We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but strong waves” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maxwell Beach

Maxwell Beach
Maxwell Coast Road, Maxwell, Barbados
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 things to do in Maxwell
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“nice but strong waves”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Clean and tidy beach but the waves are quite over powering. I strongly advise goggles if you are going in the water as if you do get bowled over at least you can see. We could bob about but not swim due to the waves. There can be a reasonable undercurrent there too so just be careful. Be prepared to be bowled over and rolled onto the shore and dragged back out again! Its not very dignified lol! Nice sand but dont take valuables to the beach with you as the sellers pester you and I wouldnt trust leaving my bag alone on the beach with them while I was in the water. If your snorkeling there please ensure you drag a buoy with you or ensure your snorkel is VERY bright as the waves are very high and jet-ski's and boats speed about and a plain snorkel could be easily missed!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    26
    11
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We have been back for a week from an 8 day stay at the Bougainvillea Resort as well. We would go back in a heartbeat, and yes the waves caused a yellow flag I think one day while we were there, but we like the waves. They give us a good work out, and no worry of any rip tides. The beach down by the Dover area had red flags most of the time we were there, as we walked down that way almost every day. Make sure to go to the Rude Boyz Jerk Chicken Kitchen above the Dover Market. You won't be disappointed. Tell them Shelly & Ryan highly recommended them. We have gone to Jamaica the past two years, and we found their jerk chicken to be what be missed the most about Jamaica! We ended up going to dinner two nights while we were there.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

A beautiful clean beach, it possess soft white powdery sand, turquoise blue waters, not crowded. Always some water activities if you desire, or you can just lounge and enjoy the breath taking view.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stayed @ Bougainvillea Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Nothing more to say other than awesome! This is what the Caribbean experience is all about!

Some days the waves can cause them to issue a yellow flag but for the most part, if you are an average swimmer you can enjoy the swimming experience!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan Station, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“beautiful and Clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

A perfect beach, the water was clean and the waves ideal, it was not busy and there was lots of room to relax or go. For a stroll along the water

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxwell Beach also viewed

St Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 
St Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Maxwell Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maxwell Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.