We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel, amazing holiday.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yellow Bird Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Yellow Bird Hotel to your Saves list
Yellow Bird Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Lawrence Gap | Christ Church, St Lawrence Gap BB15018, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Cheap Rates in Dec
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in St Lawrence Gap
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel, amazing holiday.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We did a lot of research before booking this hotel and it actually exceeded all our expectations. Its location is perfect. We were slightly concerned about noise at night because we stayed in every evening with our 17 month old son who isn't the best sleeper and we didn't want his (or our) sleep disturbed. The noise levels are minimal and certainly nothing at all to worry about. Once he was asleep every evening, my husband and I sat with a drink (or 2) on the balcony, overlooking the sea- beautiful. Every morning, the 3 of us had breakfast on the balcony and watched the fishermen going about their work.
The pool was perfect- it certainly isn't Olympic size but it was perfect for us and we went swimming every morning. Every afternoon we went to the beach and returned, without fail, to a spotlessly clean and tidy room, which was a huge undertaking for the staff, especially considering the mess our son makes!
As well as the amazing cleaning staff, all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Audrey has a great team and nothing is too much trouble.
I guess the only improvement that could be made is that the rooms are a little tired looking, however, this didn't affect our enjoyment at all, especially because they are kept so immaculately. Additionally, Audrey showed us the 'prototype' refurbished room that will be ready soon and there's been no expense spared- it will be lovely.
We consider ourselves well travelled and we always like to go to different places on holiday. Now we've found the Yellow Bird, however, I don't think we'll go elsewhere for a while because it's the perfect place for us!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a balcony that faces the sea. If you open your room door and your balcony door a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    171
    44
    14
    7
See reviews for
74
138
31
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
MONZA E BRIANZA
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

we booked this hotel from Italy looking here in tripadvisor,
we usually travel buying in internet a flight only, for me my son and my Husband Paolo.
we likes to visit every year a Carribean island and last year we visited Barbados
Yellow Bird in located in a perfect position, where after dinner u can walk in the dow center of St. Lawrence Gap, looking pub,, music and local attraction.
we get a room with balcon and beach-sea view.
Inside the room you can have a small kitcken that every day we cooked our brakfast and dinner because our child likes to eat pasta everyday.
the hotel has a nice swimmingpool , where we usually went after back from the beach
the rom was clean and the sfaff very professionally every time ready to help you.
we enjoy in this place too much and nice memories in our mind up now.
Cinzia Paolo e andrea

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aurora
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My family (husband and two kids) are staying here and love it. It is right on the beach and the cafe del sol is just off our balcony so we sit outside and listen to free live music. It is walking distance to the beach..great stay so far. Great view and great location. We also have free wifi in the room. We are in room 405 and of the rooms it is the best. It is quiet at night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

After visiting Barbados and staying at The Yellow Bird Hotel for three weeks form 1st October to 22nd, only one word could describe our experience AMAZING the hotel and most important of all the staff were just so friendly and helpful its what makes a first class holiday. The things that became so obvious the first day on arrival, the view was stunning the location perfect, and the staff under the leadership of Audrey well we have yet to find better, and we are a family who have travelled the world. We have no hesitation in recommending The Yellow Bird and we look forward to meeting again the wonderful staff on our return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yateley
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The hotel has 20 bedrooms all with balconies overlooking the bay.
Rooms are large with a small kitchen.
Rooms could do with a refurb .
View from the balcony is great.
The road infront of the hotel is quite.
Very convenient for bars and restauarants.
Cafe Sol next door a Mexican restaurant with a good atmosphere.

Easy acces for buses and taxis to Bridgetown 100 yards around the corner.
White minibuses a lot more frequent

Found all the staff reception , housekeeping and bar very helpful and friendly.

If you are a light sleeper you might need to use earplugs.
The Reggae bar nearby goes onto 4 am in the morning.

Reception can arrange golf at Barbados golf club 10 minutes away

All in all a very good location and would stay again..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

In a good position for bars and restaurants. Hotel kept spotlessly clean with maid service every day, they even changed the sheets every day! Never had that before. Staff were very helpful and extremely friendly. Dale kept pool and garden areas in exceptional order and made sure everything was maintained within the rooms as well, he was great.

We were not sure if it was just the time of year but we didn't find it to be at all noisy, yes there was some music late at night, but not loud enough to be annoying. (If you can put up with the frogs, you can put up with anything!).

The pool wasn't huge, but then it's a small hotel, so we found that we were very often the only two people in it! Great after a day touring the beautiful island. Take a day trip around the island if you can, it's well worth it to see all the other beaches. Go for a drink in the one and only bar right at the North tip of the island. Leave your calling card among all the other thousands on the walls and ceiling!

The local buses (minibus) were brilliant, cost 2BBD each and you can more or less get on and off anywhere you want. They were continual so we never waited more than a minute to get to Bridgetown or back again.

Bridgetown is fantastic for duty free shopping (don't forget to take your passport) for some great bargains. Eat at the Waterside restaurant by the harbour, the food is lovely, especially the fish dishes.

The small supermarket just round the corner from the Yellow Bird is quite expensive so best to walk a bit further to the larger supermarket (turn left at the main road) for all the essentials.

We stayed in Room 103 on the ground floor, just 3 steps down to the garden area and pool, it was brilliant, and the view was amazing. All in all, a fantastic holiday. Thank you to all staff at Yellow Bird. We will be recommending it to friends and family and hope to be back one day in the future.

Jayne and George

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms excellent for pool access, easy to nip in and out of room, bearing in mind there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrevieja, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We had our second stay at the Yellow Bird in August, and it was still as friendly, clean just like staying in a family home and not a Hotel. Would recomend it to anyone, the area around the hotel was centrol and easy to get buses into Bridgetown, etc. There are plenfty of good restruants and Bars for all types of budgets, beaches on the door step, but the pool was lovely and well maintained if you just want to chill out. The hotel has towels for the beach and pool, which saves on baggage allowance, and the kitchens are well supplied. The rooms are big and fully airconned if you needed it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yellow Bird Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Bird Hotel

Address: St. Lawrence Gap | Christ Church, St Lawrence Gap BB15018, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
#3 Family Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yellow Bird Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in St. Lawrence Gap, 7 km from the airport and 10 km from the city of Bridgetown, Yellow Bird Hotel offers a choice of self-catering oceanfront studio apartments or two-bedroom suites, all with FREE WiFi. This boutique hotel boasts a large number of repeat guests who usually book their next stay with us as soon as they return home. Fabulous service, great value, awesome views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Yellow Bird Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baywatch Hotel Yellow Bird
Yellow Bird Hotel Barbados/St Lawrence Gap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yellow Bird Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.