We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penthouse Perfection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Lawrence Beach Condominiums

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added St. Lawrence Beach Condominiums to your Saves list
St. Lawrence Beach Condominiums
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   St Lawrence Gap | Christ Church, St Lawrence Gap BB11000, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Penthouse Perfection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My wife and I shared the Penthouse with two other couples and had a great time. The property and unit were impressive. The property manager, Ricardo, was also very helpful as we had plenty of questions. The nightlife, restaurants and sports bar (for "Hockey Night in Barbados") were all a short walk away.

We will definitely return.

Room Tip: One of the rooms has two single beds. Great for children. Not so great for the third couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    23
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
53
76
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Elk City, Kansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed in Apt. #8, "One Love", on the second floor of the building. There is an elevator. We used both bedrooms as there were 4 of us staying. All I can say is that every detail of the stay was exactlly the way it was supposed to be. The owner sends you an info letter and it pretty much tells you all you need to know. We didn't get in until 11:30 PM and were greeted by the night watchman, he helped us in, showed us to our room, explained the details and told us someone would be by the next day. We saw him every night for the next 9 days, always greeting you with a smile and a big Hello. Nice man! The whole staff is the same. We didn't have alot of contact but they are there if you need them.

The room could not have been any cleaner. Ours was well furnished and kitchen has everything you need. They furnish soap, paper towels, coffee filters, toiletries, towels, and beach towels. They do not have washcloths, kinda different, you may want to bring a few.

The grounds and the pool were clean and well kept. No crowd at the pool, usually chairs and shade available. The beach is sort of small, clean, and private. Really quite nice, nobody else around, good for a swim and enjoying the waves.

You are located right on the "Gap", where everything is handy. You can walk to everything. Lots of restaurants, bars, venders and street food. All good! Noise was NOT a problem during our stay!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We have 2 girls from Australia that work in Tourism and Hospitality and we were so impressed with our stay at the St Lawrence Beach Condos. What a gem.
After driving around the island yesterday checking out all the other places we could have stayed at we kept coming back to the one we found and are so HAPPY to be here. It was worth it.
LIKED:
- 2 story , 2 bedroom Condo (can be a 3 bedroom as well)
- bottom floor opens to patio where you can walk straight over to the plunge pool and sun lounges (the bomb!!)
- walk further and you are at essentially our own private little beach with rolling waves to walk straight into...
- Onsite management that were very friendly and attentive including security gate man at night
- backs onto essentially a pedestrian strip of restaurants, bars, clubs and cafes (clean, tidy and very comfortable)
- can go for long walks back to Bridgetown and the boardwalk.
- not far from best european style Supermarket (Waitrose branded)
- could just chill for days, on the patio, in the sea, on the sun lounges :-)

DIDNT LIKE
- Be prepared for the loud sound of rolling waves morning, noon, night and when you wake up in the morning...its a little deafening...but meditating at the same time
- Some hiccups with the wifi - but Im sure its not the condos fault its the ISP playing up (so just bad timing on our behalf)
- Nothing else really...
- I wish it didnt take that long to fly from AUSTRALIA as Id be back here in a heart beat xo

thanks very much....
I booked thru Jane Shattuck at BabadosBeachVacationRentals.com or call +1 246 230 8594

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed at this property for 8 of our 10 days in Barbados this year -unit #14 Almost Heaven - can't say enough about it- the location is perfect-the unit was perfect -ocean front view the minute you woke up- who could ask for anything more.
I did not find it noisy being in the heart of the Gap -I did not use the beach there although others were I chose to walk down 8 minutes to the Divi beach and chill under the palms.
Everyone at the property was helpful and friendly especially Ricardo and Gerry
The unit has everything a person could need while on vacation in their home away from home!
This was our first time at this property had previously stayed at Sapphire Beach unit as well as Divi Southwinds but would definately book the St Lawrence Beach Condo again -soon I hope!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Just a great place to start to explore Barbados each day.

Dead center of the restaurant and bar scene, yet also the location of a great like-private beach and fantastic ocean swimming.

