We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overrated for some reason” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Sol Mexican Grill and Margarita Bar

Cafe Sol Mexican Grill and Margarita Bar
St Lawernce Gap, St Lawrence Gap, Barbados
2464207655
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
chesterfield, england
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“overrated for some reason”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

the food was ok, the service was great but its a little overpriced and bland for what it is, we were recommended it by a couple at our hotel, don`t get what all the fuss is about really

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    245
    212
    73
    35
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medellin, Colombia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice place but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

A nice place to dine out with friends but the staff could be nicer to people. Good drinks and good food. It is located in St. Lawrence Gap, a very nice and lively street.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good night out - recommended!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Some previous reviews made us a bit uncertain about Cafe Sol but we had a very good experience last night on our first visit. We couldn't book as we were fewer than 4, but we got there well before 7 pm. The greeting was friendly and we were told that we would have a 30 min wait for a table. We were shown to the bar where Robert made us very welcome and made us a decent Margarita too. The wait was only 20 mins before we were comfortably seated and menus provided by the efficient and nice Amanda. The food was good and came out of the kitchen quickly. I've eaten Mexican food in a proper rural cantina on the Texas border and this was much better. The ingredients were decent quality and the dishes well executed (and Yes, you can mess up a burrito). We were asked if all was OK and a further beer was on the table within a minute. The general atmosphere was fun and very friendly. I was pleased to see local Barbadians eating here too not just visitors. We forced ourselves to sample a red velvet cheesecake swirl brownie just for you, review readers, and staggered off much heavier, but $100 USD lighter (good value for Barbados) and very content. The duty manager Raphael had a nice chat with us and got us a cab in short order too. I've had worse meals at places with Michelin stars: go to Cafe Sol - we think you'll enjoy it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had the Chimichanga and Steak Fajitas. We were there for happy hour and the Sangrias were great. The atmosphere inside was great and the service was friendly and efficient.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Got there just before sunset so as to beat the crowd!! We had some really nice food and enjoyed the experience!! Will definitely be going again!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Sol Mexican Grill and Margarita Bar also viewed

St Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
St Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 
St Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
St Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Cafe Sol Mexican Grill and Margarita Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Sol Mexican Grill and Margarita Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.