We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The SoCo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The SoCo Hotel to your Saves list
The SoCo Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   South Coast Boardwalk, Hastings, Barbados   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hastings
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Having spent 13nights at this great hotel I had to write and say thank you to All the staff who made us feel right at home from the start.We were greeted with a cool towel and drink in the lobby and not asked for the obligatory credit card swipe,nice touch Mr Taylor well done.It sets you apart from all other hotels right from the start.We were shown to our room within a few minutes by William who gave good advice and ideas.We had three new lunch and dinner menus during our stay which we felt was fine.The food is cooked for you when you order it and not cooked hours before and reheated.The open kitchen is great,it allows you to interact with Andrew the chef and his excellent team.He has a great passion for his job which shows in the food and it's presentation.All the staff greet you and are genuine in their advice and assistance,something that is sadly lacking on this side of the World.Michelle , Arleen and Felix are excellent and are always keeping an eye open to make sure you are enjoying your holiday.One time when it started to rain Arleen went around moving people's towels books etc out of the rain that were unattended .A lovely touch,well done.I am sorry not to mention the names of the other staff who were all excellent but that is my fault,you know who you are!The location is great,right on the beach with the broad walk in front of the hotel to stroll walk or jog on if you are mad!! This leads to Accra beach which is lovely with plenty of places to eat and drink if one wants.Would we go back ,yes most definitely and hopefully next year.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
l-elocin, Front Office Manager at The SoCo Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you Macker59 for such a great review. We are very pleased that you had a great time at the SoCo and in Barbados. Being a small property, we try very hard to go the extra mile and take care of our guests and am glad you appreciated it.

We would love for you to come and spend more time with us on your next holiday. We have plenty more great things for you to do in Barbados, and I am sure the bar staff is dreaming up new cocktails for when you arrive.

Until Then...
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    49
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
182
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Our idea of a good holiday is good food, good quality drinks and chillin' - we don't need much in the way of entertainment. However, there is only one bar at the poolside (which closes at 11pm). If it rains, there is nowhere else to go other than to shelter under the canopy by the restaurant - where lovely bar staff take the initiative and bring trays of drinks to you as there is no shelter at the bar - or go to your room. We were surprised by other guests' acceptance and enjoyment of the food. Yes, it was all a la carte and freshly cooked, but having the same menu for 4-5 days/nights was just sooooo tedious we were forced to go out to dinner (and pay for it) for 3 out of the 9 nights we were there. 30 US dollars (£20pp) to have prawns (shrimp), lobster or rib eye steak in the hotel as a change was (in our opinion) somewhat steep. Walked along the boardwalk to the beach outside Hotel Accra in order to avoid the rocks in the sea in front of the hotel. Noticeboards beside the pool requested you shower before using the (v.small) swimming pool but there was no shower in sight and the water in the pool sometimes looked a bit dubious, probably from suntan lotion? We saw no evidence of treating or cleaning the pool (unless this happened between midnight and 5.30am) throughout our stay. The hotel has bought some additional loungers (not mattressed like the original ones everyone gets up early for) and the shortage everyone talks about seems to be more for the parasols. In summary, the staff were helpful and friendly (management always seemed happy to 'muck in'), the bedrooms were comfortable, modern and spacious, the house wine was very palatable and free-flowing, as were the cocktails (with or without alcohol). We did make the suggestion to have draught beer rather than bottled as this would have been colder. Our biggest disappointment was with the food - but then, that's our 'thing' - and maybe something to do/somewhere to go if you're at the hotel and the weather is bad, as there's no lounge, no inside bar, pool table, table tennis etc. Barbados, however, as a destination is amazing

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
l-elocin, Front Office Manager at The SoCo Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for leaving us a review HeRo71.

We are so sorry that you had some issues on your holiday. I hope overall though that your trip was great and that you really enjoyed our island.

We are a small property, and as such are limited in the amount of space available for tennis/pool tables etc, but, had you mentioned it to any of of our staff, I am sure we could have suggested loads of things to do to keep you busy during the brief showers. We could have arranged an in-room massage, or a complimentary shuttle to go shopping or even suggested a nearby games room for pool and the like.

With regards to the pool, it is indeed cleaned daily around 5am, so we do not disturb anyone who may be using it in the early AM. Pool chairs and umbrellas are available, and our beach chairs and umbrellas are out and are quickly becoming a hit this week, so there is no longer a need for everyone to crowd the deck.

