We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“House Annaliesa: Nice guest house but very unfriendly people” 1 of 5 stars
Review of House Annaliesa Dover

Save Saved
You added House Annaliesa Dover to your Saves list
House Annaliesa Dover
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
House Annaliesa Dover
Lot 109, st. Avenue, St Lawrence Gap, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Karlstad, Sweden
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“House Annaliesa: Nice guest house but very unfriendly people”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

I have to agree with belleyout. We also felt more like intruders than paying guests. At the beginning of the stay, they were kind of friendly but in the end they ended up beeing the most unfriendly, unhospitable and childishst people I've ever met on my journeys. They were rude and gave us the feeling like beeing sitting in their own personal living room instead of a rent house. The guest house it-self is nice but these people are not worth your money. Better book somewhere else.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    0
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

We stayed for 1 week in February 2011. The house/accommodation was exactly as it was advertised. Clean, fab location, lovely people.2 mins from beautiful Dover Beach. We felt incredibly safe and welcome. Anne and Lyle were lovely and helpful, also gave us our space so we felt independent. Can't wait to return!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

Anne and Lyle are a very hospitable couple. They went out of their way to make our stay a fantastic one. The place is very very clean and the neighbourhood is nice and very safe. The decor was quaint and reflected the owners' personalities. The beach is just a few footsteps away. There is a convenience store and small bars and restaurants within a 200m radius of the guesthouse. The bathroom was sterile and hot water was available. We will definitely return.
Barbados on a whole is lightyears ahead of the rest of the caribbean. Hospitality is amazing and the island is very clean and more importantly SAFE for tourists. It was fun to use the public transportation to move around amongst the people. The Bajans are very friendly and helpful. Not once were we harassed by vendors or beggars.

:)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

We are coming to Barbados since 1997 twice a year and always stay at House Annaliesa. In Google I saw a very negative review from guests at TripAdvisor and I informed the owner about it. We cannot say anything negative about this guest house. The owner is very nice and helpful. The house is spotless clean and decorated to the owners taste which for my opinion is none of the guests business. There is a kitchen fully equipped and for the use of the guests. Mosquitos are everywhere in the tropics and don't just concentrate in one house. Our next trip is in November 2010 and we look forward to stay at House Annaliesa again. To be fair I hope you publish this review as well.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

Date 2009

I booked this "guesthouse" following an online search, but found the experience less than pleasant.This place happens to be the owners usual place of residence and we felt more like intruders than paying guests.Though it was ideally located for the beautiful beach the owner's television volume was usually at its maximum and there was no cooking utensils available to us in the advertised shared kitchen. In addition to this the bed linen and towels provided was sub-standard with the rooms full of mosquitoes, tired-looking, congested and quite cluttered with numerous photos and hats on the walls.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to House Annaliesa Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House Annaliesa Dover

Address: Lot 109, st. Avenue, St Lawrence Gap, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St Lawrence Gap
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in St Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your House Annaliesa Dover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Annaliesa Dover Hotel St Lawrence Gap
House Annaliesa Dover Barbados/St Lawrence Gap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House Annaliesa Dover, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.