the Yellow Bird. All in all, our stay was a dream yet again and we can't wait to return soon!!

Room Tip: Request an upgraded room, it is the worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeetaChatrani, Owner at Yellow Bird Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Hi Jason & Jackie

Thanks so much for the wonderful review you wrote of your stay with us. Both of you have become part of the Yellow Bird family and we are honored that you choose to stay with us everytime you vist Barbados. It's amazing how the both of you, like many of our repeaters, feel completely at home on our island and in our hotel. It is very heartwarming to see this.

Yes we have the wonderful paroramic view of the bay which we were blessed with and a location so convenient especially for visitors who are not comfortable driving on the "wrong" side of the road. But it is truly our staff who are responsible for the many people like yourself who return to us year after year.

Looking forward to seeing you both next February, if not before :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    160
    42
    14
    7
See reviews for
68
123
30
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have been to Barbados many times and this is the first time I have stayed at the Yellow Bird.
The hotel is small, very clean and well run.
The rooms look over St Lawrence Bay which is a beautiful stretch of white sand and gentle water, the sunsets are amazing to see, even from the balcony.

Nothing is too much trouble for the hotel staff who are always on hand to help.
The hotel sits at the start of The Gap which is an ideal location,close to restaurants and a short walk to beautiful Worthing beach.

The Bajan people exude warmth and are so friendly - especially at this hotel.

The pool at the Yellow Bird is small, compact and well kept. I love the beaches of Barbados so didnt spend much time by the pool. Cant wait to go back - and will definitely visit The Yellow Bird again. Regards to Sherry-ann who works in the restaurant and made my stay even more enjoyable.

Room Tip: all rooms overlook the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeetaChatrani, Owner at Yellow Bird Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks also for the nice compliments about our staff. They are very deserving of your kind words as they do try to ensure that all of our hotel guests experience the best possible vacation.

It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed our view, our location and our pool facilities as well. And most of all, it was wonderful to read that you would stay with us again and look forward to doing so. Thanks so much and we also look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Just recently returned from our second stay at the yellow bird hotel. Both times we stayed in the deluxe top floor two bedroom suite. This room has a spectacular view from the balcony and rooftop patio.
The staff at the yellowbird are extremely helpful and always cheerful. The location of this hotel is perfect for nightlife, beaches, and conveniences.
Can't wait to return again.

Thanks staff

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeetaChatrani, Owner at Yellow Bird Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Hi Justin

I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your second stay with us and that it was an "awesome experience"! Thanks for the great review and the compliments about our view, our location and most importantly, our staff!

Looking forward to seeing you again (hopefully!) on your third visit to our hotel :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel Location is great, near restaurants, bars, splendid beach. The rooms are quite tiredlooking. They definetely could use some fresh paint (both the walls and the furniture). I rolled to the middle on the mattress (way too soft). The bathroom taps are worn out and the tub surround could definetely use a good scrub to remove the dark mould marks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeetaChatrani, Owner at Yellow Bird Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I am happy to read that you liked our location - it really is great that our guests can step out of our hotel and walk to the many restaurants located in St. Lawrence Gap.

I noted your comments about the rooms and your suggestions. I'm not sure if you are aware but we have started renovating some of our studios and hope to continue doing so later this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Listen to me if you are planning a holiday to Barbados.... No need to look any further for accommodation. I am beyond happy that I choose to stay here during my holiday. The location is perfect. It takes less than 30 seconds to walk to the beach across the road. This ocean is shallow, but you can easily walk to the next beach within minutes. The water is calm, perfect, and clear. Throughout the day you can watch the leatherback turtles swim up to the shoreline. You are right in the middle of St. Lawrence Gap, the heart of Bajan nightlife. Resturaunts, lounges, clubs and bars are all within walking distance. Everyone on holiday meets in this area by dusk. A little tip, if you take a taxi back to the hotel, you can ask them to drop you just at the top of the road, it will save you 5.00 BBD. Instead of turning into the road you can do the 1 minute walk and save yourself some money! The staff are fantastic. Everytime I returned to the hotel I was greeted with a smile. If I had questions about anything my questions would be answered. I even received a hug upon leaving! The grounds are kept impeccably clean and meticulously manicured. I upgraded to the renovated room and it was worth it. The sea view, the new interior, and the island breeze was what I came to the island for! I will be back!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeetaChatrani, Owner at Yellow Bird Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thanks for the testimonial - it's wonderful to read your review and the lovely compliments. Our location really is ideal - the bay in front of the hotel is so shallow you can definitely walk over to Sandy Beach (also known as Crystal Waters) in 30 seconds. The water is amazing - prefect for swimming with the turtles and or paddle-boarding if you want burn off a few calories!

