We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apsara Samudra

Apsara Samudra
Waverley House, St Lawrence Gap, Barbados
1 246 435-5454
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $40
Cuisines: Indian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Barbados
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Obviously a lot of time has been spent detailing and perfecting this restaurant and it was well worth it. One of the most beautifully landscaped and designed restaurants I have ever seen and set upon a cliff overlooking the ocean. Charming and unique with a wonderful atmosphere....

The food is definitely the best indian in Barbados and one of the best I have had anywhere else in the world. Not to mention that they also have extremely tasty Thai food too!

Service was a bit slow but when your in Barbados who needs to rush about!

Overall dinner at Apsara is an experience from the minute you step inside till the minute you leave and we enjoyed it immensely.

Highly recommended and i will definitely be back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApsaraSamudra, Owner at Apsara Samudra, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Every night our staff work very hard to ensure that our customers have a unique dining experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed our food and the ambiance and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    76
    27
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best Indian by the seas...Pacific, Atlantic or Caribbean.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Of all the great dining options in Barbados, Apsara is at the very top. Having recently moved from its former location in an old mansion, the new locale is right on the beach in the Gap with amazing indoor and outdoor seating options. Ask for the outside table right on the beach under the chandelier hanging from a huge tree. The only thing that surpasses the setting and the service is the food...great selection, quality and presentation.

Better than any Indian cuisine I have experienced in New York, London or Toronto.

Bravo!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApsaraSamudra, Owner at Apsara Samudra, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are honored that you have found Apsara Samudra to be of the highest standard. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Unequivocally delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This restaurant offered one of the best dining experiences I had, during my trip to Barbados. The service was very helpful. The food came within 5-8 minutes of ordering, and was absolutely delicious. The menu caters to both thai and indian food connoisseurs. A gentle breeze is constantly flowing through the restaurant and the view is outstanding whether you are inside or outdoors. Both my girlfriend and I agree that this was a romantic and unforgettable experience. Definitely worth trying.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApsaraSamudra, Owner at Apsara Samudra, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Regular feedback from our customers is a critically important aspect of our business. We are delighted that you and your guests had a wonderful dining experience. Thank you for writing your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SARASOTA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great for a date”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a great restaurant. The setting is superb. There are tables cantilevered over the Caribbean and other tables with seats suspended on chains. They have two distinct menus one is Thai and the other Indian. The food is quite tasty and the spicy dishes can prepared cool mendium and hot. I could take the hot. Parking is limited but the will move cars around to fit you in. The staff is quite friendly and helpful. I liked their Reisling for my wine.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApsaraSamudra, Owner at Apsara Samudra, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and we hope that you had a memorable date while dining with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is one of my favorite eating joint in Barbados. It has got such a beautiful ambiance. It has a certain authentic Indian touch to it, If I talk about food quality then rest assured that the food quality is amazingly good and tasty. I specially love there chicken dishes . There service is good and fast. Overall a must visit place if you have wanna have amazingly good traditional indian food..

I would love visiting again and recommend the place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApsaraSamudra, Owner at Apsara Samudra, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We are happy that our discerning customers enjoy the authentic Indian and Thai cuisine that our chefs prepare! Thank you for your feedback and recommendation of Apsara Samudra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apsara Samudra also viewed

St Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
St Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 
St Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
St Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Apsara Samudra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apsara Samudra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.