Rooms to the front will be noisy, but steps away in the back bedrooms, kitchen, bathroom, living room, and back porch........just the surf lapping the shores.

Four years of returns and planning next year now.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

My husband and I used the penthouse as our bridal suite. We stayed 3 nights. Hosted a small get-together on the first night. We simply never found time to use the jacuzzi (and the jacuzzi was the main reason why we chose the penthouse, lol).

The space is breathtakingly beautiful. Wonderfully appointed, great furniture, decor. There were 3 bathrooms (2 of them ensuite, one of them with a bathtub which I've rarely seen in the Caribbean). The kitchen had every single thing we could have needed or wanted for self-catering and also for a small party we had (we just brought in extra plates and silverware). I loved the bar which faced outside so that guests didn't have to re-enter the apartment to get a drink. The views are amazing and I wish we had more time to just sit in the apartment and enjoy the view. We went down to the beach the morning of the wedding, which felt very private and cozy (again, something uncommon in Barbados with their public beach law).

I also wanted to point out that we heard very clearly every single thing that was going on in the gap. For us, this was a good thing, but a couple hoping for peace and quiet would hopefully stay on another part of the island.

We took special care to ask about how to work the grill and the sound system (as prior reviews mentioned them being a bit counter-intuitive). We had the stereo working great indoors, but once the guests arrived we were unable to pipe the music outdoors. Management had to send someone to come address it and it required a ladder and tools, which let us know that it wasn't just us being non-tech savvy. It wasn't something we could have fixed ourselves. Kinda put the party on hold for a while, but in the end, no biggie. The other thing was that we really, really wanted maid service for Saturday morning so that we could return on our wedding night to a clean place, but for whatever reason no one ever turned up. That was kind of a bummer. But you know how nitpicky weddings can make a person. Had it been a regular vacation, I'm sure we wouldn't have even noticed.

Definitely plan to stay here again in one of the smaller apartments when next we visit Bim!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed in a 2nd story condo with a room on the seaside, and while St. Lawrence Gap is a popular night spot, we fell asleep every night to the crashing waves along the coast of Barbados-- just outside our window. This location offers easy walking to numerous restaurants and bars, and if you rent a car, you are about 20 minutes from Bridgetown and the more popular western coast of Barbados that has one luxury hotel after another.

The condos provided sheets and towels, as well as nice thoughtful small items, such as coffee filters for the drip coffee maker. The kitchen also had all the necessary tools that you might need. You might want to bring your own ground coffee if you like a cup to start your mornings.

The pool area and other common areas seemed to be nicely appointed and taken care of, although we spent most of our time at the nearby beaches rather than poolside. Dover Beach is a short walk away, and maybe our favorite spot, Miami Beach, was just a little further east along the coastline. Miami Beach had chairs and umbrellas for rent, as well as picnic tables under almond trees right at the beach. Amazing spot that we returned to several times during our four-day stay.

The east coast has a completely different feel, and though this was our first time, we would probably return to the Gap for lodging due to its great location and solid accommodation options. We'd strongly consider returning to the St. Lawrence Beach Condos for a future visit!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to St. Lawrence Beach Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Lawrence Beach Condominiums

Address: St Lawrence Gap | Christ Church, St Lawrence Gap BB11000, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > St Lawrence Gap
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in St Lawrence Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Lawrence Beach Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your idea of an ideal holiday includes quiet relaxation by the pool or on the beach or lively night life, Vacation Rentals in Barbados, our tropical coastal locations can offer it. We provide luxury beach front rentals at the sea’s edge. Specialising in the rental of studios, one, two, three and four bedroom apartments and Penthouses on the beach at reasonable prices, each offering stunning sea views and fully air-conditioned. With a beach front location we have affordable vacation rentals for everyone. Whatever your preference we have a perfect vacation rental to call home during your stay in the paradise island of Barbados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your St. Lawrence Beach Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Lawrence Beach Condominiums Hotel St Lawrence Gap
St. Lawrence Beach Condominiums Barbados/St Lawrence Gap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Lawrence Beach Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.