Thanks for the tip about the drop off at the top of the Gap - I never realized thhis and will make sure front desk tells our guests. Thanks also for the lovely compliments about our staff - aren't they great?

I'm glad you liked the new rooms - hopefully we will be able to get them all to that standard later this year. Looking forward to welcoming back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall , Sask
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is the ideal location, as everything you need is at your fingertips .Plenty of food to eat at all hours, and many bars to choose from. Great ocean view as well,and friendly fisherman across the street. Rooms are good for the price.If you have a tendency to go hard all day and relax at night, be aware that the clubs and their music do not shut down till the wee hours,making for a fairly loud and long night. This was of course at the Easter weekend ! location is key for this hotel, with bus stop and transporation readily available also. The Gap is where its at!!!

Room Tip: depends if you like climbing stairs or not. We prefer to be on the bottom floor, but the view is spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeetaChatrani, Owner at Yellow Bird Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
I want to thank you for writing this review of your stay with us. It's wonderful to read your lovely comments - about the location, the convenience of the many restaurants nearby, the bus stops and the view. I'm also glad that you thought we offered value for money.

One of our best assets - our location - means that we are in a busy area with many restaurants and a few clubs. Because of this, St. Lawrence Gap has always been popular with both tourists and locals and the fact is that Bajans tend to party later than the tourists as they don't make plans to go to the beach the next morning! The music can go on until 3:00 am and some of our guests hear it and some sleep right through it.

It's all part of the package when you stay in the Gap. I hope you will stay with us again the next time you visit Barbados.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

All the positives from previous reviews are true.
We had been nervous about the noise comments and in hindsight, we would have stayed at one of our other two hotels on the island instead.
We had a really hard time getting to sleep and staying asleep...the music reverberating was a serious problem for us, anyway.
Also, they said they put us in a quiet room...on the first floor but because it was right across from the bathrooms, shared with restaurant AND at the bottom of the stairs AND right beside the staff area...the mornings were loud as well.

So, if you can sleep with noise...pick this spot...as it is lovely with pool and ocean but if you are a light sleeper...do not walk, RUN away from St. Lawrence Gap hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeetaChatrani, Owner at Yellow Bird Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am so sorry that the music from the nearby clubs disturbed you while you were staying with us. Some of our guests are able to sleep through it and some just can't.

I also read your comments about the rooms on the ground floor, located near to the public bathrooms and housekeeping room. I will remind our staff using these areas that they need to be quieter so as not to disturb our guests.

Visitors who stay in St. Lawrence Gap have the benefit of having many food options within walking distance. Along the Gap there is so much variety in restaurants, like Greek, Italian, Mexican, Brazilian, Indian & Thai, Chinese, Seafood as well as a few serving local cuisine. However, the down side is that the music from the nearby clubs can disturb some people.

I am sorry that you would not stay with us again and wish you all the best in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yellow Bird Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Bird Hotel

Address: St. Lawrence Gap | Christ Church, St Lawrence Gap BB15018, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
#3 Family Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yellow Bird Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in St. Lawrence Gap, 7 km from the airport and 10 km from the city of Bridgetown, Yellow Bird Hotel offers a choice of self-catering oceanfront studio apartments or two-bedroom suites, all with FREE WiFi. This boutique hotel boasts a large number of repeat guests who usually book their next stay with us as soon as they return home. Fabulous service, great value, awesome views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Regatta Hotels, Regatta Hotels, Venere and Otel so you can book your Yellow Bird Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baywatch Hotel Yellow Bird
Yellow Bird Hotel Barbados/St Lawrence Gap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yellow Bird Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.