Should you decide to return to Barbados, do look us up, so that we may impress you with our improvements. It would be great to see you again

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cm5 9az
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Soco is a wonderful hotel, 10/10 for the food, not buffet style, choose from the menu and its all freshly cooked for you, even breakfast, Andrew the chef makes such delicious soups. All the staff are really lovely, so happy and friendly. And the beach just a few steps away....., beautiful....small hotel with personal service, we had a great time, that went all too quickly,
Hello to Mr Frank King and Mr Ralph Taylor, all your staff are a credit to you, it would not be the same without them. Thank you for a wonderful holiday. Sorry we didn't get to say goodbye to Victoria.

Room Tip: All rooms face the Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel was refurbished and opened in May. All the furnishings are new and rooms are spacious. The hotel could not be closer to the sea and beach and all rooms have a lovely view. The meals were freshly cooked and well presented. Best of all are the staff. They cannot do enough for you. The deal and service we got from Tropical Sky was an added bonus. All in all this holiday was 10 out of 10. Highly recommend this hotel. Just don't get involved with some of us (yes all Brits), who want " their" own Sun beds by the pool. The beach is much nicer anyway.

Room Tip: All are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Just returned from a week at the SOCO booked with Topical Sky , super hotel and superb service.
Excellent beachside location with a beautiful sandy crystal clear warm sea couldn't be better.
Downsides are a lack of sun beds the rules say no one can keep an empty one for longer than one hour , not the case people get up at 5 and put towels down, all rooms face the sea but the door faces a road and gets noisy in the morning so you get up early. Great food and service but menus don't change often however enjoyed the food. Wine, beer and cocktails all great quality, not much to do in the area except chill which is fine. One week was very enjoyable and relaxing two might be a challenge for me . The staff can't do enough for you so friendly and helpful, especially the bar and restaurant .

Room Tip: What chose an upgrade, all rooms except ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

What can I say this was a great experience for me and the family to get away to a beautiful Hotel in paradise. If your thinking of going do not hesitate, just make the plans and GO! GO! GO! This is a wonderful hotel, and you can't go wrong. The staff is extremely helpful in every aspect of your needs. The hotel is very clean, and you can't beat the views in the morning... every room faces the beautiful ocean. It's also situated on an ideal spot. Very safe to go down to the beach and do some snorkeling along the rocks, an abundance of vivid colors will embrace you. Also, there's a great boardwalk just along side of the hotel, for pleasure walks, or for jogging. The food was delicious, and the drinks divine. Way to go SOCO!!! If your undecided, don't be... GO! GO! GO! to the SOCO!!! Thanks again SOCO, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salisbury
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Excellent accommodation at this hotel which suited our requirements for a good quality hotel without the trappings of a resort complex hotel. All the hotel staff were extremely helpful with every aspect of our 9 day holiday - unlike some other reviewers we had no problems with insects on the top floor - although I imagine the access stairs would not suit those with walking disabilities. Michelle's varied rum and non-alcoholic cocktails from the ocean view terrace bar were wonderful. The restaurant was a stylish fine dining experience, with a limited choice menu but excellent quality food and the menu was changed every few days to give greater choice - including some speciality local fish dishes as well as other English and Italian options. The hotel location on Barbados was very convenient for the island tours and the catamaran sailing trips. The boardwalk gave picturesque views along the shore, one evening we were able to see some hawksbill turtle hatchlings make their way to the ocean. The traffic noise in the early morning and evenings from the road outside was slightly irritating but this is outside the hotel's control and ceased during night hours. We weren't bothered by the limited number of sun beds on the hotel terrace, preferring to be out and about exploring the island rather than sunbathing. Being at the end of the boardwalk the beach was a bit of a magnet in the afternoons for some loud local teenagers who made a bit of a nuisance of themselves, however this only happened on a couple of afternoons. The local Bajan community was otherwise very helpful to us as tourists. Overall an excellent holiday experience and for us, great value for money. I would also recommend using online booking for the flight back to the UK to avoid the worst of the check-in queues at Bridgetown.

Room Tip: You would need to take into account whether you have walking disabilities if choosing a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The SoCo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The SoCo Hotel

Address: South Coast Boardwalk, Hastings, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The SoCo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SoCo Hotel, located in the heart of Barbados’ south coast, offers an all-inclusive holiday in a boutique environment. Ideal for the discerning traveller looking for a modern, high quality hotel facility, The SoCo Hotel provides an uncluttered, chic holiday. Great food and drinks, friendly service, and one of the best views in Barbados are all part of The SoCo Hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Despegar.com so you can book your The SoCo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The SoCo Hotel Barbados/Hastings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The SoCo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.