We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, memorable evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterside Restaurant

Waterside Restaurant
St Lawrence Gap, Barbados
246 4189750
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $48 - $105
Cuisines: Caribbean, International
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful, memorable evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We wanted somewhere special to celebrate our anniversary and booked the restaurant for Sunday evening. The restaurant was not full and had a quiet romantic ambience. We had a cocktail in the bar, and was shown to our table by the very hospitable Maitre D' overlooking the sea. location is great, very romantic with the floodlit beach and lapping waves.

The food was delicious but what made our evening was a large turtle coming ashore and slowly working her way up the beach and along the rocks, I think looking for a place to lay eggs. The Maitre D' turned the lights out after ten minutes of everyone taking photos/video to not disturb her and we continued with our meal. Apparently, she visits quite regularly, and when the lights were turned on later, she was making her way back and disappeared in to the sea.

Very friendly staff, we were called a taxi and parted company as if we had been visiting friends. A lovely evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrie B, Manager at Waterside Restaurant, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We at Waterside Restaurant are just delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us, thank you for this lively review. We very much look froward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    83
    38
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ideal romantic setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

One of the best restaurants we visited for views, food quality and service. The tables were really well spaced out and would recommend for a romantic dinner/special occasion. We had not pre booked but got there early enough to still get a table but would suggest you book in advance as it was popular with both tourists and locals. Suggest smart casual dress.Would go back.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrie B, Manager at Waterside Restaurant, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We are ever so pleased that you enjoyed your meal and your evening with us at Waterside, thank you for this kind review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mouthwatering!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Absolutely delicious food! Good presentation and friendly staff. There is nothing that I disliked. The setting is perfect - right alongside the beach - hence the name!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrie B, Manager at Waterside Restaurant, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for joining us at Waterside for dinner, it was indeed a pleasure seeing you, and we look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Really lovely food and service in lovely location . Special menu avsilable for very good price Would really recommend

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrie B, Manager at Waterside Restaurant, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your recommendation. We hope to have the pleasure of your company at Waterside on your next visit to Barbados.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

great place - Had a meal there one night. Was the best in the gap by far. Look forward to going back again next year.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrie B, Manager at Waterside Restaurant, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
It was our pleasure serving you. We here at Waterside very much look forward to seeing you next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterside Restaurant also viewed

St Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
St Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 
St Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
St Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Waterside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterside Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.